Customer Reviews for

Impossible

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Impossible to Put Down

I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language w...
I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language was clean and any sexual references were G-Rated, so I'm comfortable passing this one on to my older teens. It does reference a date rape and teen pregnancy, so I'll probably hold off on giving it to my younger teens until they are a little more mature. I look forward to reading other works by Nancy Werlin. Definitely a book I will recommend to others because it was just plain fun.

posted by SuperMomof4 on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Impossibly Stupid

The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer r...
The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer reviews and a thorough description of the book... this book is the reason why I do that.

The story is of Lucy, an 18 (or 17 at some point possibly) girl that has been given the impossible task to break a curse that has been placed on her family for an unknown number of generation, or destined to suffer the fate of going "crazy" after giving birth to her child at the age of 18. The idea intrigued me, and the idea, if done properly, could make for a great epic tale with a strong heroine.

When done poorly, you get this book.

Not only are major plot points lacking in structure,("Hey Mom, hey Dad, I am working to fight an Elfin Knight's curse, will you help?" "SURE!!!" "Oh, and I'm getting married to Zach, you know, the poorly built character that is known from page 10 I will fall madly in love with... yea him, we're getting married!" "No probleme-o!"), but the story line and the characters reaction are just so unrealistic! Awesome urban fantasy is fantasy that you can actually believe in. There is no great climatic build up to a grand conflict of good VS evil, and how Lucy and Zach work to complete the tasks is very unrealistic and lacking in detail.

I could go on, but I won't. This book received 2 stars instead of 1 because the story line was intriguing enough to make me actually want to finish the book (which I did) and find out what happened... I kept holding out thinking "IT's going to get better... it's going to pick up!" only to be disappointed. The fact that this book has a "group discussion" at the back is laughable.

posted by MsOrange78 on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible to put down

    This story has a very brave heroine and an extremely supportive male counterpart. Even though she is faced with emotional and physical hardships she will not give up. Zach is a treasure. The ending is fantastic. I loved these characters and hated it when the book ended.
    Lucy Scarborough is only seventeen when she finds out that she's pregnant. While originally shocked, she soon comes to realize that this is what happens to Scarborough girls. Lucy quickly discovers that the women in her family have been cursed for generations by an evil elfin king. When the women become pregnant they then must complete three impossible tasks before their baby is born or else they become crazy once their child is born.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Buy this book!

    If you were impressed by the violent twist of the novel Hunger Games and the romantic tension of the popular series Twilight, then a book I'd recommend for you is Impossible by Nancy Werlin. It's a novel of many genres such as romance, mystery, and adventure. This inspiring novel makes me think about how no matter how hard life gets, you shouldn't give up on it, because something good will come out of the problem eventually and you will realize that. In this adventurous novel, main character Lucy Scarborough, finds out and unfolds her ancestors and mothers history. It takes place in a little town of Massachusetts where Lucy is a foster child, but has always lived with her foster parents; Leo and Soledad. They shelter her and fear she will become like her mother, Miranda. Miranda, whom had Lucy at age eighteen, has gone mentally insane. When Lucy finds herself held down at prom, raped by the man she soon though she would call her boyfriend, she is devastated. A month later she finds out she is pregnant. Lucy, and her now husband, Zach Greenfield start to unravel the mystery of the Scarborough girls. And soon find out she and her mother's mother and her mother's mother, and so on, were cursed. To have a girl at eighteen and then go mentally insane because of Fenella Scarborough who rejected the man who had then cursed the family. Only being broken by three tasks, you will read that the curse is hard to break. With the help of Lucy's family they will attempt to break it. This novel is very different than anything I've ever read - the curse was a definite twist to the entire book. I was drawn to this novel because Werlin is a New York Times best author. I hope you check out or buy this novel, and enjoy it as much as I have!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Smooth, surreal and lovely, despite a few character flaws.

    http://maggiesbookshelf.blogspot.com/2010/01/impossible.html

    Lucy can't complain-her life could be worse. For example, she could still be living with her insane bag-lady of a mother, instead of her wonderful, supportive foster parents. Or she could be pregnant at seventeen, like the dozens of girls her foster mother treats every year. But when her mother returns one day at school, singing her own haunting version of "Scarborough Fair" and referring to an unbreakable curse, it seems like a bad omen that's hard to ignore. And when prom night goes horribly awry, Lucy begins to wonder if perhaps she's cursed after all.

    Wow. I can't really say that I was expecting this book! A beautiful cover, a fairy tale idea and a lyrical, flowing, almost skimming prose style-but a story that felt like a kind of sort of better version of Breaking Dawn. What to make of it?

    Maybe if I hadn't read Breaking Dawn first I could have enjoyed it more, because even though Impossible is definitely better than Breaking Dawn, the teen pregnancy love story theme feels a little tainted. And the elfin antagonist of Padraig Seeley is a bad guy you can see a mile away-a little subtlety would have been nice.

    However, Impossible has something that Breaking Dawn definitely didn't have, and that's wonderful, sympathetic protagonists-however 2-D the supporting characters might be. Lucy was believable, likeable, determined, relatable and strong, without being an iron-willed warrior woman. Don't get me wrong, those can be fun to read about; but it's nice every once in awhile to have a character that can be vulnerable, too. Zach, as well, made a sweet addition as the literal boy-next-door-turned-soulmate; even if I was a little bothered by the fact that everybody seemed to take a fairytale curse pretty much as an everyday thing.

    All in all, if you can accept the world as somewhere between ours and the mythical beyond, this touching romance is one of the best rainy day books I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible

    I've wanted to read this book for a long time now, and I'm glad I did. I love to read, but finding a book that you can say had "originality" is almost impossible itself. But Impossble, was unique. The story was complex and as you read the book you see how well elements from early chapters tie into the initial plot. Like Lucy's Yaz shirt. This story was a little slow panning out, but definitely worth the time to read. After you read this book you can truly see the time and effort that the author spent in getting it right, granted there were a few areas that didn't interest me, all in all it was a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible

    This book was based off of a ballad that I studied in school as a poem, and I think it did a very good job of describing what the ballad means. Yes, there were times when it made hardly no sense at all. But it was extremely emotional. And for those that haven't read and studied the ballad, you'll probably enjoy the book more. It's very good, and I recommended it to my English teacher. She's very picky about the books she reads, and she liked it. I recommend this to all! It's a great mixture of romance and fantasy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique, based on a song

    This book is definitely not like other books I've read. The whole backdrop of the book is an old folk song. The main character must complete 3 tasks in order to save her life and the lives of the generations to come. The storyline has good potential but it falls short in some places. I'll admit, some parts of this book were boring, but it was still a good read. However, the romance between the two main characters was somewhat unbelievable, but I suppose thats why it's a book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent

    This book provided readers with a new story, which is hard to do. It was decent enough to read all the way through but not one of those novels you pick up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossibly a Good story

    This book is a shorter story, but I like how it takes the lyrics of a song and spings a tale for a young girl to deal with - a curse that has gone on for many generations. The song and lyrics will be familiar to you once you hear them. They are what capture the story and a young girls will to break it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i just dont know

    i am a little torn with this book. i loved it but i hated it. i loved the plot and the story behind the actual words. some parts on the story just came out of nowhere or they made sense but were at the wrong part of the story. i also did not like that the last half of the book is devoted to the wedding and marriage and then the last 20 or so pages are about the 2 and 3 task. it was a good book but it could have been so much better. everytime i would read it i would get Scarbourgh Fair stuck in my head. after awhile that got obnoxious not only to me but people i was around. i recommend this book just dont expect a lot from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    The last young adult series I've read was Twilight and I came up

    The last young adult series I've read was Twilight and I came upon this book by accident-- the librarian accidentally placed it with the fiction section instead of the YA section. Anyway, the cover caught my eye and I picked it up on a whim (and in a rush, my 4 year old has little patience in me selecting books). I actually really enjoyed it, I loved the idea, the creepy ballad and the tasks. I thought it was refreshingly original and I was hooked. It was not perfectly well written, in my opinion. I just felt like there could have been more, like there were gaps and I was very disappointed with the ending. I had just expected more I guess. I think with a great plot and idea like that, there could have been more depth to it. I am reading the second book, Extraordinary, and I'm not too impressed so far, but I read the synopsis for the third installment, Unthinkable, and it has me intrigued, so I continue on....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Really enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this. It has the feel of a classic fairy tale with a great modern twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I must say, this book was "impossible" to put down, ha

    I must say, this book was "impossible" to put down, haha :)
    I loved it. Unfortunately, some others didn't enjoy it as much as I did. But that's besides the point. It was a page turner, and relatively easy to read. 
    I give it four stars for two small reasons. First, because it skipped around a lot. i.e. She gets pregnant. Next chapter: TWO MONTHS LATER...
    and Second, I found myself yelling at Lucy. A lot. But maybe that's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    love

    c'mon you guys... this is a good book. love the fairy element, love the love. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Good read

    Good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    A good read, had potental to be great!

    This book was good regardless of what other reveiwers said. The was a solid page turner, at points this book is a bit agravating, but good none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Hard to put down!

    I did not do anything but look at this cover before I starting reading the book. Normally, I read the book jacket but I just didn't with this book so I had no idea what to expect. Right from the get go, I was drawn to Lucy Scarborough, who is going through the difficult teen years. To add to this already difficult time, she has been raised by an adoptive family as her mother has mental illness and she pops in and out of Lucy's life causing much stress.

    Much to Lucy's distress, her mother Miranda, shows up just as she is getting ready to leave for prom singing the dreaded "Scarborough Fair" and talking of curses. Lucy ends up getting it all together and still goes to Prom but the unimaginable happens and she is raped by her date, who dies in a car accident that very same night. I was please that this book was kept at a very G-rating and any sexual reference were very light. Soon Lucy realizes that even though she took the morning after drug to prevent pregnancy, she is indeed pregnant and that maybe her mothers talk of this curse is not all crazy.

    The remainder of the book goes through all of the challenges she is faced with to try to stop this seemly impossible curse to break. Lucy does not want to go crazy like her mother but how can she stop the curse?

    I really enjoyed this book. At times, it was very hard for me to put down because I just had to know what was going to happen next. That being said there were times that there was just too much going on in the book, too many directions. Overall, I think that this book had a lot of interesting lore in it and was well written. The players in the game were likable and easy to get to know. The style of writing was clear and written at a level that almost any reader can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    fairly good- recommended

    Impossible by Nancy Werlin is a book filled with adventures,thrill and romance that causes you to not want to put down the book. The author uses plenty of metaphors, personificiation, tone, and mood to create a well written novel. Lucy the main character is a teenage girl that gets raped at her prom she then is faced with the responsibities of being a young mother. While Lucy struggles with her unplanned parenthood she fights to reverse the curse that was casted upon her and the females in her family line. Impossible is signifigant to families all over the world showing that no family is normal but yet families are all special and blessed in their own ways. This book well reommended for anyone who's interested in a suspenseful romantic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    A Fun Summer Read

    I thought this book was well-written and really sucked the reader in. As a 19-year old, avid reader, I would definitely recommend this book to people my age, especially as a fun book to read over the summer. At times I could not put this book down, and although some parts move slower, there is always a driving force pushing forward. The book, like many have said, is a good combination of fantasy and reality. It is about a young girl, Lucy, who is under a curse that has been over all of the women in her family, and it is about how she, with the help of the genuinely sweet Zach and her two loving adoptive parents, tries to break the curse so she doesn't pass it on to future generations. It is about love conquering all (which though it may be cheesy and cliche, always makes for a good read) and it is about victory in the face of disaster and defeat. As someone who really enjoyed this book and plans on reading it again someday, I am offended by some of the negative comments, in particular the one that strongly cautions parents and teachers about the "evils" of this book. Is "Impossible" a children's book? Certainly not. It does deal with rape, teen pregnancy and marriage, sex and evil Knights. But it is not a book that draws in on bad morals by any standard. The rape does have a big effect on Lucy and those around her, and though there is a supernatural element to it, her and her loved ones go through normal reactions. As far as the teen pregnancy goes, it was a result of the rape and not some flimsy teen mischief, and the marriage though at first is to give the child a good father, is also because of how strongly Lucy and Zach love each other. In regards to the "sex,sex and more sex" I have to say that the book very lightly and tactfully refers to sex and when it is referred to it is mainly in the context of being after marriage. This book is not pure fantasy; it deals with normal teen and human problems, and it shows how sex can have negative ends (in the context of Lucy's friend) and also how it can be great between a husband and wife. And don't expect to find any sort of soft porn; the author very discreetly refers to the couple having any sort of intimate relations. And as far as teenage drinking goes, I barely remember that in the story; it is certainly not a normal factor. Again it is not something that is heavily promoted by the author. I would recommend this book to anyone who is up for a good, intriguing romance with a hint of the supernatural. It is definitely a book for young adults, as it deals with issues that most young adults are at least somewhat familiar with, while at the same time adding a dash of fantasy. Overall, an enjoyable and thrilling light read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible

    I have to be honest, I judge books for their covers and I always love the ones with a girl in a pretty dress, so I didn't really know what this book was about when I picked it up. When I finally pulled it off my shelf to read it, I loved it! I loved that Nancy Werlin took a song and turned it into her inspiration to write a story about a girl in a cursed line of women and an Elfin Knight. The story touches on the fantastical without taking away the realism that allows any girl to find a connection with Lucy. With issues like prom and the boy next door, Lucy is relatable while the reader still gets to experience the fictional word of faery. All of the characters were well developed and original. The readers is automatically interested with the personalities of Lucy, Zach, and even the pet poodle. Werlin took an old Scottish folk song and turned it into a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Magical and riveting

    Lucy comes from a long line of Scarborough women who have tried unsuccessfully to fight off the ravages of an age old curse. As Lucy's senior year in high school is underway, the handsome Padraig turns up at Soledad's workplace. This leads to the beginning of the curse's manifestation and Lucy will only have nine months in which to unravel the mysteries and tasks set forth in the old folk tune, Scarborough Fair, before she will go mad. With the help of foster parents Leo and Soledad, Lucy is in a much better position to battle the elfin curse. Aided by the boy next door Zach, Werlin creates a great team to help save Lucy's life. I dare you to read this without a certain tune getting stuck in your head! It's a great tale of good and evil, and true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4