Customer Reviews for

In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Food You will Love

I just read a number of reviews and want to write something a little different than what has been expressed. If this diet is new to you and you are afraid you won't like it, relax. A major change in diet takes time getting used to,but the foods Michael Pollan recomme...
I just read a number of reviews and want to write something a little different than what has been expressed. If this diet is new to you and you are afraid you won't like it, relax. A major change in diet takes time getting used to,but the foods Michael Pollan recommends we eat are delicious. At one time, I ate processed food, much of it with a high fat content, too much salt and so on. For years now, I have eaten what Pollan suggests. I love the food I eat and now find fatty, processed foods to be inedible. My tastes have changed. This winter I have been experimenting with new vegetables and ingredients. Yum! Load me up on the simple but delicious flavors of real food! Author ofthe award winning book,Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

mc-4-ws

Although I am still reading this book, I found tons of useful facts that I didn't even know, and some I did know as well. When I was reading I noticed that Pollan used humor, or at least some things I thought funny, and that made the book even better. It was an easy rea...
Although I am still reading this book, I found tons of useful facts that I didn't even know, and some I did know as well. When I was reading I noticed that Pollan used humor, or at least some things I thought funny, and that made the book even better. It was an easy read, but also a little drug on for me. I know you can go on and on when writting research, but I found myself putting it down at boring parts. All in all the book was alright, and I did learn alot.

posted by mc-4-ws on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Valuable New Way to see Food

    Adding my positive review to so many others. A very accessible, entertaining, and easily read book. He makes a memorable case on how to eat "real food," and created a message that will stay with me for a long time. This is important stuff, and goes beyond the surface of nutrition labels and our empty way of eating.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Food.. What a concept!!

    This book was very imformative on how people should and shouldnt eat. what i liked about it was how it didnt really say what people need to you and how they have to eat. It gave options rather than a concrete wall! I thought that was very helpful to me and im sure to alot of other people. Overall it was a very good book to read. i liked the voice, which was serious at times but humoruos at other times. it made the book that much more interesting.

    Great Book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely "food for thought!"

    I find Michael Pollan a fascinating writer. I've either read or listened to two of his books ("The Omnivore's Dilemma" and "In Defense of Food"), and found myself led down paths of thought that I wouldn't have found on my own. He writes (and thinks) so logically, yet humanely and with humor, that I find myself willingly following him to his unique and thought-provoking conclusions. I tell everyone I know about his amazing perspectives on food. I would recommend his books to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    even better than an eaters manifesto

    just as informative as an eaters manifesto (which i also loved), but much shorter and to the point. great information!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Check out the last 30 pages

    I generally enjoyed the book, but a few points stuck with me ever since reading, and made the entire read worth it. The main idea is to check the ingredients of what you eat. Pollan points out the irony of 'whole-wheat white bread', and suggests consumers not buy anything your great-grandmother wouldnt recognize as food (he gives examples of new food products with their 40-some ingredients lists, and offers that if your great-grandmother doesn't know what the ingredients are, consider if they are really FOOD or not). Contrary to previous comments, Pollan doesn't have a 'vegetarian agenda', but he does promote eating 'mostly plants' which is entirely healthful, and any study on nutrition will back up that large quantities of fruits and vegetables are great for health.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Everyone should read!

    At first I thought it was just another book saying the same old, same old. But, once I got past the first few pages I was hooked. This book has changed how I look at "food". I will never buy anything again before checking out the label - My mantra now is "five ingredients or less" and if I can't spell it or my grandmother never heard of the ingredient I won't buy it. It also changed how I look at organic products. I used to think just about the outside of the fruit or vegetable now I look at the nutrient value that organic food provides vs. conventional. It has made a major change in how I eat and view what I put into my body. Everyone should read it. I bought my own copy (after taking it out of the library first for a book club selection). I offer to lend it to all my friends so I can share the information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Almost must-read

    Too verbose and filled with anecdotes. It makes for a relaxing read, but lacks the substantitive information I was looking for. This is typical journalist writing. Not enough research, which is the true difference between substance and fluff. Pollen would do himself a service to read Niall Ferguson's acknowledgements in any of Niall's histories, to get a better example of what truly is a dedicated report. Hwoever, if you aren't looking to challenge yourself or are too tired to delve into a multitude of facts, this just may be the start to a relaxing afternoon or a good night's sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Insightful and Witty

    This was a great book on food, the food industry, and the health industry. Rather than just discussing, the Pollan provides actual guidelines to live by. I would recommend this book to anybody confused by the everly changing articles published in magazines, on the news, in books, and on the labels of food products. I personally agree with most of Pollan's ideas (not 100% though). I only gave 4 stars as a warning that this book can be a bit scientific at times. However, I give the author a ton of credit for explaining complex nutritional terms and writing about them in a witty and enjoyable text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Eye-opening and engaging

    This is an eye-opening look at the American food industry, our way of eating and our way of analyzing the health benefits of dietary choices. It is written in an engaging style that describes detailed science in enjoyable prose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In Defense of Food

    I recently read this book as a follow up to "Good Calories, Bad Calories," by Gary Taubes. Just last night I enjoyed seeing Michael Pollan on the Bill Mayer show, but in that format he was not able to present a comprehensive overview of his book. I found the book fascinating and it should serve as a wake up call to Americans, whose lives are increasingly misdirected by foolish politicians and the corporate food industry's concern with improving their bottom lines whitout regard to the true health consquences of their products. I would recommend Pollan's book, along with Taubes' book if your health is a concern for you. They are both well written and well researched.
    Enjoy, Don Blankman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent, well-written, thought-provoking book.

    This book opened my eyes to many of the realities of the food industry that I had never given much thought to before. It changed the way I think about food and the food I buy and eat. Pollan's non-nonsense approach to this subject is aproachable and easily understandable, and somewhat shocking in so far as he reveals truths that most of us have no concept about. Buy it. Read it twice. And follow his advice. You'll live better for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4