Customer Reviews for

Impossible

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Impossible to Put Down

I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language w...
I REALLY liked "Impossible" by Nancy Werlin. The idea behind the book was intriguing and within the first 10 pages I was hooked and could not put the book down. The characters were easy to like and the tension continued right up to the end of the book. The language was clean and any sexual references were G-Rated, so I'm comfortable passing this one on to my older teens. It does reference a date rape and teen pregnancy, so I'll probably hold off on giving it to my younger teens until they are a little more mature. I look forward to reading other works by Nancy Werlin. Definitely a book I will recommend to others because it was just plain fun.

posted by SuperMomof4 on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Impossibly Stupid

The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer r...
The first 20 pages or so of this book sucked me in while skimming it at Barnes and Noble. Plus, the cover just looked awesome, and the fact that Gregory Maguire recommended it pretty much sold me. Usually when I buy books, I buy them online so that I can see customer reviews and a thorough description of the book... this book is the reason why I do that.

The story is of Lucy, an 18 (or 17 at some point possibly) girl that has been given the impossible task to break a curse that has been placed on her family for an unknown number of generation, or destined to suffer the fate of going "crazy" after giving birth to her child at the age of 18. The idea intrigued me, and the idea, if done properly, could make for a great epic tale with a strong heroine.

When done poorly, you get this book.

Not only are major plot points lacking in structure,("Hey Mom, hey Dad, I am working to fight an Elfin Knight's curse, will you help?" "SURE!!!" "Oh, and I'm getting married to Zach, you know, the poorly built character that is known from page 10 I will fall madly in love with... yea him, we're getting married!" "No probleme-o!"), but the story line and the characters reaction are just so unrealistic! Awesome urban fantasy is fantasy that you can actually believe in. There is no great climatic build up to a grand conflict of good VS evil, and how Lucy and Zach work to complete the tasks is very unrealistic and lacking in detail.

I could go on, but I won't. This book received 2 stars instead of 1 because the story line was intriguing enough to make me actually want to finish the book (which I did) and find out what happened... I kept holding out thinking "IT's going to get better... it's going to pick up!" only to be disappointed. The fact that this book has a "group discussion" at the back is laughable.

posted by MsOrange78 on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is a must read. Impossible is just a book you ccan read a million times trust me read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is a really good book. I've never came across a story like this. Its so different and i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Amazing

    When i first started reading this book it was hard to understand but as i started to read it more i fell in love with it and couldnt put it down. Awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    ?

    Should i read tgis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great Read

    This book is definately one you will not be putting down anytime soon. I recommend it for EVERYONE! So intriguing you just have to find out what happens next. Nice little love story too :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Read

    Just a terrific read. I wish there was some sequel to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome book!

    It was so great and sweet!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Sooo goood!!!!

    I LOVEEEEEE THIS BOOK! its so romontic too <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A highly addicting read!!!

    Lucy Scarbough is 17 years old, and ready to have the time of her life at prom. But when an unexpected surprise leaves her wondering, she finds out that the last 5 generations of her family were cursed. In order to break the curse, she must perform 3 impossible tasks. But, she won¿t tackle it alone. She has the help from her wonderful foster parents, and her childhood friend, Zach. She is a very determined girl and she won¿t stop at anything, even if it kills her. As quoted from the back of the book, ¿A family curse, 3 impossible tasks, only true love can save her.¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE this book

    Literally would try and sneak a few pages in during my busiest hours at any of my jobs to find out what they were doing next. The idea for the book is really cool, yes some things are amazingly predictable but overall very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Loved...LOVED..LLOOOOVVVVEEEDDD this book!

    This a a sweet story of a young girl who has to do 3 seemingly impossible tasks to stay sane and with the ones she loves. Its a great story. Like nothing ive ever read before. Totally reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    Recommended!!!

    This book is amazing, this is probably my favorite book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    hard to put down

    At first I didn't know that this book was about an Elfin Knight and the fairie realm, and this genre isn't my usual preference in books, but surprisingly enough, the book ended up being really good. It was refreshing, because the plot was different from other romance books and I'm eager to read other books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    One of my FAVORITES!

    I started the book and could not let it down. Highly recommended. A seventeen year old girl is raped at Prom by her "date" and struggles with being pregnant and dealing with her biological mother. She falls in love with her childhood guy friend, Zach. Great book to make you laugh, cry, and be hooked!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A tear jerker and a book that will keep you on your toes.

    I loved this book, but the next book doesn't sound interesting though. Extraordinary has a boring description about it and I really don't want to read it, but if I don't I won't be able to go to sleep at night until I read it so wish me good luck. Oh yeah, this book was great I loved every single thing in it in like one night....I did not want to go to sleep and just kept reading until I finished.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible to grasp, but GREAT!

    Unreal. Awesome. note: spoilers. I thought about Lucy and Zach getting married, but I couldn't grasp it. It was just, well, rushed. You didn't have time to think about it. It made it better. It was also suspenseful. When I was reading it, I was literally out of my seat. So basically, I highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Impossible

    Lucy Scarborough never knew the true story behind her adoption and the reason for her mother's craziness-at least not until she becomes pregnant with a baby girl herself. The truth is that her family is cursed. Every woman will become pregnant when she turns seventeen and unless she performs three tasks-tasks that every woman before Lucy has failed to do-she will succumb to madness.

    Lucy has no idea how to start. The tasks seem impossible, but her foster parents and best friend Zach (who might be becoming more) try to convince her otherwise. So with her parents and Zach beside her, she sets out to solve the three tasks and keep her sanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Read!

    This book was very different from any other book I've read before. It's very magical and mysterious. I loved it even though I thought I wouldn't. You will like the ending to everything and you might be surprised at what happens. You'll have to read it to find out what happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    It's a good book!!!!!

    i've read it. it's very interesting. There are twists int the novel and if you like surprises you should read. great read overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fearless

    Impossible is an amazing book about a girl who gets pregnant and has to complete three impossible tasks in order to keep her sanity and her life in order. She must make a magical shirt, without any seems or needlework. She mus find an acre of land, between the salt water and the sea strand. She must plow that land with just a goats horn, adn sow it all over with one grain of corn. Pretty amazing, huh? Impossible is definitly Fearless !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7