Customer Reviews for

In Fidelity

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Don't pass by this one!

    Great book!! Read it in 2 sittings. Could not put it down! Kept me guessing all along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    An insatiable glimpse into the human soul!

    The novel was an amazing jaunt into the lives of a few characters of whom you feel absolutely connected to after a mere few chapters! Rose executes the unthinkable in this day and age of novels- combines romance, suspense, and mystery all within the confines of 300 pages! Whether you're an avid reader or haven't picked up a book in ages, this book will get you thinking long after you close it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    What a Book!!!

    I loved this book. I purchesed it from Barnes and Noble online, recieved the book yesterday, couldn't put it down, and finished it up today. It was an easy reading book with all the juiciness to keep me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    Unable to put down

    This fine novel was impossible to put down. As a reader, I found the story intriguing and enveloping. Weaving together many characters and stories, the story comes together beautifully and made it hard to put down. I kept longing to know what the next page, chapter would bring. Highly recommended and completely enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2001

    kept me reading through the night.

    this was the first book i had read in over 3 years. when i first started reading it, i didnt really get into it. but after the 3rd chapter i could not put it down. she kept me going and i couldnt wait to see what happened next. i highly suggest this book to anyone who hasnt read it yet. it's something you will not forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2001

    great book

    I read this book and really enjoyed it. It caught me at the beging and keep me wanting to find out if mallory was after her and what was going to happen between her and her husband. I would recomand this book to anyone one of my friends' moms is reading it then two of my friends are goung to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    Couldn't stop reading!

    I think what I love so much about this novel is it really has it all: a story that keeps you up half the night reading, characters so real you feel as if you know them (the relationship between the mother and the daughter was remarkable in its insights), and writing that's clear and lyrical. There's so much to love: I loved the daughter's infatuation with all things zen, loved the psychotherapist mother's patients, loved the seamless way the past intruded into the present--and threatened the future. Can't wait to read more of the very talented MJ Rose!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    literary novel of family and secrets

    So, I picked up this book and began reading it, thinking: well, I'll give it a shot... <p> And IN FIDELITY captivated me. <p> Now, this is not my usual reading. It has been categorized by the book biz as women's fiction and thriller; however, serious readers of fiction will enjoy it regardless of genre interest. It's definitely a novel of psychological suspense with a literary flair. Beyond that, it's a book about the complexity of human relationships. Its title is a play on words, and the writing is wonderful <p> MJ Rose writes about mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, and the deceptions (as well as self-deceptions) that go on within these relationships. But, she also writes a great psychological thriller -- this one's hard to describe in a review simply because Rose has created her own genre: the literary-mainstream-thriller-relationship novel. <p> Those looking for a Koontz or Thomas Harris here will not find it -- Rose is her own genre, and she writes what might best be called thrillers of the human heart. This is the kind of fiction that can't be categorized, and probably should not be: it's for anyone who enjoys a good story about family and love and its disturbances. <p> MJ Rose is one of the best. IN FIDELITY is captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Well-blended tale of suspense and relationships, where the reader can't alway believe the obvious.

    The characters springing from the pages of In Fidelity are as real as anyone I ever met. Jordan, Robert and Lilly will stay with me for years, as will the struggle Jordan faces when she must come to grips with her past, present and future. Is she in danger of losing her life or is she losing her grip on her sanity? This book weaves a clever path through intirgue, suspense, hatred, fear and most of all, the bonds of family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    Predictable, but still a fine read

    Sexy and provocative, suspenseful and extravagant, In Fidelity offers a little something for all genres. Thriller, mystery, romance, and maybe even a little mild erotica is what you will find between the avoidably wordy pages of M.J. Rose¿s second novel. In a follow-up to the originally self-published work Lip Service, Rose takes us through a few months in the life of psychotherapist, Dr. Jordan Sloan. Separated from her husband for the last five years, and raising her seventeen year-old know-it-all daughter, Jordan is faced with the unexpected early prison release of her father¿s murderer, who (surprise!)just happens to be her former overzealous boyfriend. Also on her plate is a strange new patient, her daughter¿s influential boyfriend, and her reoccurring feelings for her estranged husband. The plot is stacked like a pancake breakfast, story lines within plots within scenes within anecdotes (you get the idea), but if you can stay with it, the characters are interesting and believable, but not necessarily identifiable, the racy scenes are delicious and naughty but not necessarily raunchy, and in the end, it all comes together. While the suspense lacks enough to be considered a main event, the relationship between Jordan and her friends and family members, along with the tantalizing sex scenes make this novel a tasty weekend read. Rose has an uncanny ability to outline a picture but allow you to do the paint-by-number for yourself. Her characters may suffer at the predictability, but they are never without dimension. Was my life better for having read it? No. But my sex life may be. Did it move me to my very core? No. But it provided an enchanting distraction from the core, and I would pay a lot more then $13.95 for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Riveting Suspense

    Jordan Sloan, respected psychotherapist, seems to be able to help everyone but herself. Wrestling with her witnessing her father's cold-blooded murder and reeling from her husband's infidelity, M. J. Rose has given us a complex character and delves into the realm of true fear in her second novel, In Fidelity. At the age of eighteen Jordan watched as Dan Mallory, with whom she was having an affair, shot her father. It was Jordan's testimony at Mallory's trial that sent him away forever. Now eighteen years later, Mallory has convinced a parole board that he has been rehabilitated and is released from prison. Assured by her soon-to-be-ex-husband, Robert; her brother, Jeff; and Mallory's parole officer that he is no longer a threat to society, Jordan longs to believe that he won't come after her. The three men think the phone calls with only a clock ticking in the background are just a prank, but Jordan knows it is Mallory. When Mallory disappears and the phone calls increase, Jordan's life begins to unravel. While she sees him everywhere, those around her ---Robert, Jeff, the parole officer and ever her daughter, Lilly---preach forgiveness. But if Jordan forgives Mallory, mustn't she also forgive Robert's unfaithfulness five years earlier and stop the divorce proceeding she has initiated? Terrified at first for only herself, then for what Mallory might do to Lilly and agitated by a new patient who is challenging her therapy methods, Jordan tries to hold on, but fear and indecisiveness quickly engulfs her ordered life. In Fidelity is a riveting suspense drama grips readers from its first sentence until the past page is turned. Sometimes shocking, sometimes predictable, Rose offers us a chance to think about what we might do if our worst nightmares were suddenly part of our everyday life. In Fidelity is a spine-tingling novel, sure to bring your own nightmares to the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Haunting long past the final page

    In Fidelity is a luscious book full of intrigue, sensuality, and suspense. I could not put it down. For days after I finished it, I kept expecting to run into Jordan Sloan on the street. If you want to be transported into another's world, this is the book for you. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Page turner

    I read MJ's In Fidelity in two glups - thoroughly enjoyed it. Sensual in every sense of the word. Part mystery, part romance, part psychological thriller - it kept me turning pages, something a book hasn't done in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting suspense

    Almost two decades ago, Dan Mallory murdered his employer, Jordan Sloan¿s father, owner of a jewelry store in front of Jordan. Feeling guilty because she secretly dated Dan, his activities caused her father to fire him and he to kill. The tragedy led Jordan to major in psychotherapy and now runs a successful practice. However, her relationship with her spouse Robert is nearing divorce as they are separated even though they share their NYC house. <P>Jordan is stunned to learn that Dan has been freed early due to good behavior. She thinks he is stalking her, but has no clear cut evidence even with her teenage daughter¿s pictures containing a man that she believes is him. Robert offers comfort, but a patient accuses him of infidelity. How can she prove Dan, who obtained a college degree and found religion in prison, remains a danger to her without Robert by her side? <P>IN FIDELITY is an exciting romantic suspense centering on the helplessness of a victim being stalked. The story line is exciting, as Jordan feels isolated in her belief that Dan is coming for her. Although the subplot of Adrienne¿s accusations isolate Jordan further, that tactic causes a slight detour from the exhilarating prime plot of whether Dan is stalking Jordan or not? M.J. Rose has written a thrilling novel that sub-genre fans and those readers who enjoy a taut suspense story will relish. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1