Customer Reviews for

Impulse

Average Rating 4.5
( 808 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(635)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

IMPULSE

Vanessa was a troubled beauty, Conner was a depressed hunk, and Tony was the childhood disaster. Different lives but all similar pasts. Drawn together at Aspen Springs by a tragic choice of suicide from hate, love, depression, and the thrust to die. During their stay at...
Vanessa was a troubled beauty, Conner was a depressed hunk, and Tony was the childhood disaster. Different lives but all similar pasts. Drawn together at Aspen Springs by a tragic choice of suicide from hate, love, depression, and the thrust to die. During their stay at Aspen Springs, they will have to face their past and their deep dark secrets of death, family, and longing heart for the gone loved ones. Inside the walls of Aspen Springs a different life arouses for the better or the worst for Vanessa, Tony, and Conner. Knowing the truth of them selves will soon be discovered.
Ellen Hopkins has a unique style of writing that had me hypnotized through out the book. I could not put the book down when I started. Instead of reading page after page full of text, Hopkins writes the story beautifully and poetically. I, myself never knew how poetry could tell such an invigorating story. I fell in love with the characters and their story. The story flowed wonderfully through out. "Impulse" was an insightful for teen depression and what goes through their head.
If you like a new experience in reading Ellen Hopkins has written it for you. With her intriguing way of writing will have you mesmerized. I recommend this book AND MY OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS to young adult reader over the age of 14. People with a creative mind set will enjoy this book.

posted by 148617 on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lame

I love Ellen Hopkins and was really excited to see she had another book out but I must say...this one wasn't that great. It got kinda lame towards the end except for maybe the last 5 pages, but even that didn t make up for the rest of the book. I actually got kind of...
I love Ellen Hopkins and was really excited to see she had another book out but I must say...this one wasn't that great. It got kinda lame towards the end except for maybe the last 5 pages, but even that didn t make up for the rest of the book. I actually got kind of mad at the charcter development. Tony was a huge disapointment in my eyes because in the beginning I loved his character and it just seemed to get...oh I don't know...cheesy.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    What.

    This booknis definitely not as good as her other books by far. Was not as crazy as everyone says it is..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I Am A Very Avid Reader And Ellen Hopkins Is One On My Favorite

    I Am A Very Avid Reader And Ellen Hopkins Is One On My Favorite Authors. IMPULSE Was Good, A Bit Slow In Parts But Gave Good Insite Into Teens Struggling With Suicide. The Ending Was "Ehh" But Overall It Was Good And I Recomend It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Her Crank series was definitely better.

    I absolutely loved the Crank series by her so I have been eager to read her other books. I thought this book was a very interesting story but it lost my interest at the end...around the time when they went camping.

    I felt like there were pieces missing from the story. It seemed like the two guys admitted to more than Vanessa did. Like why didn't she fess up to seeing her mother OD'ing and not helping?

    Also it bugged me when Tony and Vanessa noticed how distant Connor became when they went camping and the reason why. They totally could've done something to prevent that.

    The book started off strong but lost my interest as it went on. Had higher expectations...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Eh..

    Impulse started off amazing, but the ending and the spots in which its difficult to read are what make me give the book a 3. At times you cannot tell if someone i stalking or if the words are narration. The story is written well but no real plot develops. You get to know all the characters very well, but no true climax appears until the last ten or so pages in which youre already sad that nothing big happened. I liked the book, but it didnt satisfy my longing for a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly, I can’t write a review about this book without a

    Honestly, I can’t write a review about this book without adding my own experiences. Eerily enough, I not only share Vanessa’s name but her history of depression and self-abuse. I’ve also been admitted into the hospital twice for major depression and suicidal tendencies. I think Ellen Hopkins is brave for writing about such a taboo but important subject.

    This is my second time reading Ellen Hopkins, and she proves again that she is a masterful storyteller and poet. She really writes beautifully and honestly about these deeply troubled teens. I could relate to them so well. I think Vanessa and Tony are such great characters. Even though I couldn’t really connect to Connor, I still felt for him and his loneliness. Toward the end of the book I found myself relating to him more.

    I think the story is solid and powerful. However, I found myself pausing every so often. I didn’t go to a wilderness challenge, but that doesn’t mean it's impossible. I also wasn’t allowed to visit home, but again, I personally don’t know how every single hospital program works. What really threw me off were the intimate caresses and kisses between the characters. Of course patients aren’t always going to be watched, but when a nurse’s aid catches it and doesn’t stop it? That’s very unrealistic. Throughout the book, I kept thinking about this one specific memory. I was walking down the hall and there was a boy on the phone who I thought was pretty funny and friendly. I lightly tapped him on the shoulder, which I didn’t think was such a big deal until a nurse’s aid screamed ‘no touching allowed!’ I understood fairly quickly that I wasn’t allowed to touch anybody in any way. So you might understand my inability to believe kissing and hugging was going on here. Patients are not allowed to date, either. Even in my support group after I left the hospital, we weren’t allowed to date each other.

    Perhaps my own experiences have made me judgmental about this book. I don’t want to say that it’s a complete inaccurate picture of a psychiatric hospital. Like I said before, just because I had different experiences don’t mean that this story is unbelievable. I still enjoyed it. It’s a haunting reminder that mental illness is very real and not just in one’s head. Unfortunately, there is still a stigma associated with mental illnesses and I’m always happy to read books that talk about this very real problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    This book its so good

    This book its so good because they talk about kid that have a hard time in they life. Also talks about how the kid get along so good they become boyfriend abd girlfriend. They went caming and conner was not doing well. Then conner died by jumping of a cliff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Not as good as Crank

    I love this author but I have to say this isn't my favorite book from her. It's still good and well written but not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Text cut off?

    Did anyone else see the same problem on their Nook? I'm thinking of reading the actual books of hers because of this problem. I have to bring font size all the way down to read full words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    An "ok" book

    Seems most people here really enjoyed the book. I dont know if its my age or I just finished reading an awesome series (Hunger Games) or what it was but I thought the book was just "ok." At first I wanted to take it back because of the format, suprisingly I was able to get over that quickly. However, I thought the book was what I expected - revealing these kids backgrounds as to why they are struggling with life and I felt there was only one suprise or somewhat unexpected moment in the book and it was only a small part of it - one-two pages. I was hoping for something that would keep me on my toes but this did not at all. However, it wasnt horrible or a regretful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    The style of writing was refreshing. Unfortunately, since the author had to split focus between three prominent characters (which seemed good in theory), she was not able to develop them to my satisfaction. The characters were forgettable. The first half of the book was better than the second. Hopkins tried to cover too much time, giving practically no sense of the characters' daily lives, so she could reach the ending she had desired.
    Hopkins' writing was better than I expected, the characters worse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    disappointed

    like every other book, you know the ending is going to be a bad one. the love is unrealistic. conner was an a-typical teen, i wanted something more realistic vanessa and tony both surprised me. a little. but, i have to admit i love the way ellen writes, i just wish she was so expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    dissapointing

    I loved all of her books and personally she is my favorite author, but to be completely honest, this book was not her best. I thought it to be drug out and quite boring. the end was the best part, but other than that, it wasnt that interesting to me. I absolutely loved the other two though, burned and crank. they were amazingly written and very catching. I wish that I could say the same for this one, but I just cant.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2