Customer Reviews for

In A New World

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Twoleg of the Clans- Chapter 3 (Read Rate & Review :D)

    I groan, lifting my head up from the pillow. My face is caked with snot and tears. Because of the dying orange light coming from outside, I could tell that it was evening. And that I was late for dinner.
    Hastily, I washed my face, and ran downstairs, hoping I wouldn't anger my mother any more than she already was. But what I saw was not what I expected.
    I stopped mid-step as I saw my mother standing at the bottom of the stairs, her mouth curled into a big smile, like a cobra snake taunting you before it striked. I had a dark feeling that that was exactly what my mother was going to do.
    "Honey, I need to talk to you." My mother's voice was as sweet as honey, yet cold as ice. "Come down here, please."
    Trembling, I walked down the stairs. Each step was like walking underwater- it took all of my muscles' strength to advance to the ground. When I had finally reached the bottom, I looked around. Tari was nowhere to be seen. 'What had my mother done to her?'
    "Look here!" my mother snapped, yanking me out of my reverie. "I am very disappointed in you, Caitlyn."
    Chill swept through my body. Did this have to do with looking at that cat? "W-what are you talking about?"
    "I am talking, about THIS," Mom repiled, lifting something up with a snarl. "My husband, your father, gave this hankerchief to me before he went out into the forest, and died. You ruined my only memory of him!"
    I frowned as I looked at the hankerchief. I had never seen it before. In fact, I wasn't even sure if my mom was lying or not- it looked like it was bought several days ago, despite the crayon marks on it.
    I backed up, ready to bolt up the stairs if I needed to. "I swear, Mother, I haven't seen that hankerchief. This is the first time of me looking at it."
    "Likely story," my mother spat in reply.
    I was getting my legs ready for retreat when I heard a familiar voice. "Mommy! Wait!" It was Tari!
    My mother glared at my younger sibling; even though it looked daggers, there was a flicker of worry in them, too. But it was gone before I could confirm that. "Tari! I thought I told you to stay outside."
    Tari looked at my mother. "I was, but I heard you two argruing, so… I came to say that Catie wasn't the one to color on that. I was. I didn't know it was yours." I admired her defiance; I wish she could lend some to me at this moment.
    "No! Stop lying for this despicable little brat!"
    My heart froze. My mother, had just called me a brat. A despicable, little brat. Those words had come from my beloved mother. Tears flowing freely from my eyes, I ran upstairs to my bed, for the second time that day, and wept. I didn't care that my little sister was sobbing, wanting me to come back for her to comfort me.
    I heard my mother say to Tari, "Come on, let's go shopping. Caitlyn can't come. It's part of her punishment." I cringed. We lived in a remote area with no phone, computer, or television; shopping was the only way to get in touch with the real world.
    As I heard the door slam, and the start of a car engine, my only family going on a shopping expedition, without me, I threw myself to the ground, sobbing. 'What have I done to deserve this? Why can't my life just change?'
    I was sobbing so hard, I didn't notice the leaf-green gaze and flash of black fur outside my window.
    I was sobbing so hard, I didn't notice the full moon gently easing the sun out of the sky.
    I was sobbing so hard, I didn't suspect that I wouldn't be in that house when I woke up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Stormblaze's Promise (prt. 3)

    They wont be due right now! *Amberleaf snapped* How can Acorntail handle him?! *she thought* Well they might be born while your gone! *Stormblaze retorted angrily* You have been waiting 6 moons for those kits. *Winterbreeze chimed in* Keep out of this! *Amberleaf snarled at his sister* Shhh. *Furyheart hissed* Maplestar is coming! *Stormblaze gasped* *Maplestar stalked up to the dawn patrol and Amberleaf Wht in the name of Starclan is going on.! *she snarled* Amberleaf rudely interrupted us when- *Stormblaze tried to explain but Maplestar quieted her with a stern look* All of you know better, even kits dont bicker lik a group of geese! *Maplestar said scornfully* I- *Stormblaze again tried to talk but she snapped her mouth shut* Besides, Amberleaf, isn't your kits due today? *Maplestar mewed with her teeth gritted to Amberleaf* Y-yes. *Amberleaf stuttered* Then it would be a real shame if you missed their birth. *Maplestar growled* Ill be with her until after the birth. *Amberleaf mewed and scampered to the nursery, tail down and shot a glare at Stormblaze* Now go on dawn patrol. *Maplestar mewed* Lets go everyone. *Stormblaze mewed to her patrol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    To twoleg of the clans and below me

    Totally. Evil, insane mother. Great tory, hough. No on can den that :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    To twoleg of the clans

    I love it, but that mom is EVIL >:^[

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    The Virus:Chapter 1(Continued)

    We stop in front of the door, and Jacob says something into the walkie talkie before it opens. We pull our bikes inside, and my dad's friend Joseph makes sure to drag a fallen Shell around to cover the scent of the living. We've been doing it for a while, and it's worked so far. Joseph then ushers us into the police station, shutting the door and locking it. "They're getting closer everyday," Jacob murmurs to Joseph. I narrow my eyes, knowing he doesn't want me included in the conversation. I'm only a year and a half younger than him. He's 16 and l'm 15. Joseph nods in agreement. "Um, April, can you get me a rag? I got some of the Shell's blood on my hands," Joseph asks, clearly trying to get rid of me. "Fine," l mutter before passing by them, bumping against Jacob roughly. I hear him sigh behind me as l make my way around all the tables stocked with supplies, such as canned food, ammunition, wood, and first aid kits. I go to one of the tables holding clothing and rags, towels, and a pair of shoes. I grab a green rag and hurry back to Joseph, only to find him in the office talking to Jacob. M curiousity causes me to slink to the door and bend down, pressing my ear against it. "-don't want you to have me take her to the field." That's Jacob. "Why should l make an exception for her, Jacob? You know that plently of other people want the same, but l can't. We need supplies, and everybody needs to work so we can survive," Joseph says wearily. "But if we lose her, we lose the possible-" Jacob begins, but l accidentally bump the door. I stand up quickly and step back. I'm just in time, because the door opens. "I got your rag," l say in explanation, holding it out to Joseph. "Oh, er, thank you," he says quickly, taking it from me. He starts to turn, but l stop him. Jacob glances at me anxiously. "Is my dad coming back yet?" I ask. They both look at each other worriedly. "April, we told you. We haven't heard from him in a while," Joseph says slowly. "And? How come nobody has gone out to find him? I asked three weeks ago!" I say angrily, clenching my fists. "Your father wouldn't want us jeopardizing more lives to get him," Joseph says. "I can't send anybody out." I glower at him. "You promised!" I say, my voice starting to get lounder. The other people in the station peek over to see what's going on. "I did, but l have to break that promise," Joseph says in an effort to soothe me. With an angry screech, l lunge for him. Jacob intercepts, grabbing my arms and holding them behind my back. "You don't care! You never have! You want him gone so you can be in charge!" I yell, squirming. I step on Jacob's foot, and then he lessens his grip slughtky. I yank my head back, hitting his face. He finally lets go and l dash out, throwing open the front door and streaking away, tears streaming down my face. "He's probably dead, be ause of Joseph. The cowardly man! I'll kill him!" I say, clen clinching my fists and falling to my knees. I bury my head in my hands, knowing that l may truly be the last Lewis in the world. I stand back up, not wanting to go back but not wanting to stay in the open, where Shells can reach me. I dash for an oak tree in what was once someone's yard, and l pull myself up the tree, climbing until l am hidden by leaves. I curl up, wrapping my arms around the branch to keep myself up. I close my eyes tightly, a few tears squeezing out and falling to the ground below. "I wish none of this ever happened," l whisper. I then black out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Dauntless

    Chapter 3
    I had layed in my bed, staring at the ceiling, for a long time. Finally, I hear my mother's breathing slow across the hall, in her bedroom. I slip out of bed, and grab some clothes. A swamp green tank top, the same black jeans from yesterday, and my leather boots. I open the window and swing out, landing on the crunchy leaves. I turn, reach in my window, and pull out a bow and sheath of arrows from where they rest below my window. I sling the sheath over my shoulder, feel it rest on my back, and run across the cobbled street in the direction of Finnick's house.
    When I get there, I peer into his window. The wind howls, blowing my still braided hair. I see a shadow moving in the hall. Jay! I duck under the window, hiding in the thicket of ferns. I hear a sigh. "No wonder I'm so cold." Jay mutters, closing the window with a deafening crack. I wait for a while, then chance a peek in the window. Finnick is sitting on his bed, looking nervous. I tap on the window. He looks over and sees me, then comes and opens the window, climbing out to join me. I close the window, and again it makes a loud bang.
    "Run!" Finnick whispers, then bolts towards the street. I sprint after him, hearing the window open. We finally reach the square, and stop at the door to the sign-up building. Panting, we open the door and stumble inside.
    "A little late to be signing up." A woman behind a counter comments. "What are your names?" She watches us with piercing brown eyes. Her orange hair is impossibly long, and it tumbles over one shoulder.
    "I'm....Terran Rinzer." I manage between pants.
    "Finnick Coasta." Finnick gasps.
    "Hm. My daughter ran here, too....Terran!? Oh, my..." the woman murmurs. Then I realize. It's my friend, Kara Everly's mother!
    "Don't tell our mothers." I say, sounding commanding.
    "Oh, I won't have to." The woman replies. "They'll know when you're not home by nightfall."
    I feel relief. But Mrs. Everly will surely join Jay and my mother, and the three women will grieve their lost children. 'Lark won't be so alone.' I tell myself. But I know that it's a lie.
    "Okay, you two. You'll be sent to the Base immediately, along with some other recruits. Kara among them." Her brown eyes are filled with tears, and she swallows hard. "Down that hall, the door on the left." She directs. We turn to head that way.
    "Be careful." Mrs. Everly calls after us. And I realize how many teenagers she must've seen walking through those doors. So many teens leaving their families to go chasing things they'll never find.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    IMPORTANT

    Go to true story result one to read a true story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    TERROR STREET SERIES CHAPTER THREE (READ)

    CHAPTER THREE IS COMING SUNDAY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Coc

    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Wow....

    Rushfeather's story is awesome!!! Five stars!!!! -Snowy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Rushfeathers story

    Ashfern and her sister, Leopardsplash, padded along the Thornclan and streamclan border. Leopardsplash was almost invisible, her beautiful tawny and black coat glossy but still blending with the dappled shadows of the forest. Ashfern sented a mouse and without telling her sister, slunk into a graceful hunters crouch. She leaped at the tiny gray creature nibbling at a nut, and landed squarely in it, killing the mouse with a swift bite to its throat. Leopardsplash turned around and saw the plump mouse. "Nice catch," she meowed. Ashfern purred in affection and nosed her sisters shoulder. "Thanks." She glanced at the sun, which was sinking in the sky and turning everything a brilliant shade of red gold. "Do you want to watch the sunset on the cliff?" Ashfern looked eagerly at her sister. "Come on," she purred. "Of course i want to!" Leopardsplash nudged her sister gently. The two she cats padded upp through the bushes and thorns, past a stream were they stopped for a drink, and finally onto the edge of a cliff. It was magnificent. The sun was now casting a reddish orange glow on everythibg, a perfect shade of natures beauty. Ashfern gasped, captivated. Leopardsplashs fur was now a russet color, and ashferns pale gray coat was amber. There were no words to be said, so the two sisters watched the sunset with awe. After countless hours, minutes ,it could have even been years, they got up,not wanting to be late for the Gathering. When the two she cats got to the main camp, the deputy, Blazefur the deputy told them they would be at the gathering, and they shoukd get some rest. Ashfern was pretty content after watching the sunset with her sister, but she sensed something was going to go wrong at the gathering. She knew she sounded prettu much madder than a hare, but there was something...different. She and leopardsplash had run into a Stormclan patrol today, and they acted like the Thornclan warriors didnt exist. When the round full moon was glowing full and bright and silver in the starlit sky, the three clans joined at the island in the middle of streamclans lake. It was a clear lake that reflected the moon. Ashfern followed her mother, tawnysky, up the slope and across the river. Leopardsplash followed behind Darkstar. Every cat quieted as the late clan, thornclan, came. Darkstar leaped onto a ledge and looked at the other clan leaders to see who would report first. Galestar of Stmclan stepped forward. In a clear, smooth voice, she began. "Ilour clan is doing eell, but im going to get to the botom of this adress the problem insteadof blabing on and on about our prey shortages or the twolegs taking over or whaever. Our real problem is...we are letting in too many cats without clan blood. If we let jyst any cats in, they will probably be weaker than cats with clan blood. And even if they are strong, their kins blood will be tainted with kittypet or rogue blood and tha will weaken us. Break our code. So my clan and i propose that we throw kittypet warrirs out of the clans. Do this, and you may survive. But if we dont get rid of them we will all die." There were shocked gasps from th assembled cats. They exchanged looks and stred at the skhy to see if starclan approved or disapproved of the clan leaders actions. The clouds slightly covered the moon. Bjust a but. Not too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Dragonclans story part 4.

    Shadowflight Haypaw Dragonflywing and Honeypaw returned from hunting with a rabbit and 2 squirrels. Haypaw had caught a vole but they gave it to TreeClan. It had been a half-moon since Pinestars plea for help and now out of every hunting patrol run,1 peice of prey was given to TreeClan. They dropped theirr kill on the fresh-kill pile. There was no need to bring it to Featherflight or Windwhisper since both had eaten well that morning and wouldnt need food for a while. Featheflight had had her kits. Streakkit the oldest was black tom with brown streaks and black eyes and Whitekit was a white she-cat with yellow eyes. Their eyes would open in just another 7days. Dragonstar looked down proudly from the Dragonstone. His clan was growing steadily and what he was about to do symbolized this. "Let all cats old enough to understand the Warrior Code gather beneath the Dragonstone for a clan meeting." Soon everyone was there. Even Windwhisper came out of her den. "I think its high time," Dragonstar said. "That 2 aprentices become warriors. Dragonflywing has Honeypaw trained hard to understand the Warrior Code and understands it?" Dragonflywing replied. "Yes Dragonstar." He turned to Shadowflight. "Shadowflight has Haypaw worked hard to understand the Warrior Code and understands it?" Shadowflight mewed steadily. "Yes Dragonstar." "Then i call upon my warrior ancesters to look down upon these aprentices. They have trained hard to understand your noble code and understand it well. Haypaw from now on your warrior name will be Hayfur. StarClan honors your bravery and courage. Honeypaw from now your name will be Honeyheart. StarClan honors your determanation and prudence." He touched noses with both warriors and then jumped back onto the Dragonstone and said. "Clan dissmissed."
    By Lilyfang
    Wont write a new story for a few days summer camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Join stormclan

    Storm tide all resulta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    The Silver One, chapter 2, part one

    Silverpaw stared in shock at her brother lying on the ground. Her mother, Iceglow pushed her way out of the warriors den and ran to Eaglepaw. "Eaglepaw!" She shrieked. Silverpaw snapped into action and ra to the medicine den. "Firefern!" She called. Firefern poked her head from the storage. "What is it?!?" "Eaglepaw is hurt!" Firefern nodded and they grabbed cobwebs, marigold, poppy seeds, thyme and moss. They ran into the earing, where Silverpaw's dad, Stormwind, the deputy was comforting Icewing with his gray spotted tail around her white shoulders. He pointed his tail urgently towards Eaglepaw and the medicine cats ran over. Silverpaw rubbed thyme on his lips, hoping he would lick them and take them. Firefern made a poulice of marigold and cobwebs. Meanwhile, Coalstar was gathering a patrol. "Silverpaw!" He called. "Go help with the injuries!" Silverpaw nodded and ran off with Sparrowwing, Cherryblossom and Fernsnow. Ugh. Fernsnow. She thought as they raced through the trees. Fernsnow was an old warrior, grumpy and almost an elder. Sparrowwing and Cherryblossom however were fairly young warriors, as well as close sisters. They raced through the forest in silence and met up with Eaglepaws patrol. There wasonly one cat left from his patrol. It was Bluewing, the blue-furred Thunderclan warrior. She panted, licking her wounds. "They just dissapeared!" She gasped. The three new cats looked around warily. Suddenly, the bushes rustled. Seven Shadowclan warriors appeared, ranked by four more warriors and their four apprentices. A wily black apprentice stepped foward. "You're going down!" She exclaimed. "Riverpaw!" Her mentor, a pale brown tabby shecat snapped. "Get back here!" "Yes Nightglade." Riverpaw mumbled and stomped back. Another gray and white shecat snickered. "Be quiet Shadlwpaw!" Riverpaw hissed. A brown and cream tom smacked their heads. It was Creamytail, the deputy of Shadowclan. "Shut up!" He yowled. While they were distracted, Fersnow leaned into silverpaw. "Get backup!" She hissed. Silverpaw nodded and sneaked away. "After her!" Someone yowled and the clearing exploded into fighting. Silverpaw raced through the forest, three cats following her. She raced next to a tree, then swerved behind it. The first cat following her hit it and fell to the grund, tangled in brambles. The next advanced on her, growling. She ducked under his swiping paws and tripped him, then dug her claws into his pelt. He ran away, squealing in pain. As theast one came towards her, she was ready. She grabbed a rock and smashed it on his head, and he fell unconcious.

    End of Chapter 2, part one!
    Rate and review, next chapter in next results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great

    Poppyleafs story is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great Clans part 1

    Shocked, whitenosd scrambled away from his brother,wildtooth, who was laying on the ground. Softfeather and Grassfang shook there heads sadly. "Im sorry Whitenose. Wildtooth is gone." The medicine cat Darktail meowed and nodded. The elders Honeyfur and Quailheart appeard out as well as the SkyClan leader, Applestar. Distraught, Whitenose watched as Applestar approuched Darktail. "Another death? But WildTooth was only a new warrior! How could this be...." Whitenose turned away as his sister Featherfur and his father Flystorm tried to confort him. As he turned he saw Fawnfire and Brightnose crying nearby. His mom, Zebrastripe, was in the nursery. Crying her eyes out. The last three deaths were Brokenfrost, Raindrop, and Pooltail. Why is so many dying? Thanks for listening. The next will be at the fifth result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Afer the War chapter three Read 'n Rate

    The stench of ShadowClan dissapeared as Dovewing trugged back to camp. Flowers lighted up the dark undergrowth. A mouse sat nearby, nibbling on a seed. Her shoulder burned like fire. Lionblaze didn't know that. He would have brought the whole atrol home along with them. She knew she could never catch that mouse. It looked around and fled at the sight of her. Dovewing knew that new-leaf was when prey was running. Still Dovewing has her doubts about it being easy. *** "stay still. It will sting but not a lot if you stay still" Jayfeather meowed. Dovewing looked around the Medicie den. It smelled of sweet herbs and berries. Jayfeather was walking to get a marigold. A small kit ran in. "Dewkit has yet another thron in her paw" she called. It was Amberkit. Jayfeather looked out and sighed, "Tell Dewkit to stay farther from the barrier". Amberkit looked confused. "Lilykit was the one that gets caugh in the barrier." Amberkt reminded him. Jayfeathe hissed annoyed. "Cherrypaw! That apprentice always gets thorns everywhere. Cinderheart and Graystripe were just here about trending on thorns in camp" he hissed. "I'll tell Cherrypaw about it" Dovewing offered. She knew what he would say. "Once I'm done-". "That ShadowClan! They tried to take our territory" Lionblaz growled louder then needed. Jayfeater once me sighed and set to work on Dovewing's shoulder. "No patrols until I say so" he meowed flatly. Dovewing got up and padded out. "OW" a voice yelped. It was Purdy. The elder limped over to the Medicine cat den. Dovewing sighed and grabbed a mouse. She saw Lionblaze glaring at her. He will never know...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Crow

    Hi peepkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Nova

    Its ok im a different nova. im not the evil one from dawnclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Peepkit

    Peepkit grabs her toys and 'entees the wardrobe'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2