Customer Reviews for

Impossible

Average Rating 4
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Impossible to Put Down

I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language w...
I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language was clean and any sexual references were G-Rated, so I'm comfortable passing this one on to my older teens. It does reference a date rape and teen pregnancy, so I'll probably hold off on giving it to my younger teens until they are a little more mature. I look forward to reading other works by Nancy Werlin. Definitely a book I will recommend to others because it was just plain fun.

posted by SuperMomof4 on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Impossibly Stupid

The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer r...
The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer reviews and a thorough description of the book... this book is the reason why I do that.

The story is of Lucy, an 18 (or 17 at some point possibly) girl that has been given the impossible task to break a curse that has been placed on her family for an unknown number of generation, or destined to suffer the fate of going "crazy" after giving birth to her child at the age of 18. The idea intrigued me, and the idea, if done properly, could make for a great epic tale with a strong heroine.

When done poorly, you get this book.

Not only are major plot points lacking in structure,("Hey Mom, hey Dad, I am working to fight an Elfin Knight's curse, will you help?" "SURE!!!" "Oh, and I'm getting married to Zach, you know, the poorly built character that is known from page 10 I will fall madly in love with... yea him, we're getting married!" "No probleme-o!"), but the story line and the characters reaction are just so unrealistic! Awesome urban fantasy is fantasy that you can actually believe in. There is no great climatic build up to a grand conflict of good VS evil, and how Lucy and Zach work to complete the tasks is very unrealistic and lacking in detail.

I could go on, but I won't. This book received 2 stars instead of 1 because the story line was intriguing enough to make me actually want to finish the book (which I did) and find out what happened... I kept holding out thinking "IT's going to get better... it's going to pick up!" only to be disappointed. The fact that this book has a "group discussion" at the back is laughable.

posted by MsOrange78 on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent

    This book provided readers with a new story, which is hard to do. It was decent enough to read all the way through but not one of those novels you pick up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Unusual...

    This book was interesting. I loved how the back cover talked vaguely about a curse and true love. And I bought it. So I was reading it and I thought it sounded fairly good. She was raped by her supposed date to the prom and gets pregnant. And throughout the book, it talked more and more about how Lucy, the main character, was pregnant than the three tasks she was supposed to complete. And the author only really talked about the last two tasks near the end of the book. It was good. I liked it. I would read it again if I had no other book around at the moment. But it wasn't my thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossibly a Good story

    This book is a shorter story, but I like how it takes the lyrics of a song and spings a tale for a young girl to deal with - a curse that has gone on for many generations. The song and lyrics will be familiar to you once you hear them. They are what capture the story and a young girls will to break it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    terrible

    This book is more for readers who are okay with a girl being raped and dealing with teenage pregnancy. I would NOT reccommend this to anyone who is looking for a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book was IMMPOSSIBLY Stupid in PLOT

    The cover art looks cool. From the back cover you think wow this looks like an awesome adventure story. No...Just noo. First she gets raped during prom and magically recovers from it. The tone of the book is very depressing I mean even when her and the boyfriend are getting married there is a heavy air to everything! And an evil elf? Come on now ... The plot was mismatched terribly and the characters are very strange. In one scene her mother who went insane like all her mothers before her comes into the driveway before prom and wruins everything going crazy and shouting things. It's a little distrubing, especially since it didnt match up with other stuff in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Impossibly Boring, and Painful.

    When I saw this book's beautiful cover and read the description of an exciting fairy tale adventure, I was hooked. But then I actually read it. Exciting adventure? More like: "watch me sit around at home thinking about what I might do, with the help of my parents and boyfriend who love me." In fact, nothing happens whatsoever until the "dramatic" end where the main character waits until the last second to figure out how to break her curse and free herself. I really don't think it takes nine months to carry out such easy tasks, honestly. Oh, and let's not forget the sickeningly predictable romance between the two main characters who have as much depth as a puddle. Just because two people say "I love you" does not mean readers will automatically believe that they are deeply in love. There is a vast difference between books that TELL you what's happening, and books that SHOW you what's happening. Between the boring setting, shallow characters, and cheesy plot (based on a Simon and Garfunkel song!) I can honestly admit that this is the worst book I have ever read my entire life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it was ok

    I liked this book,it was OK. It wasn't the best or the worst I have ever read. Some parts were kinda borning to me and I had to force myself to read them. This book has a lil fantasy added but it's not got too much on the subject in it. The story is about 17 year old Lucy who has lived with foster parents(Soledad and Leo) her whole life because her mother(Miranda) is a crazy bag lady they hardly see. Then one night at her junior prom Lucy is raped and soon after learns she is pregnant and of the curse of her family,all the Scarborough women always get pregnant and have a daughter at 18 and go crazy soon after because they never finish the tasks in the song the Elfin Knight has set for them. Soon Lucy is overcoming all odds and also finds true love in her bestfriend Zach.I loved the plot,it's original,but I think so much more could have been done with it. Like I said it's an OK book,it might be just me, so go read it and find out for yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i just dont know

    i am a little torn with this book. i loved it but i hated it. i loved the plot and the story behind the actual words. some parts on the story just came out of nowhere or they made sense but were at the wrong part of the story. i also did not like that the last half of the book is devoted to the wedding and marriage and then the last 20 or so pages are about the 2 and 3 task. it was a good book but it could have been so much better. everytime i would read it i would get Scarbourgh Fair stuck in my head. after awhile that got obnoxious not only to me but people i was around. i recommend this book just dont expect a lot from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I had a very hard time getting into this book. I kept reading it thinking it would get better, but it didn't.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    just bad...

    this book was not what i was expecting. it was really bad. it was weird and a hard read. it wasnt something that was easy to sit back and enjoy. i was extremly dissapointed. DO NOT BUY! the only good thing about "impossible" was zach.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a bit dissapointing.

    I read alot of reviews about this book and that was the only reason I picked it up. But I found it depressing. Very depressing actually. It was kind of unbelieveable at times too. (thats leaving out the curse thing) She gets raped (very depressing) and she gets pregnant and she doesn't really seem to get too upset about it. I realize that's not what the book was about but you can't deny that rape is a huge emotional trama and it was overlooked in the story. Also I felt we skipped over things that I would have liked to have read and we focused on things that I didn't see improtant to the story. But then again I didn't write the story so I don't know. The plot was okay if you can get past everything else which I found very difficult.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    huh...

    The best way I can describe this story is weird, farfetched, and not believable. A story like this has the potential to suck you in but Impossible only made me feel awkward. It doesn't make you think "oh thats why they did this" its predictable and doesn't make you think. I really was disconcerted by some of the plot points.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    not the best

    i did not like the book impossible at all it was very predictable and lack in excitement ( until the end). i felt the book could have had more action through the middle. i did like the ending it was tiny bit obvious that she was going to give birth doing the third task but otherwise. Well done, on the ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    I really enjoyed this book. At first I was apprehensive because of the curse factor, but it is surprisingly great! I recommend it if your looking for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Teen Read

    This book is a wonderful story that explores the importance of family, what real love is, how much of a difference determination and a strong will will make, and it has an interesting fantasy element that gives it the feel of a modern day fairy tale. It was one of the sweetest and most realistic depictions of love that I have read in some time. As a cautionary note, there are some more. . . mature elements, but they are handled tactfully. Overall, this is definitely a book I'd love to own and read again some day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Nancy Werlin uses a variation of the folksong "Scarborough Fair" as the backdrop for an interesting combination of mystery, fantasy, suspense, and the paranormal. <BR/><BR/>Generations ago an angry elfin knight placed a curse on the young women of the Scarborough clan. Each girl became pregnant as a teen and upon giving birth to a daughter, each girl went insane. The only way to break the curse was to complete three tasks described in the lyrics of the song. Until now it seemed the curse would carry on forever. <BR/><BR/>Lucy Scarborough, now seventeen, has always known her birth mother was Miranda Scarborough, but luck brought her into the lives of Leo and Soledad Markowitz. They have raised her since birth and understand the complications of her life story. Through the years they have been plagued by visits from Miranda. Her insanity has been the cause of many embarrassing situations. Now, as Lucy is approaching her last year in high school, she hopes that she can avoid anymore encounters with her crazy mother and get on with her life. <BR/><BR/>Early in the story, Lucy is preparing for her prom and her date with Gray Spencer. Her adopted parents are nervous about the date since it is one of her first, and they haven't actually met Gray. As the couple is posing for pictures and is about to leave for the evening, the unthinkable happens. Miranda shows up in her baggy T-shirt and flowing skirt, pushing her rusty shopping cart full of bottles and cans. Everyone is shocked when she begins to attack, throwing glass bottles at everyone in the yard. She is finally hauled away by the police, but not before Gray makes a get-away in his new car, leaving Lucy humiliated and dateless. <BR/><BR/>Just when Lucy is ready to give up on him and attend the prom with a long-time childhood friend, Gray returns, apologizes for running off, and begs her to still be his date. She happily accepts, but it proves to be the beginning of yet another horrible experience. As the two are leaving the prom later that evening, Gray takes Lucy aside and forces himself on her. The experience is not only terrible, but also puzzling as Lucy tries to connect the gentle high school boy with the vicious act and the sinister voice she hears during that attack. <BR/><BR/>Weeks after the prom, Lucy discovers she has followed in the footsteps of the Scarborough women and become a pregnant teen. Will her fate be the same? Will she give birth to a daughter, and will she lose her mind? <BR/><BR/>Werlin creates an interesting mix of past and present. Lucy seems one moment to be a typical teen, and the next, the victim of an ancient evil. The turning of each page reveals another fact about the family curse. The lyrics of the song provide the clues necessary to break the curse, but those clues are not crystal clear and require creative solutions from Lucy and her helpful family and friends. Encouraged by hope and love, Lucy fights to change the direction of her life at the same time as she learns to accept the hand fate has dealt. Werlin fans will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Really enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this. It has the feel of a classic fairy tale with a great modern twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I love this series and would suggest it to everyone. I love the

    I love this series and would suggest it to everyone. I love the suspense that she builds up. I literally couldn't put the book down for 4 days strait. I am just wondering if she is making another book after unthinkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I must say, this book was "impossible" to put down, ha

    I must say, this book was &quot;impossible&quot; to put down, haha :)
    I loved it. Unfortunately, some others didn't enjoy it as much as I did. But that's besides the point. It was a page turner, and relatively easy to read. 
    I give it four stars for two small reasons. First, because it skipped around a lot. i.e. She gets pregnant. Next chapter: TWO MONTHS LATER...
    and Second, I found myself yelling at Lucy. A lot. But maybe that's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Good morning everyone here is my rate and review.

    Good morning everyone here is my rate and revlew. I didnot like this book all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15