BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Imperfect Bliss: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great, funny, & left me thinking

This was a really great, light, funny and refreshing read. Yes, the plot was very predictable, but nevertheless I enjoyed the story immensely. As I said, it was kind of a light read, but I also found myself taking some of the issues talked about in the book, and things ...
This was a really great, light, funny and refreshing read. Yes, the plot was very predictable, but nevertheless I enjoyed the story immensely. As I said, it was kind of a light read, but I also found myself taking some of the issues talked about in the book, and things that the characters were involved in, and thinking about them more. So even though this was a pretty light, I think there is definitely some deeper meaning behind it, and will leave you with something to think about. Especially in today's society with our fixation on reality t.v., sex etc.
The heroine (or fairy tale princess) was African American, which I really liked because it doesn't seem to be all that common in books, especially chick lit. I also like some of the issues that the character Bliss brought up, being African American. It added that deeper element to the story definitely.
I also loved the sense of humor of the writer! Like, no, really.
I thought that this book was pretty darn hilarious. The crazy mom, the easy sister, everyone. They were all perfect for the story and I immediately fell in love with them.
Overall this was a great book and I would totally recommend it to fans of funny, chick lit, and definitely satires.
No kidding folks, this book was pretty funny.
It's sure to make you smile like a fool.
:)

posted by Han on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Too many plot spoilers bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review ruining the book by revealing every detail. Really? You do not have to rewrite the entire book. A few lines is enough to say if it is good or not. Please bn, do something ...
Too many plot spoilers bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review ruining the book by revealing every detail. Really? You do not have to rewrite the entire book. A few lines is enough to say if it is good or not. Please bn, do something to these inconsiderate plot spoilers eho persist in revealing the plot of the book.

posted by 8888649 on January 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great, funny, & left me thinking

    This was a really great, light, funny and refreshing read. Yes, the plot was very predictable, but nevertheless I enjoyed the story immensely. As I said, it was kind of a light read, but I also found myself taking some of the issues talked about in the book, and things that the characters were involved in, and thinking about them more. So even though this was a pretty light, I think there is definitely some deeper meaning behind it, and will leave you with something to think about. Especially in today's society with our fixation on reality t.v., sex etc.
    The heroine (or fairy tale princess) was African American, which I really liked because it doesn't seem to be all that common in books, especially chick lit. I also like some of the issues that the character Bliss brought up, being African American. It added that deeper element to the story definitely.
    I also loved the sense of humor of the writer! Like, no, really.
    I thought that this book was pretty darn hilarious. The crazy mom, the easy sister, everyone. They were all perfect for the story and I immediately fell in love with them.
    Overall this was a great book and I would totally recommend it to fans of funny, chick lit, and definitely satires.
    No kidding folks, this book was pretty funny.
    It's sure to make you smile like a fool.
    :)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pop culture romance for Jane Austen fans (but no zombies)

    If I have to read one more time that Imperfect Bliss is "Jane Austen meets The Bachelorette," I might scream. But the reason for this ubiquitous description of Susan Fales-Hill's novel (apart from a press release) is because it follows the ups and downs of four single sisters whose mother is obsessed with British culture and the marriageability of her daughters (including Elizabeth--aka Bliss--or our Lizzie Bennett) when one of them is selected to be the star of a horrifying new TV reality show called The Virgin.

    There is a rule of the internet (Poe's Law, for those in the know) that says that no matter how hard you try to parody extreme fundamentalism, there are people who will believe it is real. The idea is that when the group you're trying to parody (which varies) is already so extreme, chances are that anything you pretend they're saying (using difficult-to-pull-off internet satire) seems like something they might have actually said. I personally believe that Poe's Law also applies to people trying to satirize TV reality dating shows. Does anyone remember MILF Island from 30 Rock? As awful as that was, was it any more awful than Love in the Wild? (If you've never seen Love in the Wild, don't.) So as awful as The Virgin is, it seems plausible (horribly, horribly plausible).

    Overall, the book is amusing but it's definitely the sort of thing that gets called "chick lit." I don't mean to suggest that books by, about, or for women are in any way inferior, I just mean that the "chick lit" label is usually applied to books about women desperately trying to sort out their love lives and little else. And this book is, well, little else. If you're craving a fun summer read and you're a fan of Jane Austen (and modern interpretations of her style) or you like a smart love story with lots of pop culture references, you might enjoy Imperfect Bliss.

    For more reviews, please visit my blog, CozyLittleBookJournal.

    Disclaimer: I received a digital galley of this book free from the publisher from NetGalley. I was not obliged to write a favourable review, or even any review at all. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    With the Queen's Jubilee and the 2012 Summer Olympics all over t

    With the Queen's Jubilee and the 2012 Summer Olympics all over the news, it seems fitting to read a novel about the Harcourt family. Even though Forsythia, the matriarch, is of Jamaican heritage, she is in love with all things British. She and her husband, Harold (who is actually British), have four daughters, all named after a member of the royal Windsor family and it is Forsythia's wish to have them each married off to their perfect prince. Victoria, the oldest, has just ended yet another engagement. Charlotte, the youngest (and most promiscuous) has no interest in settling down. Diana, the daughter most likely to do her mother proud, has managed to capitalize on her virginity by agreeing to appear in a reality show that will end in her marriage and deflowering.


    Elizabeth, also known as Bliss, has deeply disappointed her mother by, not only marrying a Cuban man, but is forced to move back home with her young daughter after a messy divorce. Her desire to get her life back together, earn her PhD, and get out of her family's home is made more complicated by the arrival of the reality show production and the different effects it has on every one's lives.


    Imperfect Bliss is a smart, funny look at many things, including pop culture, academia, and love. This is a great addition to any summer reading list.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review ruining the book by revealing every detail. Really? You do not have to rewrite the entire book. A few lines is enough to say if it is good or not. Please bn, do something to these inconsiderate plot spoilers eho persist in revealing the plot of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unusual premise for the retelling of a classic novel. Bliss Harc

    Unusual premise for the retelling of a classic novel.
    Bliss Harcourt is a divorced mother of a child with special needs who has returned to live in the craziness that is her parent’s home. Bliss is working for a fellowship in History and trying to get back on her feet after her husband left her. Her life revolves around Bella, her precocious four year old daughter who wear “baby bifocals” and a brace on her leg.
    The Harcourt home is headed by her professor father Harold and her Jamaica born mother Forsythia, who idolizes the British royal family and is big on social niceties (picture an African American version of Hyacinth Buckett from the British comedy series). There are three other daughters, Victoria, a serial engagement breaker; Charlotte, a flighty teenager, and Diana. Diana is picked to be the star of a new reality series called The Virgin and brings a new group of TV people into the mix. We meet Wyatt who is the charming host of the series and Dario, the hunky producer/director. There is also an interesting character called Punch who is most likely female and is a gofer for the execs.
    Bliss hits it off with Wyatt from the beginning and is antagonized by Dario. The fact that Bella quickly bonds with Dario who looks like her daddy, does not endear him to Bliss. The ensuing chaos is amusing including the three would be suitors for The Virgin and the horrendous hymen phrases that run through the production. Dario is portrayed as a player by the others but seems genuinely fond of Bella and more level headed than the rest of the program staff.
    I will read anything that is based on an Austen novel and this one is loosely based on Pride and Prejudice with some obvious similarities and some glaring differences. Bliss is like Elizabeth in judging Dario by his resemblance to her ex-husband and not seeing the good in him. As Elizabeth does, she goes through a process of self-examination and realizes that she has contributed to Bella’s strained relationship with her father and to the breakdown of her marriage. The rest of her family is perfectly awful in most cases and their bad behavior is alternately funny and appalling. As in the original, her sister Victoria is the only one with any sense and she is pretty messed up in her own way. All in all, it is a cute story with a ridiculous premise that works and keeps your interest until the last page.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    A copy of this novel was provided to me by the publisher for the

    A copy of this novel was provided to me by the publisher for the purpose of review through Netgalley.

    If you’re looking for just the right book to hit the beach with this summer or to relax with while lounging by the pool, Imperfect Bliss by Susan Fales-Hill, is a good choice.

    It’s a quick, fun read that will have many of us reflecting fondly on our own dysfunctional family life.

    Our heroine, Bliss, finds herself at life’s crossroads; trying to come to terms with her failed marriage and always on the lookout for “Mr. Right”. She is working hard to complete her higher education in hopes of gaining a means to move back out on her own; away from her parents’ home and all the dysfunctionality she and her small daughter are surrounded with there. Bliss is determined that her daughter, Bella, will not grow up believing in the “happily ever after” fantasy world that she and her sisters were lured into by their mother. Things are quickly turning into a circus on the homefront, as her sister lands the starring role in a reality tv series entitled “The Virgin”. This is nearly more than the highly intellectual Bliss can bear and goes against every principle that she believes in.

    This mixed race family has all it can handle with four girls vying for their perfectionist mother’s approval; a mother who was raised in Jamaica under a dreadful cloud of prejudice and denied approval and so many other things because of the color of her skin and wants so much more for her daughters. She is striving to marry off each of her girls to someone who makes Prince Charming pale in comparison. Bliss has failed her mother in every way possible. Distanced from her mom, she has developed a special bond with her father, a quiet man from England, who tends to hide behind his paper and let his wife take center stage.

    The story is well written and the characters have been brought to life for us masterfully by the author. This book stands out as one of those “summer finds” that makes a very pleasant and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Bad

    1000000000000 thumbs down the book was really borin and not very exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Fun Read

    Enjoyable and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed this book! The plot was great, the characters definitely had character, some you will hate and others you will love! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Disappointing

    I'd hoped it would be a fun twist on Austen's P&P, but I was wrong. Sure there were some of the main themes, but Austen would be upset with Victoria/Jane. Overall I'd call it a cheap romance novel that wasn't worth my time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Funny

    Cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Jo-jo

    I love iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Rhjgjgfhg

    Dzeddyegyuchiercrifjhfghhgfg.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Reviews such a put off

    A little too much story detail to want to spend money so will borrow library copy. MOM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Hilarious, quick, and endlessly entertaining. Susan touches on

    Hilarious, quick, and endlessly entertaining. Susan touches on so many cultural nuances I found myself picturing a myriad of personalities who have crossed my path walking nearly the same road as mobility-minded Forsythia, the ever-incredulous Bliss (who I imagine squints at people alot...) and many others. This is certainly a fun fictional look at a mixed-raced family that interestingly brought to mind a few select quotes from Graham's "Our Kind of People". Thumbs up Susan from my wife and I on this engaging page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Harcourt Sisters are four very different women with four ver

    The Harcourt Sisters are four very different women with four very different ideas of what it means to be a "modern woman." In a way that is very reminiscent of of Jane Austen, Susan Fales-Hill, has created a world that almost seems to be pulled right out of your television. Forsythia's over-the-top behavior actually reminds me a bit of the "Wicked Stepmother" in Cinderella, her obsession with the Royals is almost cartoonish, just look at what she did when Will married Kate! But the Sister's themselves could be loosely compared to the Khardashian's. Stunningly beautiful, with a mixed race background, they behave like any sisters would, even with the strain of The Virgin making their relationships difficult.

    Overall I enjoyed Imperfect Bliss. While I wish I could say that Bliss was my favorite character, the reality of it is, she is the character I wanted to shake silly the least. Her mother was just simply atrocious, as was Diana's and Charlotte's behavior at times. In the end though, having The Virgin, come into the lives of the Harcourt women turned out to be a good thing, for by the end of the book, Diana wasn't the only Harcourt woman to have found a mate...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2