Customer Reviews for

In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and Its Consequences

Average Rating 4
( 586 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Haunting

I have given this title five stars because the five stars represent an 'outstanding' work. In Cold Blood is certainly that an outstanding work. However, there was little to enjoy but the style, the pure ease at which this tale stretches its legs in your imagination a...
I have given this title five stars because the five stars represent an 'outstanding' work. In Cold Blood is certainly that an outstanding work. However, there was little to enjoy but the style, the pure ease at which this tale stretches its legs in your imagination and makes itself at home...A little too at home. I am haunted by this, Mr. Capote's masterpiece. The sheer omniscience which Mr. Capote achieved through so many hours, days, months, years of research bring to the page the godlike perspective one expects from a well crafted work of fiction. While I have heard from some sources that this work was embellished, I am hard pressed to believe that the core tale is any way affected by fabrications. Reader beware you shall know know both slayer and slain. And, if in the end you put this down untouched, unmoved, unshaken, I hope to God that you just didn't understand it. Consider this review both a reccomendation, and a warning.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Too 'Cluttered' For This Reader

Having never read anything by Truman Capote and after seeing the Oscar-nominated 'Capote,' I was inspired to pick up (finally) IN COLD BLOOD. I was a bit annoyed by Capote's personality in the movie and realized that I could have never stood to be in the same room with ...
Having never read anything by Truman Capote and after seeing the Oscar-nominated 'Capote,' I was inspired to pick up (finally) IN COLD BLOOD. I was a bit annoyed by Capote's personality in the movie and realized that I could have never stood to be in the same room with him because his self-love would have drive me crazy. I didn't let that stop me from purchasing the book, though, as I had heard good things about his writing and his 'masterpiece.' I've often been disappointed by books, but finished them to completion for the sake of not jumping to conclusions. Unfortunately, this is one book that I had to stop halfway through because, again, Capote's personality seemed to be shining through and I was getting annoyed. I know I'm going against the grain of many critics, educators, and readers alike, but I was not enjoying one bit of my reading experience. I found his writing to be the rambling of a man who couldn't keep one consistent thought going (perhaps it was the alcohol?). It was like reading a stream of consciousness that wasn't going anywhere. His thoughts jumped from past to present and back again without any cohesiveness. Halfway through the book, I was still unfamiliar with the 'characters' and much of their personalities. If it gets better in the second half of the book, I'll never know. Go ahead...give me a poor rating for my review. Just giving my opinion as a reader of many quality classic and modern books.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Too 'Cluttered' For This Reader

    Having never read anything by Truman Capote and after seeing the Oscar-nominated 'Capote,' I was inspired to pick up (finally) IN COLD BLOOD. I was a bit annoyed by Capote's personality in the movie and realized that I could have never stood to be in the same room with him because his self-love would have drive me crazy. I didn't let that stop me from purchasing the book, though, as I had heard good things about his writing and his 'masterpiece.' I've often been disappointed by books, but finished them to completion for the sake of not jumping to conclusions. Unfortunately, this is one book that I had to stop halfway through because, again, Capote's personality seemed to be shining through and I was getting annoyed. I know I'm going against the grain of many critics, educators, and readers alike, but I was not enjoying one bit of my reading experience. I found his writing to be the rambling of a man who couldn't keep one consistent thought going (perhaps it was the alcohol?). It was like reading a stream of consciousness that wasn't going anywhere. His thoughts jumped from past to present and back again without any cohesiveness. Halfway through the book, I was still unfamiliar with the 'characters' and much of their personalities. If it gets better in the second half of the book, I'll never know. Go ahead...give me a poor rating for my review. Just giving my opinion as a reader of many quality classic and modern books.

    31 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    COLD BLOODED!

    IN COLD BLOOD By TRUMAN CAPOTE Are you the type of reader that likes to put puzzles together? Well look no further because this book will make you feel like your trying to solve the case all by yourself. This book has a lot of good action, suspense, and mystery to sink your teeth into. Truman Capote delivers great detailed descriptions of everything so you don¿t miss one bit of the setting, plot or characters. The main characters in the story are the Clutter family, which includes Herbert (dad) Bonnie (mom) Nancy (daughter) and Kenyon (son). The Clutter families are a well-known farmer family with bright kids like Nancy a straight A student and leader of many clubs and Kenyon who is very fond of machinery and carpentry. The family overall is a well-known wealthy family and rarely has enemies. The character that caught my attention would have to Herbert because Herbert begins to have strange feelings about the days to come and begins to plan life insurances just in case. Herbert is a hard worker and always has things on time and ready for anything. But what he isn¿t ready for is still yet to come to his home in Holcomb Kansas. On the other side of Kansas are men named Perry Smith and Dick Hickock. These men have been criminals for a while always in and out of jail and almost always wanted for something. One day they decide to take a long road trip. They take very long days just driving across the state playing guitar, singing and more driving. The Clutters are still living life and unaware of what might be coming to them. They¿ve got no idea death is on it¿s way. One morning Mr. Clutter gets up, as usual, to start the day. He eats an apple because according to him ¿its perfect apple eating weather.¿ One of Mr. Clutter¿s workers approaches Mr. Clutter and tells him that his wife is sick and asks for the day off. Mr. Clutter agrees to relieve him for the day. A couple hours later the Clutter dog comes running out of the house towards the direction of where the road is. Also where a parked car is. The dog has a strange history of which when it sees a gun it tucks its tail and gets away. Mr. Clutter approaches the two men, which apparently were armed with a rifle and a knife. This as you might know already is a major clue. That night in Kansas, a cool still silent night, four shots rang out through the air that meant someone¿s life had just ended. The next morning as usual one of Nancy¿s friends comes to get Nancy to go to school together. No one answered and she began to worry so she went to the neighbors to see if they knew anything. The neighbor didn¿t know as well and they both went back to the house together to find their bodies on the floor. There aren¿t may suspects in the story except for Nancy¿s boyfriend Bobby who was with the family the night before. He is not freed until he passes a lie detector test. The people of Holcomb begin to come up with theories of how they may have been murdered. A jail inmate hears about the murders and tells the authority who it may be. All the clues add up and the Feds begin to track down the killers. The agents caught the men and the two were sent to death. I personally did not find this read amusing because I thought the author spent too much time explaining every little detail of the setting. I think this would be a great read for anyone who likes mystery and detective books. I do think that that the plot was rather complicated. I would not recommend this book for certain types of readers.

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Dull

    I found this book to be boring to an extent that I wanted to read no more. The author spends, in my opinion, too much time on things that don't really need to included. The beginning starts slowly with a description of the setting and characters that seems to stretch on and on. The middle, too, is full of describing one character in particular for an annoying amount of time. The end stretches on with nothing that really need to be said included. All and all it was a pretty dull book.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    I don't recommend this at all

    Truman Capote is the kind of writer who likes to mention every boring detail. I personally feel this book could be shortened down to a quarter of its length and still get the same point across. The writing is so dry I really did not enjoy reading it. I had it as a school assignment and dreaded reading every chapter. It was overall just boring and tedious. If you enjoy reading slow paced very detailed books you will love this. I prefer entertaining and exciting books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Long and Plain

    In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote is a well written book describing the gruesome killing of a family, the Clutters. Dick and Perry hearing the Clutters are a wealthy family, and decide they are going to try and rob the Clutters. To Dick and Perrys surprise Mr.Clutter in fact had very little money in his house, not wanting to leave any witnesses Dick and Perry decide to carry out an atrocity that would haunt this small town in Kansas for years to come. The towns people are in awe, they have never witnessed something like this before. Thinking it was someone they know the whole town gets suspicious of each other and their is an un-easy tention. The case seemed almost lost with very little evidence until an old prison mate of Dick's reported to the cops of what he knew, thus leading to the arrest of these Cold Blooded Killers. Truman Capote does a well job writing this book, but lacks interest. This book at most parts is extremely plain. Capote tries to build a suspense in the book by stating the outcome within the first couple pages, and describing every part of the case with the utmost detail. Capote does do a well job in bringing sympathy and remorse about the Clutters, and also the killers Dick and Perry, by really investigating their personal history. In Cold Blood is not one of those books you can read in a sitting, it is a dense book filled with lots of detail making it a slow read to fully understand everything Capote is trying to describe. Personally I found this book long and dull, I would not recommend this book to every reader, you need to have a special taste in order to grasp this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    High School AP Required Reading

    Well written but didn't keep my intrest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    TMI

    There is just too much uninteresting and unnecessary information in this book. I understand that the author couldn't give everything away all at once, and suspense had to be built, but I think suspense was lost by the quality of information that was provided. The book had a whole lot of filler. I did enjoy the book when the author managed to stayed on topic. Not the amazing piece of work that I heard about and expected. Maybe it was something great for it's time...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Boring

    This book is very slow and contains too many unnecessary details that drags out the story. I finished it, but it was hard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A must read.

    Everyone should read this book, it's timeless. You will fall into Capote's storytelling and never want it to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Elitist

    The story begins right away with the murder of a family in a small town. Since the killers get caught so quickly after the murders the book is supposed to focus on why the murders were committed. The majority of the story is based around this entire concept of two murderers motives for killing a family of four when really once the motive is explained just seems obvious and makes the book feel like a waste of time. This book is also supposed to be a journalistic novel, which at the time was considered to be a big deal but now just feels like a documentary that someone tried to make a book out of.

    I would not recommend this book to anyone except sheltered, upper-class men and women that have been living under a rock for the past 50 years. The real problem with this book is the author, Truman Capote is a pretentious elitist that benefited off of exploiting a man to write a "gripping novel". He basically alters the story to fit his needs and uses it to make himself look like a caring and dynamic individual when really he just wants fame and wealth. This book is no better than Paris Hilton or any other celebrity that is famous for being famous. I had heard good things about this book for years, even one of my friends told me he loved it, when upon further investigation I discovered he had not read it at all. The reason I believe this book to be successful is it is simply hyped up to be something it is not: worth reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Well written, but boring.

    In Cold Blood investigates what happens in the town of Holcomb after four members of its most prominent family, the Clutters, are killed. The lives of the murderers are told in detail, from the time before the murder until their death. The book also gives readers a look into the life of the Clutter family, and how big of a role they played in the town of Holcomb. After they are murdered the book looks at the affect on the town and how hard it is for its citizens to trust each other. The book starts out before the murders, then progresses to depict details of the murder, how the murders hid from authorities, were caught, and their time in court.

    The book is very well written and the writing style is impeccable, but the actual text is long, drawn out, and boring. The lives of the murderers are told in too much detail. Capote, the author, goes on for pages and pages describing unnecessary details about them, mostly centered around their past. It makes big parts of the book boring because Capote is writing to defend the murderers not for the reader's enjoyment. The book is also very gruesome and should not be read by people with a light stomach. The details of murder are hard to read, as are the details of the murderers being killed. I wouldn't recommend this book unless you happen to like detailed accounts of investigations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    It was ok

    I thought this book was an ok read. It was very long and drawn out with details. The murder doesn't seem that shocking today but I guess back then it was. It is a tragic account of the murders and it kind of makes you feel for the murders because of their life struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Boring

    I thought it moved very slow and was more than likely 'horrific' in 1965, but not that big of a deal now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    The best book I have ever read!

    In Cold Blood is not only a very good book to read but also a very easy to understand book. It is the perfect book for a first time reader. Truman Capote based this book on a real life tragic incident where six murders occured. Capote writes this book as if he was a bird that sat on the murderers shoulders. He lets the reader know what the murderers were thinking before, during, and after the murders. It was very shocking to find out why the two murderers killed the Clutter family. I felt many emotions while reading this book and I am sure anyone else will too! I encourage any who loves to read about real life situations to pick this book up now and read it. I guarnatee once you start this book you will not want to put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Disappointing

    Since this book was based on a true story i thought it would be good. I struggled to read half the book, without falling asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Not so great

    This book is only fantastic if you like diving into the mind of a killer. I thought i was reading a book that told more events and didn't tell about why the killers are the way they are. If you like it, great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2