BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Imperfect: An Improbable Life

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    really wonderful!

    reading it now on my android - about 200 pages in and loving it - jim abbott is a true inspiration.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Recommend

    It is a great read for anyone with a disability. Having a granddaughter with the same disability it was interesting to learn how Jim Abbott learned to deal with everyday life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Strong portrait of a man who happens to play baseball with one hand

    I am not a baseball fan but found his biography to be interesting because I was born with a similar birth defect.
    His story of growing up in a home where he was expected to adapt and work and behave just like any other child is also my experience. I was especially impressed by his not making excuses for himself as a youth.
    The story of his no-hitter is genuinely woven through the auto-biography and adds some excitement and suspense to the book -- although you know it will happen the question of how? keeps you turning the pages.
    I was especially touched by his taking time to meet and greet young children with similar disabilities -- I was an adult before I saw someone with a similar disability.

    I would love to see a follow-up book written for kids about his early life that could be used for disability awareness.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Honest and heartfelt read

    Good read....everyone who is remotely familiar with baseball knows about Jim Abbott and his "disability" but it was interesting to read about how he felt about it himself. I half expected the typical "aw shucks, it never even occurred to me that I only had one hand" type of read, but instead found it to be a little sad, a whole lot honest but mostly a book about a great athlete whose career was a disappointment only to himself. I only gave 4 stars because I found the syntax wordy at times....I expected more from Yahoo's Tim Brown, co-author and presumed editor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    My son (age 6) and I were blessed to meet Mr. Abbott at the boo

    My son (age 6) and I were blessed to meet Mr. Abbott at the book signing this year. Our son, was born with a left hand that was not fully formed. Our son has a love for the game like Jim. Mr. Abbott is our son's sports hero. During the signing, he was gracious, engaging and sincere. The book was no different. Very honest, open and true. I've seen through a parent's eyes what it's like for a child who is born different, but not through my son's. I found the stories that Jim shared to be helpful and insightful. Even if your not a fan of baseball, it's a fantastic story of living a life to your full purpose and not living a life of excuses. Great Job Mr. Abbott!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This book is emotionally moving and very well written, a MUST RE

    This book is emotionally moving and very well written, a MUST READ!!
    As a life-long Angels fan I always loved watching Jim Abbott pitch. I would agonize in empathy when he threw a great cut fastball that was so good that the hitter would get a bloop hit due to a broken bat rather than a routine fly ball or ground out.
    Several years ago I had the extraordinary experience of having Jim show up unannounced at my grandson's Little League practice to talk to the team because one of the players was born with a hand that did not function. Jim came of his own accord, at the request of the player's uncle, to provide some encouragement.
    This book is about Jim Abbott, an exceptional human being. He grew up as a very determined individual and in IMPERFECT he shares his love of baseball, the joy of winning and the pain of losing. I laughed, and cried and was amazed by his candor. With the help of Tim Brown, they have crafted an insightful and moving account of the life of a major league pitcher. The trials and tribulations pitchers encounter, and the hurdles they have to overcome to succeed. By the time I was done reading the book, I not only understood a lot more about the emotional highs and lows of major league pitchers, I also had much more admiration (if that is possible) for Jim Abbott, the person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    one man's triumph over adversity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Great Story!

    I was a kid when Jim Abbott was pitching. Living in Michigan we knew of him but did not know him well in baseball because he played primarily on the west coast. Of course when he pitched his no-hitter when he was playing for the Yankees later in his short career, we latched onto him for a brief period.

    I am glad I bought this book. Being his was a native of Michigan and that I love baseball I wanted to know more about him. As a baseball fan the book kept me wanting to read more and more. His childhood was much like mine growing up in the public schools. Not having a true disability myself, but always being the shortest kid in my class growing up, I could relate somewhat because I was picked on a lot for my physical appearance. I also loved and played 3 sports like Jim Abbott and like Jim made it my driving goal in life to become the best in my favorite sport. I was able to achieve that on the high school level by becoming starting for my team by being the starting point guard for Varsity starting in 9th grade and by making All-State my sophomore year. I had to over come taller and stronger kids who were fighting for my position. But I made due with my defense, speed, shooting percentage and smarts on the floor. At the start of my junior year I ended up believing all the rhetoric I was being fed to me about how I would never make a college team because of my height. (5'6"), and if I did it would be for a small school and if a NBA recruiter ever saw me I would be written off immediately. When I weighed the options at 16 of taking a part time job after school to make money for my own car, or to continue chasing the dream of being a pro basketball player, I took the job and quit sports. I always wondered how far I could have gone. Reading Jim Abbott's story makes me wonder if I could have made it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Highly recommend

    It was great insight on a very inspiring man on how hard it was to grow up with a disability and to overcome that disability to become a great pitcher, while there is another story going on in the background about his no hit bout against the Indians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1