Customer Reviews for

Impact

Average Rating 4
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

"Something Wicked, this way comes"

Strangely beautiful, but, dangerous gemstones begin appearing from blackmarket sources. Two young women, one the daughter of a Lobster fisherman, her dad, a disgruntled fired employee from the National Propulsion Facility and a semi-retired CIA oprative empark of a race...
Strangely beautiful, but, dangerous gemstones begin appearing from blackmarket sources. Two young women, one the daughter of a Lobster fisherman, her dad, a disgruntled fired employee from the National Propulsion Facility and a semi-retired CIA oprative empark of a race to discover the source of these gemstones, and find a mind blowing answer. The end is thoroughly satisfying as are most of Prestons storys. Though sorter than I like, this book has it all, the hook, the action, good character depth, and a rip roaring end. Get this one for a great weekend rhomp.

posted by Grandpa on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

What A Clunker

This is the worst novel by a major author I have read in my adult life. The plot is ludicrous, but, even if it wasn't, the plotline is so clunky and the dialog so bad that even a B movie director couldn't fix it up. Sometimes a reader can suspend belief to go along with...
This is the worst novel by a major author I have read in my adult life. The plot is ludicrous, but, even if it wasn't, the plotline is so clunky and the dialog so bad that even a B movie director couldn't fix it up. Sometimes a reader can suspend belief to go along with an author's fantasy, but here the suspension is simply the rules of literature.

posted by KenCady on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Un-Impactful

    One word sums up this book "Disappointment". The story was not that original, the characters were not well defined and you did not get invested in them. The plot was all over the place and worst of all the ending was a huge letdown. I got this e-book awhile ago when the price was $4.00 less so please save your money when it is $13.00 now. This is one you defiantly should skip.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Really?

    A little research might be in order here. Right at the beginning the author has an amature astronomer and her friend looking at the Andromeda galaxy at the tip of Orion's sword! Really? Since when was the Andromeda galaxy moved to the constellation of Orion. It used to be in the constellation of (are you ready for this?) Andromeda! I've just started this book and I hope the rest of the "facts" arn't as badly mangled as this one. This tends to spoil all subsequent credability of events. This author usually does a much better job in this regard and I have enjoyed many of his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    UBER CREATIVE..THOUGHT PROVOKING..EXCELLENT!!!

    WOW! Preston did it all in this page turner. Entertains, makes you think, scares the reader with potential that's so realistic it could happen...or be happening as you read!! Conspiracy theory, ancient aliens, puzzles, maritime intrigue in the Maine islands..assassin, plotters, action supreme..just everything a thinking reader could possibly ask for and then some. I am a writer and a fan of books that have a variety of subject matter that twists around a plot and keep you guessing. Best book in a long time. I am a Preston fan for sure. Don't pass this one up! I hope he does more like this one. Life Beyond

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Good Story but too long

    It was a good story with a bit of a let down or two in it. It was just too long and the ending was the kind that doesn't resolve what you wish it would. Its okay if you have nothing better to read though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Very Dissapointed - Spoiler Alert

    I have read every one of Mr. Preston's books and am a HUGE fan. This one however was a clunker. I guess every great and prolific author has to have at least one. The plot was actually very engaging and most of the characters very well drawn. At issue with me were the endless chase scenes and the mind boggling holes of unbelievability in the plot. I mean really, would anyone put out a nation-wide alert for a 10 year old piece of junk stolen pick-up truck?? And the interaction between Barr and the mall security guards truly made my head ache. The fact that Barr got away with the "don't tell anyone" (including the agencies he suppossedly worked for) shtick not once but twice was just unbelievable. Even fiction writing has to have a veil of logic to make it work for the reader. And if you did not see the final betrayal coming at least twenty chapters before it happened you were not paying attention. Finally the ending was just a literary cop-out... I look forward to much better books in the future from this gifted writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Overall, a let-down

    Somehow, I can't escape the idea that this book could have been better. In fairness, it was a difficult task the author set himself, a hybrid of spy/thriller and sci fi. The problems (besides a 1960's comic book style of writing with lines line "quick as a flash...") were that the main characters were very unbelievable, as was a good portion of the action. The resolution of the "who done it" was VERY LAME and dissatisfying, the resolution of the characters' interaction WAY TOO predictable (telegraphed from about half way into the book), and the wrap up of the sci fi element also way too pat. While it WAS a real page turner, in the end it was not a satisfying read. I think it could have been done better, but maybe the set up was just too tough to really do well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Where did these characters come from? I could not get through this book and it was all because a couple of the characters were....well....stupid. The story would have been a great one if Preston had used strong characters to convey it. Definately something missing in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Great concept, but...

    The subject has lots of promise, but I was disappointed early on. It turns out the book is just a standard cookie-cutter boilerplate full of stereotypical characters. The main character, Abbey, is (go figure) a rebellious post-teenaged profane slacker of a daughter -- hard to build any empathy with her. I was anticipating more focus on the science fiction aspect (great premise) but it was really bogged down with shallow writing and too much focus on hit-man chases. The reasons for the secrecy and the contracted killings were pretty weak. It's hard for me to stay interested in a book constructed with 3-page chapters that switch POV each chapter. That just leaves me not really caring about the characters and what happens to them -- too often the case for today's NYT Bestsellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1