Customer Reviews for

In Dublin's Fair City (Molly Murphy Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Rhys Bowen

    Rhys Bowen has done another fine job with Molly. I love these sequels of hers. Molly is like an angel with trouble following behind her. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are a mystery fan and love strong female characters check out the latest in the Molly Murphy Mystery series, In Dublin's Fair City.

    I am such a fan of the Molly Murphy Mystery book series!! I found the series about a year ago and I can never wait until a new title is released.
    Rhys Bowen is a great character writer. You can totally imagine not only what the character looks like but you visualize their surroundings so vividly. You really feel you can see what old New York looked like way back when.
    This series is about a young, strong and anything but traditonal Irish female who needs to escape Ireland and ends up becoming a private investigator. My favorite thing about her character is she never falls into the role most women of this time had to take. She is very opinionated and often speaks her mind which usually leads to trouble! You really need to read the first book, Murphys Law, to gain the full background. Each book takes you on an adventure of twists and turns and along the way provides actual historical events. The characters are vivid and Mrs. Bowen is not affaid to speak the unspeakable for the time period of which the books are based.
    This current book, In Dublins Fair City, is no exception. Miss Murphy has taken on a case which leads her back to Ireland, which she has not visited since escaping. Facing her fears, she packs her bags and heads over seas. You don't have to wait long before the mystery begins. New characters emerge, more twists occur and some heart felt moments that actually left me in tears.
    If you are a mystery lover and also love old world and strong characters, I encourage you to read any one of Rhys Bowens books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great historical mystery

    In 1903 New York¿s leading theatrical impresario Tommy Burke invites private detective Molly Burke to attend his bash at the roof cabaret of Madison Square. Molly is surprised because he is famous and they have never met before. Curious she goes to the party where he explains he wants to hire her. The next day at the Casino Theatre he tells her that he has recently learned upon the death of his mother that when his family fled Ireland during a famine fifty years ago, they left behind his ailing baby sister Mary Ann, whom he never knew existed. If she is alive, she will inherit his fortune instead of his always in trouble nephew Harvey (progeny of his other late sister). Though she may still be a criminal in Ireland, Molly welcomes the chance to go home. She sails on the Majestic along with actress Oona Sheehan, who she just met via Tommy. Oona convinces Molly to change cabins so when the actress¿ maid is murdered the police suspect the sleuth especially since Oona never sailed. As Molly seeks a killer as well as the sister, she searches Oona's trunks for clues only to find them loaded with rifles bound for a Free Ireland movement. As Molly becomes involved with the freedom fighters, someone else searches for Mary Ann to insure she does not inherit. This is a great historical mystery series starring a wonderful heroine who in this adventure goes home to learn that in many ways you can¿t go home again because nothing is quite the same. The story line is filled with action, a strong cast, and an incredible sense of time and location that are prime reasons the Molly Murphy mysteries are consistently some of the sub-genre¿s best. IN DUBLIN¿S FAIR CITY Rhys Bowen provides her usual entertaining enjoyable MURPHY'S LAW. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    suspenseful

    Lots of turns and clues to drive the story forward and as always a very enjoyable adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Was great, just not as great as the others...

    I love the whole series. I found that this one dragged once the mercenary/army was introduced. I found the situation with Oona Sheehan and the trunk filled with weapons to be really weird. I liked how the story with the sister turned out. This one didn't have the feel-good moments that the other ones have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love the Molly Murphy series. If you're looking for a great mystery with a little humor, I highly recommend all of the Molly Murphy books. Rhys Bowen does an excellent job and I'm looking forward to reading her other series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Good read

    Rhys Bowen has a winner with her Molly Murphy series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read for Fans of Series

    I like this series. I like Molly's spunk and love the side characters. If I hadn't read the previous stories, though, I don't think I would have liked this much. The plot was a stretch. I haven't read the next book yet and will be interested in how the handle what should be some relatively serious fallout from some of the things that happened in Dublin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    GOOD GOLLY, MOLLY HAS DONE IT AGAIN !!

    This is the sixth and latest book in the series and it just keeps getting better. I love Molly and I love the time period in which this takes place. Read them all, it doesn't matter if you read them in order, you'll love every one. You might also try Rhys Bowen's 'Evan Evans' mysteries...which is another great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Wonderful

    This is a terrific book, best in the series. One question, though. Isn't Dublin on the Irish Sea, not the North Sea?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2