BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Impulse

Average Rating 4.5
( 806 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(633)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

IMPULSE

Vanessa was a troubled beauty, Conner was a depressed hunk, and Tony was the childhood disaster. Different lives but all similar pasts. Drawn together at Aspen Springs by a tragic choice of suicide from hate, love, depression, and the thrust to die. During their stay at...
Vanessa was a troubled beauty, Conner was a depressed hunk, and Tony was the childhood disaster. Different lives but all similar pasts. Drawn together at Aspen Springs by a tragic choice of suicide from hate, love, depression, and the thrust to die. During their stay at Aspen Springs, they will have to face their past and their deep dark secrets of death, family, and longing heart for the gone loved ones. Inside the walls of Aspen Springs a different life arouses for the better or the worst for Vanessa, Tony, and Conner. Knowing the truth of them selves will soon be discovered.
Ellen Hopkins has a unique style of writing that had me hypnotized through out the book. I could not put the book down when I started. Instead of reading page after page full of text, Hopkins writes the story beautifully and poetically. I, myself never knew how poetry could tell such an invigorating story. I fell in love with the characters and their story. The story flowed wonderfully through out. "Impulse" was an insightful for teen depression and what goes through their head.
If you like a new experience in reading Ellen Hopkins has written it for you. With her intriguing way of writing will have you mesmerized. I recommend this book AND MY OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS to young adult reader over the age of 14. People with a creative mind set will enjoy this book.

posted by 148617 on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lame

I love Ellen Hopkins and was really excited to see she had another book out but I must say...this one wasn't that great. It got kinda lame towards the end except for maybe the last 5 pages, but even that didn t make up for the rest of the book. I actually got kind of...
I love Ellen Hopkins and was really excited to see she had another book out but I must say...this one wasn't that great. It got kinda lame towards the end except for maybe the last 5 pages, but even that didn t make up for the rest of the book. I actually got kind of mad at the charcter development. Tony was a huge disapointment in my eyes because in the beginning I loved his character and it just seemed to get...oh I don't know...cheesy.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 633 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    IMPULSE

    Vanessa was a troubled beauty, Conner was a depressed hunk, and Tony was the childhood disaster. Different lives but all similar pasts. Drawn together at Aspen Springs by a tragic choice of suicide from hate, love, depression, and the thrust to die. During their stay at Aspen Springs, they will have to face their past and their deep dark secrets of death, family, and longing heart for the gone loved ones. Inside the walls of Aspen Springs a different life arouses for the better or the worst for Vanessa, Tony, and Conner. Knowing the truth of them selves will soon be discovered.<BR/>Ellen Hopkins has a unique style of writing that had me hypnotized through out the book. I could not put the book down when I started. Instead of reading page after page full of text, Hopkins writes the story beautifully and poetically. I, myself never knew how poetry could tell such an invigorating story. I fell in love with the characters and their story. The story flowed wonderfully through out. "Impulse" was an insightful for teen depression and what goes through their head.<BR/>If you like a new experience in reading Ellen Hopkins has written it for you. With her intriguing way of writing will have you mesmerized. I recommend this book AND MY OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS to young adult reader over the age of 14. People with a creative mind set will enjoy this book.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Three troubled teens cross paths at Aspen Springs, a psychiatric hospital, after attempting suicide. Connor, Tony, and Vanessa all have demons that try to pull them under and get them to succumb to the temptation to try it again; this time making sure they succeed. <BR/><BR/>Connor's overbearing family, only concerned about his GPA, or his making the varsity football team, or getting into an Ivy League college, offer no solace during his time of need. Feeling suicide is the only answer after a deeply emotional love affair ends, he takes a gun and points it to his chest before pulling the trigger. <BR/><BR/>Tony, after many years in a juvenile home for a crime that still haunts him, decides to ease his feelings of despair and loneliness by swallowing a handful of pills, only to vomit them up and be found by the police lying on the sidewalk unconscious. <BR/><BR/>Vanessa is a cutter. In order to ease her mind in any time of stress she slices her skin with anything sharp enough to do the job. One day, when she was drowning in her blue ocean of sadness, she cuts too deep. She feels herself slipping into the abyss until her younger brother, Bryan, walks in and finds her. When he calls for their ex-nurse Grandma, she is able to hold off death. <BR/><BR/>After arriving at Aspen Springs, Connor, Tony, and Vanessa are introduced to a life under constant surveillance, strict routines, and hours and hours or counseling. Immediately the three form a bond, feeling drawn to one another as if they might be able to save each other from death. Together they navigate the regulations of the hospital and make progress toward healing as they tell each other their deepest, darkest secrets; things they won't even tell their counselors. <BR/><BR/>Ellen Hopkins uses her wonderful free verse style to weave together the story of three troubled teens as they attempt to heal the terrible scars left by their lives. The consistency the author uses when alternating the points of view makes the story easy to follow. Hopkins gives away just enough information that the reader feels a part of the story while still saving a big bang for the end. IMPULSE is a great story that reveals the importance of family during the healing process and is a must read for anyone who knows a teen.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I was very impressed!

    I had just gotten the book a couple of days ago because one of my friends said it was really good i read the back and thought why not get that one! Ive read many other books be ellen including crank, glass, and burned which were all very good. I got this book and could not stop reading it i was drawn to it ! I faced so many emotions reading this book sadness sorrow forgivness happiness and many more! I hope that anyone that has doubts about this book reads it b/c its worth it! Rock on Ellen!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I hope you like to cry

    This novel is one of the first I've read from Hopkins, and I'm glad i finally picked this book up from the shelf and read it. I loved it personally, because I am a huge fan of poetry, and this book uses a lot of cascading, poetic lines. This book hit me emotionally like a big fat blow to the chest. I cried, yeah, but that's what makes you really love a book - when you care for the characters as if they were people you knew and loved. If you like poetry, or just something different in general, then I toooootally recommend this book. If you like to read about drama, romance, and teens who find their inner-selves, then this book will be a great read for you! =]

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Another 5 stars for Mrs. Hopkins!

    This was by far one of my favorite books by Ellen Hopkins. It was emotionally provoking and I really felt for the characters. I loved Tony and Conner, so the ending really dissappointed me. The vocabulary was intense because these 3 teens were so poetic. I guess it comes with being a suicidal emo kid. They all have great obstacles to over come in the healing center they were in for trying to do themselves in. Tony, a spunky orientally confused kid had a smart mouth. He was someone who would love to see you smile even when he was feeling bad. Vanessa, she was a sweet girl. Bi-polar and schzophrenic by birth her problems were understandable. On top of that she had to watch her mother die. That's crazy. And Conner, who was pushed to perfection by the comparisons between him and his twin sister. His mother is a cold person and she really got on my nerves.

    But all and all, crazy, tear jerking ending and everything else in between, this story was definately one of the best I've ever read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    great read!

    this book is about three people who meet in a mental institution, because they've all attempted suicide. this book jumps back and forth into the minds of the three characters, Vanessa, Tony, and Connor.As the story skips from character to character, it slowly reveals reasons behind each of the characters' attempts and emotions about everything they're going through. the story ultimately ends in tony and Vanessa finding love in each other, and Connor succeeding in killing himself. it was a very sad story, typical of Ellen Hopkins work, and over all a great story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    There are few books that i feel like reading again and again

    as stated previously there aren't many books that i want to read over and over again. this isn't a lame thrill that lasts for 10 minutes, this book really makes me take a second look at everything. the characters, Connor, Tony, and Vanessa, all make what they did to themselves seem logical... almost. they are all crazy and amazingly sane simultaneously. the book is a surprisingly quick read, simply because Ellen Hopkins writes in stanzas, so her books just looks huge. i'd reccomend this to anyone who likes the more emotional subjects, yes this book has its funny points, but its always brought right back down to earth, even the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the story. Hated the ending!

    So this book was basically about three troubled teens in rehab. Through out the book there were four different points of view. There was the narrator in the beginning, then Conner, Tony, and Vanessa. They all pretty much tried to kill themselves. Conner is this super smart, rich, athletic hottie! Tony was the awkward, gay, questioned his life guy. Then there's Vanessa, poor, little, addicted to cutting her self Vanessa. In the rehab they have to reach certain levels to recieve certain privilages. When they get to level four, after going home and confronting their family they can go on a survival trip. Before all that happens Vanessa falls in love with Conner and lusts for him. Then the tables get turned and Tony (thought to be gay) falls for her. When she realizes this they fall in love. Conner stops taking his depression medication, which is not so smart. So things get all complicated and your emotions get jerked! So read this to feel how I feel, disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Impulse by ellen hopkinz.

    This book is about how teens that need help after trying to kill them selfs or other go to aspen springs. One of the main characters fall in love with a "Gay" boy and he also likes her but conner another main character likes her. In each of the characters life storys some come from a decent home while others never met onn of the parents. Vanessa lives with her grandma and brother but the docter said she has bipolar desiese so she has to get better.. when these three kids go on a hike conner makes the wrong decision that changes everyones life ..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Reviewed for Monster Librarian as part of Banned Books Week

    Floored, that's how readers will feel only part of the way into this breathtaking tale of three teens in a mental care center after each has attempted suicide. While the book is large, 666 pages, it's written in poetry form so it reads fast. The terrible story of how these three kids, who should be enjoying the last years of high school, ended up where they are is boiled down to terse, powerful visuals that will leave readers feeling scarred.
    That said I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It puts adults into the head space of serious teen suffering and offers teen a real, honest look at how addiction, parasitic relationships and mental disorders (like depression and bipolar) work and manages to wash it all with a message of sympathy and solidarity. There are an increasing number of books out there designed to help parents and teens understand and cope with the real big problems that seem to be popping up more in life. But none that I've read have been as real as Impulse. It skips clinical altogether and puts the reader directly into the character's heads, slowly revealing their lives, even as they themselves face up to the significance of things. Few books are must reads in the large scope of fiction, but for teens and even parents suffering from or seeking to support someone who struggles with these issues Impulse is must-read. Nothing else crosses the barrier between "normal" and not with such strength and odd beauty. Impulse simply should be available in all public collections.

    Contains: references to sex, addiction, self mutilation, suicide, language

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my absolute favorite book the characters and their stories are unforgettable and heartbreaking.

    This book is amazing. Vanessa, Tony, and Conner are the most complex and deep characters. Vanessa is a cutter, but she doesn't just do it because she is a crazy bipolar girl. She does it because she feels like its the only thing she can do the only thing in her life she can control.Tony's story is the most heartbreaking. Even though he has had a hard life he is still the sweetest guy in the world. Conner is the golden boy. But this book let you know what life is like at home for the golden boy. It shows you just how cruel and cold some parents can be. Conner's mom is the picture of the ice queen she is cold and heartless. When all three of these charter's paths cross is when they are sent to Aspen Springs, a mental institute for kids and teens.They meet and they all become friends. Through each other they learn how to open up their hearts and love. Their stories are real and heartbreaking, but also exciting and full of emotion. At the end of the story an event occurs that leaves you completely shocked. Impulse is definitely Ellen Hopkins best book. She is a very talented author and all her skills are used to create these three amazing charters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    The Perfect Paper Airplane

    Combine a splash of suicide, a tablespoon of mental diseases, and cup of poetry and you get the wonderful, dark novel, Impulse. This book is geared towards young adults though can be thoroughly enjoyed by adults as well. Between the hints of drug use, the attempted suicide, and stories of sexual intercourse this book is unfit for younger readers. Taking the wonder of poetry and intertwining it with the passion of a novel you'll get Ellen Hopkins style of writing. Bringing in the passion of a teenager with the knowledge of an adult you'll find that she can combine skills and story lines to find a true passion.
    Impulse brings us into a world of disorder, a world of confusion; our three main characters find themselves in Aspen Springs, a rehabilitation center for suicidal patients. Each character, having attempted suicide and failed, has no desire to continue living, no will power to push them through. Slowly through therapy and budding friendships they come to the realization that life is worth living, love is worth searching for and that they too can have a desire to live.
    This book simply must be read; it combines internal conflict with mental disorders and thrusts you into a world most people can't even imagine. Vanessa, the main character faces the challenge of a mother catatonic in the hospital, a father in the military and being raised by her grandmother. As she finds herself growing more like her mother she becomes worried. If there's one thing she's learned from her mother it's, you don't want to get lost in the 'blue' days. But these very challenges build her true strength. Her mother's past and her grandmother's love for her helps her to find the determination to push through, the determination to overcome her maniac, bipolar disease. Impulse is based around Vanessa's internal conflict, her dealing with her past, her disease, her learning to love herself, her discovery of love from another. Taking all aspects of this torn girl's life and thrusting them into the forefront of her mind the doctors are able to give her the tools to overcome herself, the question simply is will she do it?
    Impulse has the most beautiful ending. It leaves the reader both satisfied and mystified. It fulfills the reader's need for a happy ending and closure, while still leaving them heartbroken and providing an opening for imagination to continue the story. It doesn't spend chapters slowly explaining how the story ends. It simply leaves you wondering, leaves you with; 'the perfect paper airplane'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love It!

    This book takes things from a important view.I love all the characters in this book,they make the story non-stop readable.In the end I learned from this book.It is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a good book! Probably the best book I've read!

    This book was just so good! You honestly DO NOT want to put it down! The characters are really cool and it's just a GREAT stroy! This book should deff become a movie, it would be an awesome movie! I'd get it on DVD for sure! Lol

    But yeah, just an amazing book and the ending is so intense!
    Great book :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Poetry at its Best.

    Forget how many pages there are, you'll only wanting more. For me, this was the one book I NEEDED in my life. It helped me in a rough patch in my life (woah, kinda cheesy there, huh?). Ellen Hopkins has an amazing talent for capturing feelings into words and fleshing them out through her characters. Her characters aren't cookie-cutter perfect either: they're real. Real with problems, with fears, with EMOTIONS. They grab you by the heartstrings and make you actually CARE for them. If that's not real writing, then I don't know what is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow...

    ...that's really all I can say...
    This book was amazing! All books by Ellen Hopkins are amazing, and so real...
    I love Tony!!!! He's POV was the one I wanted to read more of! lol... Anyway...on a sad note someone um- well I don't want to give it a way but...someone-
    uh!!! I wish I could say but I can't unless I runin the end, and I wouldn't!
    If you want something edgy with a lot of emotion, and a lot of realisim then this book is for you...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A+++

    i absolutely LOVED this book!! it felt so real. you connect with the characters, you feel for them, you laugh, you cry, the whole enchilada. i totally recommend this book to anyone. especially teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh my goodness!

    This book gave me chills through all of the thrilling pages. Every chapter you read gave you the suspicion of what is going to happen next, which made you want to read on to see what happens. I love that. It is an amazing story that leaves you on the edge of yur seat throughout the entire story. And make sure you finish it too, there is something that happes at the end you do not want to miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    An Amazing Book

    This is a remarkable book about the struggles of three teenage kids. Everybody has problems and roadblocks in their lives, but probably not as painful as Tony's, Vanessa¿s, and Connors. They all have to find a way to come together in Aspen Springs and deal with the monsters inside them. Tony is a loving caring person who cheers all his friends up when they are feeling low, but behind his cheerful façade he holds onto dark secrets of drug addiction and sexual abuse. Vanessa is a beautiful girl who also carries something she doesn¿t want anyone to know and that is self mutilation. Connor is a rich, smart, good looking guy who everybody thought had something going for him. Little did everybody know he held a painful secret as well. His secret was his attempt to kill himself and his affair with an older woman.<BR/> Ellen Hopkins really did a good job with writing this book. She was able to create each characters personal struggle into self determination and hope. One minute you are in Tony's world then next you might be in Connors or Vanessa¿s. Each character has a personality and struggle of their own yet Hopkins is able to bring them together to help one another fight their battles. I think the book was very engaging; I couldn¿t put the book down. Each part of her story led to the reasons why each character did what they did. I feel she wrote the book because she wanted people to know that you are not alone with the struggles and conflicts you might face in the world. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to read about deep personal struggles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Impulse, written by Ellen Hopkins is an outstanding novel about life, health, and love. Three teens dwelling on losses try to commit suicide. All three meet when they all end up in a menatl institution called Aspen Springs.Tony,being gay is in denial wether he is or not. Vanessa, a emtional girl who find commfort through cutting herself. And Connor, a impeccable athlete who is heart broken over his teachers fling. The three soon find themselves in an adventure in which they soon question wether they have ever even felt love. The ending is very original and well thought out. I loved how many of there problems helped them understand themselves. I definetly reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 633 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32