Customer Reviews for

The Importance of Being Earnest and Four Other Plays (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    Great fun!

    Recently many of the plays by Oscar Wilde have enjoyed a move to the silver screen. And done so with great praise. 'Importance of Being Earnest' is no different. While I love the move, especially Judy Dench, READING Oscar Wilde is what I like best. It's like a cool drink on a hot summer day, so poetic and fresh is his voice, his style. And even by today's standards he's funny. I enjoy his work on two levels: First, thinking about what it must have been like for those in the early part of the last century to watch these great plays, and second, seeing how they still hold up after all these years. 'Earnest' is filled with puns, plays on words, and a mind-bending plot. It's farce, fact, fiction, and fun. I highly recommend all Wilde's works, along with a book I recently picked up on Barnes and Noble titled 'katzenjammer' by J.T. McCrae which was also funny and well-written. Also, while still good, try Wilde's 'Picture of Dorian Gray' for another enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Cool

    Like this one, so witty and crazy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Excellent book of plays!!!

    Oscar Wilde is one of my favorite authors! I just love how he introduces and supports two totally different points of views on life with every subject the characters talk about! Like The Picture of Dorian Gray, every page is quotable!!! However, I think that adding Salome to the end of the book was a bit anticlimactic. It took away from the general grandeur of the book. I just didn't like the play. But overall, great book to get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining

    This is a great edition. The plays in this collection are very entertaining. The Importance of Being Earnest and Lady Windermere's Fan are my favorites in this book. The print is easy to read and the value is exceptional. I have read it so many times already, and I look forward to reading it again...and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    earnest to read it :)

    i havent read this yet, however, i have seen the movie version with collin firth, rupert everett, reese witherspoon, etc., and it inspired me to read it!! the characters are so funny, its just perfection acted, if you dont have a chance to see it as a play, watch the movie! worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Oscar Wilde is a Legend

    I bought this book of plays with the intention of gaining more exposure to Oscar Wilde (and he never disappoints.) I've only read "The Importance of Being Earnest" thus far, but every time I read some of some Oscar Wilde's material I grasp a heightened knowledge of just how unique he was in his writing style. If you're looking for comedy (nice, fine caricatures of the high Victorian society) than this is a marvelous book to read even if you're just reading it to relax -- but now I really want to see this play in action. Wilde is a legend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Oscar Wilde was a mad genius

    These plays are so, so funny. They reflect life in an era that is just SO different from today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Thank you Barns & noble!

    Great store and great prices for valuable books! keep your value up and also help educators and students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    As a previous reviewer has noted, Oscar Wilde leaves the reader laughing out loud on account of his incredible wit--he is, hands down, the funniest writer I've ever read. However, in spite of the deceptively lighthearted mood of his work, Wilde dares to ask penetrating questions about human nature and inserts subtly beautiful messages into his dramas. Excellent character development, dialogue, plot, and literary value--highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    I Love It!

    This is definitely something to read if you like satires. This book deserves a place on everyone's bookshelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Excellent!

    This was the first Oscar Wilde book I have read, and it was spectacular. Wilde finds a way to twist humor and mishap, and he does a wonderful job! Bravo, Mr. Wilde; this is definately a 'must-read' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    excellent

    Oscar wilde satirizes the aristocratic class of England in such a time when the British Empire was in total control.It is excellent because it gives one a complete picture of the age in which it was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3