Customer Reviews for

In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Food You will Love

I just read a number of reviews and want to write something a little different than what has been expressed. If this diet is new to you and you are afraid you won't like it, relax. A major change in diet takes time getting used to,but the foods Michael Pollan recomme...
I just read a number of reviews and want to write something a little different than what has been expressed. If this diet is new to you and you are afraid you won't like it, relax. A major change in diet takes time getting used to,but the foods Michael Pollan recommends we eat are delicious. At one time, I ate processed food, much of it with a high fat content, too much salt and so on. For years now, I have eaten what Pollan suggests. I love the food I eat and now find fatty, processed foods to be inedible. My tastes have changed. This winter I have been experimenting with new vegetables and ingredients. Yum! Load me up on the simple but delicious flavors of real food! Author ofthe award winning book,Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

mc-4-ws

Although I am still reading this book, I found tons of useful facts that I didn't even know, and some I did know as well. When I was reading I noticed that Pollan used humor, or at least some things I thought funny, and that made the book even better. It was an easy rea...
Although I am still reading this book, I found tons of useful facts that I didn't even know, and some I did know as well. When I was reading I noticed that Pollan used humor, or at least some things I thought funny, and that made the book even better. It was an easy read, but also a little drug on for me. I know you can go on and on when writting research, but I found myself putting it down at boring parts. All in all the book was alright, and I did learn alot.

posted by mc-4-ws on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Food You will Love

    I just read a number of reviews and want to write something a little different than what has been expressed. If this diet is new to you and you are afraid you won't like it, relax. A major change in diet takes time getting used to,but the foods Michael Pollan recommends we eat are delicious. At one time, I ate processed food, much of it with a high fat content, too much salt and so on. For years now, I have eaten what Pollan suggests. I love the food I eat and now find fatty, processed foods to be inedible. My tastes have changed. This winter I have been experimenting with new vegetables and ingredients. Yum! Load me up on the simple but delicious flavors of real food! Author ofthe award winning book,Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I thought I knew what food was, but...

    This is a truly enlightening book. Rather than lay out concrete rules and regulations for a diet, Pollan gives you a whole new way to view food - as whole beings. Rather than reduce food to nutrients, Pollan argues that maybe it's better to eat the orange than take Vitamin C. If you want to improve the way you eat and change your understanding of food, then read this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    You Aren't what you Don't eat.

    In a word, Healthy. Michael Pollack's interesting, informative, and eye-opening breakdown of Western food culture to help us figure out "Why aren't we healthy"?

    Food is good. Food is necessary. Food is... well, just what IS food anyway? Surprisingly, food is living things. Food is the output from living things. Pollack's book suggests however, that what we eat is getting further away from being actual 'food' the more it is processed, enriched, chemically treated, and boxed for long storage and later microwaving.

    A compelling read for anyone interested in understanding why things have become so bad for the health of Americans in general, and a source for common sense suggestions for taking back our dinner tables, and possibly shrinking our waistlines. If nothing else, in some measure we may eat - and even BE - healthy.

    Seven words make up the eating guidelines, and it's these seven words that most of us don't do anymore. EAT FOOD. NOT TOO MUCH. MOSTLY PLANTS.

    Highly Recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Valuable New Way to see Food

    Adding my positive review to so many others. A very accessible, entertaining, and easily read book. He makes a memorable case on how to eat "real food," and created a message that will stay with me for a long time. This is important stuff, and goes beyond the surface of nutrition labels and our empty way of eating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Food.. What a concept!!

    This book was very imformative on how people should and shouldnt eat. what i liked about it was how it didnt really say what people need to you and how they have to eat. It gave options rather than a concrete wall! I thought that was very helpful to me and im sure to alot of other people. Overall it was a very good book to read. i liked the voice, which was serious at times but humoruos at other times. it made the book that much more interesting.

    Great Book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Fascinating Perspective on Food

    I highly recommend this book for everyone, whether you've done countless hours of research on the topic of food and how it affects us or whether you're just now becoming interested in the topic. Pollan has an engaging writing style that mixes serious research with topical musings of a more philosophic nature. I found the book to be enjoyable and informative - what more can ask for?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great advice!

    The advice Michael Pollan gives in his new book, In Defense of Food: an eater's manifesto, is sound. It's important to be knowledgeable and make informed decisions about what we put into our bodies.<BR/><BR/>Pollan talks about food as science in the first part of the book. Scientists are trying to find out what is healthy and what is not but in many cases they are going about it the wrong way. They use a reductionist approach by looking at just vitamin C and lycopene, for instance, instead of looking at the whole tomato.<BR/><BR/>In the second part of the book Pollan looks at the Western Diet and all the diseases that are linked to it. He talks about how Industry has taken over the supermarket and changed the way we Americans eat.<BR/><BR/>Lastly, Pollan gives great advice on how we should be eating: eat food, not too much, mostly plants. This may sound simple but he goes into detail about how most of what we see at the grocery store is not real food but food-like substances. Here is some of my favorite advice he gives: If your great-great-grandmother wouldn't recognize it as food, don't eat it. Shop at the periphery of the grocery store and you'll stay away from most of the junk. If something contains more than 5 ingredients don't eat it.<BR/><BR/>In Defense of Food really gets one thinking about what our ancestors ate and how different it is from what most Americans eat today. I think we would all do well to follow Pollan's recommendations about what we eat and the way we eat it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Exercise In Myopia.

    It is frequently entertaining when the 'learned' deign to advise the commoners with the wisdom they have gathered in their cloistered halls, talking amongst themselves, immune to the outside world and its vibrant disorder. So it is with this book, which is less a defense of food, and more of an attack on the system that sustains the world. While a filigree of rustic greens sprinkled with vinagerette, all organic and local and untouched by agricultural advancements, would engorge the individual ego, it would never nourish the larger civilisation. All is built upon the availability of inexpensive, quality foodstuffs, of which the author can find but fault. Sadly for we 99%, the 38,718 items, on average, found in our local supermarket will have to suffice. For the other 1%, they can eat organic crow.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Give this book to your loved ones

    A thoroughly enlightening look at the poor state of affairs concerning the "American Diet" and our food delivery system. Pollen seems to state the obvious, but clearly most Americans don't seem to know "the obvious" or maybe they don't care? They will when they need serious health care and it is not there!
    Pollen makes it pretty simple to assess what is good to eat and how to go about it.
    Should be read and distributed throughout schools in this country!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Pollan is King.

    Excellent book to inspire and challenge. He's a wonderful voice out there who has inspired many to think differently about food. The drums are louder and the chorus is getting louder for change in our food delivery systems here in the States thanks to Mr. Pollan, Alice Waters, and their colleagues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    An Eye Opener

    This book was an eye opener. It is well written, an easy read, yet very informative. I've bought copies for family and friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    even better than an eaters manifesto

    just as informative as an eaters manifesto (which i also loved), but much shorter and to the point. great information!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely "food for thought!"

    I find Michael Pollan a fascinating writer. I've either read or listened to two of his books ("The Omnivore's Dilemma" and "In Defense of Food"), and found myself led down paths of thought that I wouldn't have found on my own. He writes (and thinks) so logically, yet humanely and with humor, that I find myself willingly following him to his unique and thought-provoking conclusions. I tell everyone I know about his amazing perspectives on food. I would recommend his books to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    mc-4-ws

    Although I am still reading this book, I found tons of useful facts that I didn't even know, and some I did know as well. When I was reading I noticed that Pollan used humor, or at least some things I thought funny, and that made the book even better. It was an easy read, but also a little drug on for me. I know you can go on and on when writting research, but I found myself putting it down at boring parts. All in all the book was alright, and I did learn alot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Food for Thought

    I am still reading this book and I am very impressed with it. The writing style is very easy to follow and engaging. I think anyone interested in sorting through all the conflicting advice about diet and food will find Pollan's discussion about the history of nutritionism a freeing and liberating read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    back to nature

    It is so good to read a book about nutrition that does not promote any new diet! The author's message is plain and simple: Go back to nature, eat wholesome foods, and don't bother with dieting. Don't overeat instead eat slowly, and enjoy your meals - such notion has already been promoted by Mireille Guiliano in her bestseller 'French Women Don't Get Fat'. Our curse is processed food. The dieting industry completely distorted our feeding process. Our desire to improve everything and to separate 'needed' ingredients from the 'unneeded' ones leads us to refining most of our food products. However, our artificially 'improved' food only seemingly has the same nutritious qualities as natural food. Artificial and natural foods have as little in common as silk roses with real ones. Processed food is easily obtainable, doesn't require much work to prepare, and, unfortunately, it is often also addictive. At the same time it is full of calories with very small nutritional content. Like 'The Omnivore's Dilemma', Pollan's new book is indeed eye-opening. It makes us think twice about what we are going to put into our mouths the next time we eat. For more reading about the danger of refined foods I strongly recommend Can We Live 150 - another book devoted to living in agreement with nature, and revealing the secrets of healthy diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Best Food/Nutrition/Diet Book I've ever read

    I thought this book was fantastic. It has changed the way that I view nutrition (he calls it 'nutritionism') and diet. My food choices will be much closer to being 'real' food not processed, industrial, and/or manufactured food. Wow. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Great Gift - Brilliant!

    Readable and eye opening, this book will help many people who are trapped in endless diet woes. I've already bought 4 copies for my daughters and friends. Buy it NOW and get happy with your food!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    As someone in the health field, I only wish I had learned this in medical school

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Check out the last 30 pages

    I generally enjoyed the book, but a few points stuck with me ever since reading, and made the entire read worth it. The main idea is to check the ingredients of what you eat. Pollan points out the irony of 'whole-wheat white bread', and suggests consumers not buy anything your great-grandmother wouldnt recognize as food (he gives examples of new food products with their 40-some ingredients lists, and offers that if your great-grandmother doesn't know what the ingredients are, consider if they are really FOOD or not). Contrary to previous comments, Pollan doesn't have a 'vegetarian agenda', but he does promote eating 'mostly plants' which is entirely healthful, and any study on nutrition will back up that large quantities of fruits and vegetables are great for health.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10