Customer Reviews for

Imperfect Justice: Prosecuting Casey Anthony

Average Rating 4
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

More Evidence to be heard

Would love to hear about evidence that the Prosecution was unable to present to the jurors for their case. I believe they did an excellent job presenting what they could against Casey Anthony. I'm certain Jeff has lots of evidence he knew about but couldn't touch or ...
Would love to hear about evidence that the Prosecution was unable to present to the jurors for their case. I believe they did an excellent job presenting what they could against Casey Anthony. I'm certain Jeff has lots of evidence he knew about but couldn't touch or wasn't allowed during the trial for fear of a mistrial. I hope all of the jurors that allowed the real killer to walk reads this book and hears further evidence, and realizes they made a horrible mistake. There's only one person that knows what really happened and that's little Caylee's Mother, and we all know she doesn't know how to tell the truth. Better Jeff Ashton making money from this miscarriage of justice than Casey Anthony.

posted by 5372952 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

NO

Although I'm sure this is not going to be a well received post I have to say the writing of this book disturbs me on many levels. For people to rant and rave about the possibility of the Anthony's writing a book claiming they would be using Caylee but then accept this, ...
Although I'm sure this is not going to be a well received post I have to say the writing of this book disturbs me on many levels. For people to rant and rave about the possibility of the Anthony's writing a book claiming they would be using Caylee but then accept this, is extremely hypocritical. Caylee who loved her family versus a prosecutor that was doing nothing more than his job and quite frankly didn't do it well. The facts are that 12 educated jurors found Casey not guilty, like it or not and common sense tells one that another 12 would of voted the same way or at least close to it yet a bunch of e-haters using Caylee for their social life can not seem to let go of it. Sorry but that is the reality of it and so is the fact that this prosecutor should of never charged her with what they did on the evidence they had and wasted tons of taxpayers dollars. Now the laughing guy prosecutor wants to use the case to fill his own pockets. Disgraceful, period. I won't be back for the response to this, as I have seen it before to others and the team up approach and most of the normal people in the real world know all this. But have a good day.

posted by 9561677 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    NO

    Although I'm sure this is not going to be a well received post I have to say the writing of this book disturbs me on many levels. For people to rant and rave about the possibility of the Anthony's writing a book claiming they would be using Caylee but then accept this, is extremely hypocritical. Caylee who loved her family versus a prosecutor that was doing nothing more than his job and quite frankly didn't do it well. The facts are that 12 educated jurors found Casey not guilty, like it or not and common sense tells one that another 12 would of voted the same way or at least close to it yet a bunch of e-haters using Caylee for their social life can not seem to let go of it. Sorry but that is the reality of it and so is the fact that this prosecutor should of never charged her with what they did on the evidence they had and wasted tons of taxpayers dollars. Now the laughing guy prosecutor wants to use the case to fill his own pockets. Disgraceful, period. I won't be back for the response to this, as I have seen it before to others and the team up approach and most of the normal people in the real world know all this. But have a good day.

    10 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Very Sad

    Jeff Ashton's got some nerve. Profiting off a case where justice wasn't served due to his incompetence. Wasted tax-payer dollars and now he makes money off of it. He should pay back the state of Florida instead of trying to get rich off his own failure to come through for a little girl. What a disappointment. Ashton, you're a jerk.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Get your hot cup of steaming narcissism here!

    Let me preface this by saying I'm not a fan of Casey Anthony. I definitely do not belive she's innocent. I purchased this book in an attempt to figure out what went wrong in this process--how someone so obviously evil and guilty got off. And I think I now have a better understanding... I find it insulting that a primary prosecutor who wasted taxpayer money NOT getting a conviction, would waste more of our money writing a book to soothe his ego and spout off about "office politics". Maybe, just maybe, had Ashton not been so self-absorbed, overly-confident, and concerned with grandstanding during trial, a woman who murdered her child and laughed at all of the dimwits trying to prove it wouldn't be walking the streets today. This book is just more of the same, written by someone more concerned with having their name in the spotlight than getting justice for a murdered child. Don't have the nerve to dedicate your book to Caylee when you are one of the many people who let that little girl down. Your ego and this book sicken me.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Ashton's arrogance wasn't left in the courtroom...

    I found myself wondering throughout this trial why Ashton seemed so hostile and sarcastic. By the end, as I watched him snicker during the defense's closing, I was downright angry with him. I think some of his courtroom antics were as offputting to the jury as they were to me, and may have impacted the outcome of this case. The fact that he has now written a book for the purpose of finger-pointing and insulting defense tactics is both hypocritical and offensive. He points out how unethical and inexperienced Baez is...well Baez beat you, Ashton. Against extremely bad odds, at that. The state dropped the ball, the jury dropped the ball, and Ashton is still patting himself on the back and making snide remarks. It's all very sad, and the only new light that was shed for me while reading this book was that Ashton's presence on the prosecution's team was a huge mistake. He's just another media hog. Don't buy this book.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Not enough evidence

    YES I THINK SHES GUILTY. The jurors were told to come up with a verdict based SOLELY ON EVIDENCE PROVIDED DURING THE TRIAL. Lets face it, they had MORE evidence on O.J.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Wish there was a ZERO star rating! It is impossible to comprehe

    Wish there was a ZERO star rating! It is impossible to comprehend why a grown man acts as Ashton did before, during, and after trial. His abhorrent and childish behavior continues thru media interviews and in this book. The new Afterword is just more of the same. Apparently Ashton believes there really is a Zenaida Fernandez-Gonzalez! Maybe if he had paid more attention instead of throwing temper tantrums at trial, he would know there is not. Ashton comes across as gleeful at Defense Attorney Baez's misfortune in losing his home to foreclosure during trial and continues his pathetic attacks on Baez. Rookie defense attorney, Mr. Baez, on the other hand, a proven force to be reckoned with, put everything on the line to honor his commitment to his client and won the trial of the century, against all odds...and against this 30 year veteran prosecutor! When the prosecution lies, they are going to lose! Thank God for that!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Get over it

    Casey was found not guilty, it is time to get over it. Those who claim to want justice in this country may want to spend more time and energy looking into cases where innocent people are languishing in prison. Check out the innocence project. Or continue to focus on a case that is closed, such as this one. It is your choice.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    I don't understand

    Why are people giving Jeff Ashton money yet boycotting Casey if she ever releases a book? It is all blood money! He had it all planned out. He started writing his book during the trail, knew he was going to retire, and look at him now. He is using what "fame" he has so he can be elected district attorny. I hate some of these people who say they hate Casey. I mean, if you hated her so much why watch the trail and buy a book that pretty much has info in it we already know? Jeff Ashton is just being a drama queen about it, saying the jurors weren't thinking. And why hate Cindy? If your kid was in Casey's shoes I am sure most of you would defend them with everything you have, including throwing yourself under a bus! So, stop acting like you hate Casey, when you all know that if she released a book, you would buy it or read a summary of it somewhere on the internet.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Boooring!

    This book does not contain any new info on the Casey Anthony trial. If you followed the case at all, then this book will be very disappointing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Self-serving crap by a pompous loser

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    If you want the real story read Jose's book. I don't think anyone cares the make, model and color of Jeff's car or his fancy ties. I watched the trial and saw him laughing and making faces thru the trial. This case was not about Caylee it was about him thinking he was so smart. He thought the "rookie" Jose couldn't make a case. Jose gave everything he had for Casey and Caylee. I was sorry I spent the money to buy this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    If he is as great as he says, he shouldve won the case

    In the first two full pages he uses "I", "me" or "my" more than thirty times and talks about how much the media loved his Jerry Garcia ties • He clearly is writing a love story---about himself He seems to be psychotic• The book is about Jeff's ego, not Caylee

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    wont waste my money on "this laughing guy"

    wont waste my money on "this laughing guy"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Dont read this book!

    Who cares about ca and how she go away with murdering her beautiful child!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    DO NOT BUY ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH THIS WOMEN!

    It will just give ammo to the fact that she got away with murder! Not to mention there is a chance she may get money for her story. I don,t buy anything that has to do with that story. Just my choice

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Just A Bunch of Finger Pointing

    Just a book about Ashton shifting the blame onto others instead of admitting his own shortcomings. This trial was a disaster due to both the defense's AND the prosecutions silly tactics. This is very one sided. Ashton uses this book as a way to vent his resentment and anger for losing the case- you can sense it throughout the entire book and I found it a little offensive that he used the whole "dedicated to Caylee" thing in order to seem like he was out for justice in writing this book when really it seems like it was all just to make HIMSELF feel better and convince others that he is the greatest and that it was everyone else's fault but his own. Once again, his unprofessionalism comes shining right through. I thought this book would be objective and professional, presenting us the facts so that we could make our own assumptions based on what we had seen as well as what we hadn't; but there's really nothing new here, just a bunch of conceited praising by Ashton for Ashton.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    it's not out yet, but that doesn't stop people from reviewing it

    Well the book doesn't come out until november, but there are already 47 reviews giving it an average rating of 4 1/2 stars. So I might as well jump in to the review as well.

    I found it very odd it talked about cats the whole time. Mr. Ashton clearly knows a great deal about cats, and he went into endless chapters sharing the joys of his cats with the reader. A very unexpected, but not unpleasant, twist in the book.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anyone who would attempt to make a profit off the death of that

    Anyone who would attempt to make a profit off the death of that child is a worthless sack of pig sh*t.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    What a waste of money. This book reveals nothing new but rehash

    What a waste of money. This book reveals nothing new but rehashes what we all already know. Ashton's blatant lies are as obvious in the book as they were at trial, as is his continuing abhorrent behavior. If you are looking for details that would have supported a Guilty verdict, you won't find any in this book. Must give kudos to the defense team and the jury for jobs well done!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Jose baez book is way better

    This book does not tell anythung new .....Jose's bookgives you a different look and made me rethink how much more george was involved.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2