Customer Reviews for

In Danger's Path (Corps Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Truly Authentic

    Such attention to the details of WWII military life makes 'IN DANGER'S PATH' seem more like history than novel. Minor observations: not Canons, but Deans of Anglican Cathedrals are titled 'Very Reverend' and the designations 'Upper Half' and 'Lower Half' for Rear Admirals did not come into use until years after WWII.Before it was 'commodore' and just 'Rear Admiral' none of which takes anything away from this terrific book.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    A good read

    Great historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Excellant

    The whole process from searching on the website to ordering is an outstanding process. Other companies could learn from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend this one

    Plot and character development was very interesting, not at all boring. Not much action until the end of the book. The author carried it off very well and I thoroughly enjoyed the read. am looking for ward to the next in the series, which will get into the Korean conflict and the OSS will become the CIA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No finer author!

    No doubt the finest chronicler of military action of our age! No one handles dialog better. Thoroughly researched subject matter and true to historical detail. If you read one, you MUST read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Never disappointing

    W. E. B. Griffin is always a good read. The story line is always connected and never lets your attention stray.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Still a great storyteller

    Like so many other reviewers I am a former Marine who really enjoyed WEB's style of writing many years ago, along with Clancy. Having recently renewed my interest in reading through the eyes of a senior citizen I find Clancy too wordy but Griffen as enjoyable as ever. This is a great continuation of all the characters easily recognizable from the earllier "Corps" series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Recommend to all

    Awesome book. Motivates me to want to be a better Marine. Kind of a dream world for even Marines. 5 stars.*****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    A must read for Marines

    As a former marine, I find W.E.B. Griffins grasp of the marine esprit de corps and can do attitude refreshing. His characters are likeable and his technical information is very accurate. Semper Fi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    I want More!!!

    I have read all of 'The Corps' series over the last three weeks. I couldn't put them down. I am wishing and praying there will be another book. Being a former Marine, and one of the 'heaven help us' females, it was truly a wonderful way for me to look back on some of the history within the Corps and the country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Worth reading twice

    I am a former Marine and started to read the Corps series and developed a loyality to W B Griffin. I am not a serious reader but have not been able to get enough of W B Griffins books. Have read all of his series to date and have several of them twice. Worth every minute of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2001

    Never a Disappointment

    I purchased Book one of this series the day after I Graduated Marine Corps boot camp, in San Diego, in February 1987. I have since read every one up to and including this one. I have never been disappointed by any of them. Griffin could continue this series until each character dies from old age, and I'd still want more of it. It gives the reader a true understanding of why the Corps is the way it is, and why Marines are the way they are. Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    Ken McCoy-The adventure continues

    As a former Marine, I have naturally been interested in this series since my sister gave me 'The Corps' (Book 1 of the series.). While the books are fiction, they are written about real situations and are far more historically accurate than most. 'In Dangers Path', number 8 in the series, focuses more on General Pickering than the earlier books, most of which dealt more with Ken McCoy, Whom I see as the main character. As the fortunes of war begin to turn against the Japanese, the need for knowledge of weather conditions around the home islands of Japan becomes apparent to the senior military planners. So a mission is set up to establish a secret weather station in China. The distances will require that this will be a long-term one-way mission for those involved. A mission well suited to the Marines, who are known for their willingness to sacrifice for the success of the mission. The details of the planning and execution of this mission, against nearly insurmountable odds, make this book an excellent choice for the Griffin fan or the newcommer. I would, however, recommend reading all of the books in the series, as Mr. Griffin's character developement is very important to this story. The many characters in this story make it important to know their history and relationships in order to get the most satisfaction from the series. I highly reccomend this book/series, as I do the books in the 'Honor Bound' series, also by W.E.B. Griffin. I anxiously await the next installment in both series'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Just keeps getting better

    Please tell me there are going to be more books in this series. I'm glad for the 'Men at War' series, because it seems to be going in the same direction with different characters, but I look forward to each new installment of this story, with these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Can't wait for the next one!

    The regretable thing about reading this book is that I have finished. To say the least an outstanding presentation. Suggest to author that he continue with this line of books which seem to receive wide-spread support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Just What You Expect

    This is exactly what we expect from WEB Griffin. I just wish there were more like him or a couple of clones or some way that makes it so we don't have to wait so long between books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3