Customer Reviews for

In Bed with a Highlander (McCabe Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous start to a new series - Must read!

Maya Banks has done it again!! This is a fabulous start to a brand new series from this talented author. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end and can't wait for the next installments to release, thank goodness that is back to back in Sept. & October or I may have ...
Maya Banks has done it again!! This is a fabulous start to a brand new series from this talented author. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end and can't wait for the next installments to release, thank goodness that is back to back in Sept. & October or I may have gone scooters having to wait. One of the things I like most about Maya Banks writing is that she doesn't spend 20 pages explaining one setting or one event drawing it out to the point my eyes glaze over. She keeps a good pace with good dialogue which in turn keeps me entranced until I realize I've read the entire book.
This book is Ewan McCabe & Mairin Stuart's story. He is Laird, eldest of the 3 McCabe brothers and a fierce warrior. She is the illegitimate daughter of the king who's been in hiding since she was a mere child. They are ultimately brought together by his son Crispen (who you just have to love) and initially wed to gain her dowry and lands. As she finds her footing and place within the McCabe clan she frequently causes a ruckus and disobeys her husband. It proves to be quite humorous as she has the habit of speaking out loud the thoughts in her head. Avoiding a ton of spoilers and in turn outlining the entire book I will leave off saying that this is a worthy read that will leave you wanting more!

**I would like to thank Maya Banks for this Advance Reader's Copy it has been a pleasure to read and would happily do so anytime in the future**

posted by cinful1121 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I already own this book- written by Julie Garwood!

As I read this book, I kept thinking I had read it before. I had- it's called The Bride by Julie Garwood. Almost everything was the same- though the details that Ms.Garwood wrote about were charming, actually were pretty flat in this book. There were a few difference...
As I read this book, I kept thinking I had read it before. I had- it's called The Bride by Julie Garwood. Almost everything was the same- though the details that Ms.Garwood wrote about were charming, actually were pretty flat in this book. There were a few differences, but not enough to matter. Save your money, and buy The Bride instead.

posted by BubblesBaubles on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous start to a new series - Must read!

    Maya Banks has done it again!! This is a fabulous start to a brand new series from this talented author. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end and can't wait for the next installments to release, thank goodness that is back to back in Sept. & October or I may have gone scooters having to wait. One of the things I like most about Maya Banks writing is that she doesn't spend 20 pages explaining one setting or one event drawing it out to the point my eyes glaze over. She keeps a good pace with good dialogue which in turn keeps me entranced until I realize I've read the entire book.
    This book is Ewan McCabe & Mairin Stuart's story. He is Laird, eldest of the 3 McCabe brothers and a fierce warrior. She is the illegitimate daughter of the king who's been in hiding since she was a mere child. They are ultimately brought together by his son Crispen (who you just have to love) and initially wed to gain her dowry and lands. As she finds her footing and place within the McCabe clan she frequently causes a ruckus and disobeys her husband. It proves to be quite humorous as she has the habit of speaking out loud the thoughts in her head. Avoiding a ton of spoilers and in turn outlining the entire book I will leave off saying that this is a worthy read that will leave you wanting more!

    **I would like to thank Maya Banks for this Advance Reader's Copy it has been a pleasure to read and would happily do so anytime in the future**

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I am a voracious reader who enjoys romance books and this one was hard to put down.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Love it!

    This is a great start and paved the way for rest of the series. Steamy sex scene but they're newly married and experimenting, perfectly normal.
    The author's pacing is good and fast, kept to the plot of the story, not overly describing stuffs like furniture, clothes or tapestries. You cannot skipped a paragraph.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    LOVED it!!

    In Bed With A Highlander kicks off a new series for Maya Banks ~ and her first foray into Historical Scottish romance.


    The heroine, Mairin Stuart, is the illegitimate daughter of King David ~ who is now dead, widely thought to have no heirs. Mairin has been secreted away in an abbey for most of her life to help keep this deep secret ~ but there are some who know of her, and search for her. When she is kidnapped from the Abbey in an attempt to score her hand in marriage, and in doing so secure an heir & her dowry, Mairin fights from the second she's taken ~ and plots her escape. But when a small child is found trying to steal a horse from her captors, she quickly puts his safety and welfare before that of her own...


    Ewan McCabe, the oldest of three McCabe Highlanders, searches for his missing son, Crispin ~ he's vowed revenge on anyone who would harm his child, and is frantic to find his son alive. When his brother brings back not only his son, but a woman as well, and they are both closed mouth about who she is and how they came to be together, it's Ewan's job to find out the truth ~ and the fact that Mairin's secrets can be only a boon to his clan, who has suffered from an attack years ago, can only be a good thing...


    I adored this book ~ I'm such a fan of Highlanders any time, but Maya truly brings to life the characters, the life they led by necessity ~ Ewan decides on Mairin first because it will benefit his clan, and second because she is great with his son ~ putting himself and his needs last. Yes, he's attracted to her, and the story is a treasure to see them get to know one another, and fall for one another, but you really 'feel' the sense of what came first in Ewan's life.


    The sex scenes are smokin' hot, the characters leap off the page, and the love story will make your heart twist and swell ~ I've really come to expect all these from Maya Banks, but was truly thrilled to get that added...SOMETHING that up to this point I get when I read only a hand full of authors, and I can only say this book made me think over and over of how thrilled I was to find someone else who can write historicals like Julie Garwood.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great historical romance! Dearest: Ewan, You┬┐re hot. I love y

    A great historical romance!

    Dearest: Ewan, You’re hot. I love your scowl. And I love how your yell a lot. Oh, and I am completely ok with the way you kiss.
    This book was a something I can’t seem to find words to describe. I expected more fight scene, but there was barely any which threw me off a bit. But, there was so much else. There was romance, fighting, brutality, heart felt moments were I was on the brim of crying, moments that I laughed out loud, moments that I thought my knees were going to buckle, sadness, awesome brothers, stubborn women, treason, attempted murders, and so many other things that keep you holding onto the book for dear life. I didn’t expect to be so captivated by this novel, but I was. And there was enough romance, and enough story line that I didn’t feel like the romance was taking over. And the humour…there wasn’t a lot of it, but I loved every moment that Ewan laughed or made a comment. I loved the way people looked at Mairin like she was completely crazy when she stood up to people and refused to take orders. I love that when Ewan bellows at her to go back inside where its safe she sticks out her tongue at him and he laughs. I guess I really enjoyed their relationship together. Then you throw in his son Crispen and I’m balling like a new baby. I like this series so much that I’ve already got my hands on another copy.
    Good:
    Ewan—Sexy, kisses with tongue (oh, no!) stubborn, determined, protective, loving, manly. That all can be summed up with Mmmmmm….
    Mairin—willing to stick up for people and do what is right. You fight to be treated equally and with respect. Overall…you are feisty and I like it.
    Alaric and Caelen—Awesome brothers who are devoted to their clan and their family.
    Bad:
    I honestly thought there would be more fighting. I expected some full on war but there was maybe a page for a battle scene. I wanted to see those boys in action.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall this series was definitely one that I will be continuing. The writing was very well done, the romance felt, the teary moments made me cry, and my heart occasionally felt like it was going to jump out of my chest for joy, sadness and any other emotion you could think of. The characters may have fit the mould we came to expect but there were still moments that surprised me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

    One of my favorite series by Maya Banks is the KGI series and i anxiously await the next of that series.....so since i patiently await that one i figured i would try the McCabe trilogy. And all i can say is that i fell in love with the whole McCabe clan! The stories are well told and my eyes hurt from reading books 1&2 between yesterday and today but i could not put the books down.....now i anxioulsy await Cailen's story. Definitely books worth reading;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG Maya Banks Does It Again!!!

    I always love Maya Banks ,but this one was a great one I laughted my butt off, even cried a time or two. I got angry with the heroin and just had a good time ! Cant wait for the brothers books! Also read Julie Garwood- Saving Grace, the Bride ,the Wedding if u like the book u will love these as well Great Job Ms. Banks keep them coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    love

    loved the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Read this series!!

    This book is funny, sweet, a little frustrating(in a good way) at times but oh so wonderfully romantic. Sigh, if only I could find my husband a kilt.... Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Yummy

    Want me some highlander

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Love it!

    Excellent author! I didn't know if I would like this series as much as her others but i ADORED this series and highly recommend reading all of the books. I laughed, cried, and really "felt" this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    LC

    Pervs. <p> -Lookout Cat-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Sasha

    She arced her back as she felt an org.asm coming and she screamed in pleasure as she cu.mmed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Unique story wonderfully told!

    Maya Banks does it yet again! As usual its a great read with humor and heart! Couldnt put it down until every last page was gone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Aye the book is a sensual page turner.

    Never read a Highlander romance - I AM HOOKED. The book is funny, romantic, and very descriptive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Much enjoyed

    This was a delightful read. I cannot wait for the next installment. Love the humor and the characters are very engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The best one ever

    Great one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Awesome

    I couldn't put this down. This is one of those best of the best romance novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    To below

    I am not on my period i just want to have a guy i'm despret for one will you go with ne ugg i am stil a virgin but i know how to suck love kyra forgette look fr me on facebook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Can't wait to read the next 2 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14