BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Bed with a Stranger

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    First time reader

    This was my first novel by Mary wine and i definetly enjoyed the twists and turns with the characters plights. Wish there were more sex scenes. But, she gave you a real perspective of how romance could develope in those times. will buy more of her novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In Bed With A Stranger - A Must Read

    From Back: Brodick McJames is an earl in name only. To secure his clan's future he needs an English wife. Mary Stanford, daughter of the Earl of Warwickshire, will suit perfectly. He's never met her, but what matter? She'll grace his bed eventually, and once she bears his child he need see her no more. Anne Cooper resembles her noble half sister, but was born illegitimate, and can never forget it. The best she can hope for is to stay a serving girl in her own father's house. But when Lady Mary finds herself betrothed to a Scot, it seems there's a use for Anne after all... The woman who arrives in Alcaon is not what Brodick expects, and the passion that grows between them promises far more than a marriage of convenience. When fate draws two together, it may take more than a noblewoman's plot to part them...

    This was a great book! I loved all the characters, even those of the evil Countess of Warwickshire and Mary. I have to say the Earl of Warwickshire really had the balls to keep his mistress in the same house as his wife. This is was a plot that I've seen over and over again, but Ms Wine did an excellent job with. Sexually explicit but will done. I would highly recommend this book for anyone to read. I hope Ms. Wine has a series planned, because most of the characters deserve a book of their own

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    Brodick McJames needs an English wife. Living in Scotland on land that borders the Earl of Warwickshire's property, Brodick secures the Earl's daughter as his bride and they are married by proxy. Arriving to retrieve his wife and take her to his home, Brodick is surprised by her lack of English airs and the fact that she isn't complaining. He is further surprised by her passionate responses to him. Maybe this marriage won't be so bad after all.

    Anne Copper is the illegitimate daughter of the Earl of Warwickshire. Her sire is not around very often due to courtly business so when he is gone, Anne's status is relegated to that of a servant in her own home. Her father's wife is vindictive and abusive, and the fact that Anne resembles her half sister infuriates her to the point of madness.

    It is during one such episode when her father is gone that the news of his contracting a marriage for his legitimate daughter is announced. Anne's half sister is distraught, and so is her mother - that's when the cruel woman comes up with a plan to save her daughter and sacrifice her husband's by-blow. Anne is to travel as Brodick's wife and become pregnant. If she doesn't, her father's wife will turn her mother out of the castle with nothing but the clothes on her back. Anne refuses to allow her mother to be cast aside and so agrees to this plan. After all, how hard will it be to play at being a wife in a marriage of convenience, right?

    IN BED WITH A STRANGER is the epitome of why historical romances are my favorite genre to read. Mary Wine has thoroughly captured the Scottish way of life in such a way that I can picture the scenes in my mind. Scottish warriors abound, and Brodick McJames should have been nicknamed, "Brodick McDreamy." His treatment of Anne was honest and, while not timid, he definitely took his time to make her feel every single facet of their love making. He treated her as if he cherished her, even knowing that something was not the way it should be. He showed her unconditional respect and love. Anne never expected to be treated so honorably by her `husband' and fought her feelings for him as hard as she could. Brodick was just too enticing and Anne adored him. The situation with her deception weighed heavily on Anne's mind, not because she was deceiving her husband but because she was lying to the man she loved more than anything.

    Scottish highlands, kilts, rugged and virile warriors - there is nothing about IN BED WITH A STRANGER that I didn't like. Just to be sure, I went back and read it a second time. Mary Wine's first Brava release is sure to be a hit - I highly recommend IN BED WITH A STRANGER. It is simply extraordinary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    With homage to Cinderella, Mary Wine provides a wonderful early seventeenth century romance

    In 1602, twenty-four years old Anne Cooper is the daughter of the Earl of Warwickshire, but born on the wrong side of the sheets. She lives with the family, but is treated no better than a servant by his wife Philipa and daughter Mary at Warwick Castle. -----------

    In Scotland, Brodick McJames worries about his clan collapsing so to prevent that he needs a special wife, a daughter of a powerful England lord. He chooses Mary sight unseen as the offspring of an Earl, but the spoiled woman rejects being married to a barbarian. Instead she orders her half sister Anne to pretend to be Mary and marry the brute. Anne arrives at Broderick's home Alcaon and quickly becomes a favorite of his clan with her kind ways. She and the laird are attracted to one another from the onset; and she proves a worthy partner. When the Warwickshire females realize Anne's switch they vow to kill Brodrick's wife and replace her with Mary.-----------

    With homage to Cinderella, Mary Wine provides a wonderful early seventeenth century romance starring two likable caring lead protagonists and two avarice merciless villainesses. Fans will root for Anne while hissing at the legitimate Warwick females whose odious antics make for a strong tale.--------------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Do you wsnt to survive?

    Join blazeclan if you want. We are a huge clan at glc first result. Your leader is right , this clan will fail if you dont get any more people so if you want to ,we strongly urge you to join blazeclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Can i join?

    Can i join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Nightmare

    What clan is this again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Redscar

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Frostfur

    Her belly looked swollen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    <>

    <>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Firepelt

    Eats hemlock and falls to the ground. Sorry but this clan is inactive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Dreampaw

    I have to go. Bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Icepaw

    Icepaw was still sleeping next to Galepaw...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Can i join

    Name enderheart
    Pelt color jet black
    Eye color blue
    And great hunter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Blackfoot

    Yawned

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Bramblepelt

    Why did you start a seperate Clan also wouldn't you name be Fiercestar aince you are the leader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Fiercestar

    Need more advertising or the clan will die please advertise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Such a romantic story! Handsome brave hero! Yum yum! In love from beginning with heroine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    WOW!!! BEST READ EVER!!!!!

    Love MW's writing!!! Loved the main characters. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Great historical.

    I would recommend this series. It kept my attention and it is very easy for me to lost interest in a book. I do like this series and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3