Customer Reviews for

An Impossible Attraction

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    This was a wonderful read I enjoyed reading. great story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Oh Wow!

    Stephen and Alexandra's story is filled with turns I wasn't expecting and kept me turning the page so i couldn't put it down. I read ALOT and have rarely shed tears, but I did in this book it was so touching. I am anxious to read other books in this series to see if they can even come close to comparing to this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    renda Joyce is at her best, which says something about this novel

    Alexandra Bolton became a seamstress to bring in needed money for her family. However, in 1845 her wastrel widower father informs her he needs funds to pay debts so she will marry either wealthy middle aged Squire Denney or some other affluent member of the Ton. She reluctantly agrees to sacrifice her desires because of a death bed pledge she made to her mom to care for her two younger sisters.

    Bolton and his three daughters attend a ball at the home of Sir Rex de Warenne and Lady Blanche. Alexandra realizes her arrival is a blunder as her friends treat her like hired help since she has been doing their sewing. When her father becomes too drunk, she tries to take him home. On the way out, Alexandra meets thirtyish wealthy Stephen, the Duke of Clarewood. They are attracted to one another until he has her. Her father tosses her to the street as a fallen woman and her Stephen rejects her believing she was trying to trap him.

    This is a superb early Victorian romance starring a courageous woman and the man she loves who is in denial. The story line of a good woman "falling" to the street in rejection is not new (see Cheryl Holt's Spinster Curse saga), but incredibly refreshed by Brenda Joyce with her strong casting and not just the lead couple. Fans will admire Alexandra's moral fortitude while knowing she will survive her ordeal but wonder if she will be with Stephen or a new beau Owen. Brenda Joyce is at her best, which says something about this novel, as her historicals are always excellent.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Enjoyed very much

    Truly enjoy a good story you have difficulty putting down. Read this book within a couple days. Great story, well written & easy to follow.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Page Turner

    For those of you who are fans of Judith McNaught's older books, our hero in Brenda Joyce's new book will bring back memories. This was an incredibly intense book with a very hard, driven hero and a gentle, sweet heroine who captures his heart. I couldn't put it down. I was actually surprised and shocked at how intense the hero was, leaving me cringing at times, and continuing to page turn to find out what was going to happen next. I loved it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing & Touching Victorian Romance

    Historical romance fans are in for a great treat with Brenda Joyce's magnificent Victorian, AN IMPOSSIBLE ATTRACTION, the next wonderful novel in her de Warenne Dynasty series for HQN in March 2010. In 1845 Victorian England, Alexandra Bolton is told by her father, the baron of Edgemont, that he can't afford to keep her and expects her to accept the middle aged and well-to-do Squire Denney's suit. With trepidation, Alexandra agrees once again to sacrifice her happiness for that of her family--since she has been supporting her two younger sisters and drunken gambler father by taking in sewing ever since her mother died years ago. However, Alexandra can't pay off her father's huge gambling debts or provide her sisters with dowries on her sewing income. Squire Denney invites Alexandra and her family to a ball at Harrington Hall, the home of Sir Rex de Warenne and Lady Blanche. When they arrive Alexandra realizes they've made a terrible mistake in attending. Her former friends shun them because they are now the nobility she works for! When her father imbibes too much and Alexandra tries to leave with him unnoticed Stephen Mowbray, the dashing Duke of Clarewood and richest peer of the realm, comes to her rescue.

    Although the devastatingly handsome duke has increased the Clarewood fortune many times over and is well known for his philanthropy, he is also a cold-hearted womanizer, who has gone through many mistresses. At thirty-two Stephen is in no hurry to marry-he remains haunted by his unhappy childhood. Stephen calmly decides he wants Alexandra for his next mistress and that they will both benefit from the liaison. However, Alexandra is determined to deny Stephen, and when his charms prove too powerful to resist, she winds up exposed as a fallen woman, and thrown out of her own home, onto the very street. Believing that Alexandra meant to trap him into marriage, Stephen furiously turns his back on her.
    In the absolutely amazing AN IMPOSSIBLE ATTRACTION Brenda Joyce reaffirms why she has remained one of the great historical romance authors for over two decades. This incredible double love story has all the hallmarks of a classic historical romance, characters so finely drawn they come to life on the page, details so rich you're whisked away to a bye gone era, and a romance so touching it will bring a tear to the reader's eye and a sigh when they turn the final page! Brava Ms. Joyce!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    Loved this book. I could not put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved this book! Loved the characters, Stephen and Alexandra, and I loved the storyline! Will definitely read others in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Stayed up all night!

    I bought to read as a relaxing night time diversion to be readover the course of week. However, once started I could not put it down ! I stayed up all night wanting to see the wonderfull Alexandra and Stephen happy at last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The synopsis makes the story sound very interesting and intregueing. Just reading the synopsis made read a part of the story.

    The begining of the story was very touching that I almost cried. Reading about how a girl of 17 would give up her fiance to take care of her family is very noble of her even thought it was obvious she gave up on happiness and love, and the only way to take care of her family.Just reading an exertion of An Impossible Attraction makes want to buy the book.I am very interesrted in knowing how the infamous Duke of Clarewood is going to win Alexandra's affections even though this is a romance novel,he will use passionate seduction.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Impossible Attraction is a wonderful love story that at once broke my heart and then mended it all over again. Brenda has definitely made an impact with her latest installment of the deWarenne dynasty.

    I have read a good many of Brenda's books over the last few years and all of the previous deWarenne stories. I have found that the change in Brenda's writing style is very evident as you read from 'The Conquer' to 'An Impossible Attraction'. She writes her characters so well now that you almost feel part of the family as she describes the other de Warenne men and ladies. I felt a great connection with these characters and I advise you all to read the other books in this series. If you can't find some of the older ones, at least start with 'The Prize' and read on from there. A full list of all titles is available on Brenda's Website. Thankfully Elysse and Alexi' s story is next, release date later in 2010. I have been waiting for what seems like FOREVER for that one!

    This book has strong character development and plot framing. Brenda gets right into the story but not so fast that you feel rushed - "here's your hat, what's your hurry." An Impossible Attraction contains some beautifully intense parts that make your heart do a little flutter and a secondary love story, involving our hero's mother, that just about melts your heart.

    A troubled childhood has made our hero Stephen into an outwardly cold and stoic man with a determination towards his duty above all else. Unlike other characters with this similar bent in other books I have read, he possesses a sense of power not so much to rule over all but to use his influence for good - such as building proper lodgings for workers and hospitals for the poor. But as you get to know him better, you will find your opinion of him changing dramatically and not always in a good way. I am still not sure if I really liked him.

    Alexandra, our heroine, is a woman of profound character and great courage. She reflects the plight of so many women who must sacrifice to aid their families. Only, no woman in her social class would ever dream of working for a living to support her sisters and unacceptable drunkard of a father. Hence Alexandra is a social outcast with little prospects. Funny, I think she is one of my favorite deWarenne women. Can this impoverished spinster win the cold heart of a duke or will she face ruin and scandal all for the sake of her wildly impossible attraction? You have to read it to find out and it is most definitely worth the read!

    The love scenes in this book were very few and I don't know if it detracted from the book. There could have been a few more moments of intimacy to help the reader get more immersed into the lovers tale. As it is, what few there was were somewhat descriptive in language but very short lived.

    Overall, I will say that I enjoyed this book very much. Actually I stayed up into the wee hours of morning to finish reading it, I couldn't put it down.I could have rated it higher but there was just something missing. small and impossible to put my finger on but missing none the less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I checked this book out at the library, and now I want to buy a

    I checked this book out at the library, and now I want to buy a copy of it.  I loved the intense attraction between the hero and heroine, but I didn't like the author merging two love stories into one.  I thought  that Julia and Tyne deserved their own separate love story.  Besides that, intertwining their love story among Stephen and Alexandra's was very distracting.  I found myself skipping over paragraphs regarding Julia and Tyne, so I could find out what was going to happen to Stephen and Alexandra.  The author had a habit of inserting Julia/Tyne segments right when something really interesting was taking place between Stephen and Alexandra.  Still, I feel it's worth the frustration...It was beautifully written, and I really connected with Alexandra and her struggles in a harsh world.  I want to read it again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Do not understand

    How can he "love once and never again" and sleep with a different woman every night? He should have went after her or pined for her if he loved her that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    Wonderful historical romance. Didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Great story!!!

    I fell in love with these characters!!! The story was great and no slow moments. Def a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    great story

    easy to read, easy to follow right mix of romance and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Swept away

    I've read quite a few romance and non-romance novels and I can't imagine a book that made me more emotional. I had actual, physical tears and really related to the characters. If you want a good introduction to the De Warrene series this is a perfect read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    loved it

    to me Brenda Joyce = GOLD. I haven't read one of her books that i didnt like. get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Love it!!!

    I cry reading this book. The author created such dept feeling into the characters. It was a page turner and i couldnt put the book down until i finish. Sigh.. the only negative about the book is the ending. I just wish it ended a little differently with the male herione. I was expecting him to go after the female herione but nonetheless. I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great read

    Loved it was paced perfect. Intense and dramtic. Loved it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9