Customer Reviews for

In Fifty Years We'll All Be Chicks

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This is hilarious ...

I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, c...
I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, crystal-rubbing, Whole Foods-shopping moms" he calls out in the introduction. He neglected to add "self-righteous" and "humorless" to the list of adjectives describing that grim group; perhaps he considered those traits too obvious to mention. Adam Carolla is the anti-jessie2. Thank God for him.

posted by mushb0ne on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Quite possibly the worst book I've ever read

I needed a laugh, I am not conservative, do not get offended very easily (love Chelsea Handler, **** My Father Says etc.) but this book was just about 2 things Mr. Carolla telling you how rich he is and trying to piss off everyone--ethnicities, sexes, religions. I hat...
I needed a laugh, I am not conservative, do not get offended very easily (love Chelsea Handler, **** My Father Says etc.) but this book was just about 2 things Mr. Carolla telling you how rich he is and trying to piss off everyone--ethnicities, sexes, religions. I hate this book so much I am deleting it from the archives of my nook.

If you want a great laugh from a male author I highly recommend **** my Father Says instead. Anything by Chelsea Handler is also great. This book and this guy are pathetic.

Wish I didn't have to give this a star.

posted by jessie2 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    This is hilarious ...

    I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, crystal-rubbing, Whole Foods-shopping moms" he calls out in the introduction. He neglected to add "self-righteous" and "humorless" to the list of adjectives describing that grim group; perhaps he considered those traits too obvious to mention. Adam Carolla is the anti-jessie2. Thank God for him.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Should be required reading...

    This book should be required reading in all High Schools as a prep for life and an inoculation against the insane political correctness that our children will later be spoon fed in U.S. Universities!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quite possibly the worst book I've ever read

    I needed a laugh, I am not conservative, do not get offended very easily (love Chelsea Handler, **** My Father Says etc.) but this book was just about 2 things Mr. Carolla telling you how rich he is and trying to piss off everyone--ethnicities, sexes, religions. I hate this book so much I am deleting it from the archives of my nook.

    If you want a great laugh from a male author I highly recommend **** my Father Says instead. Anything by Chelsea Handler is also great. This book and this guy are pathetic.

    Wish I didn't have to give this a star.

    6 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Hilarious!

    If you think we've gotten too pc, this is the book for you!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Should be required reading for all young men and boys...before i

    Should be required reading for all young men and boys...before it's too late. Btw, Jessie2's review sucks!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Very funny!

    I'm a feminist female and I loved this book! Adam Corolla is just a hilarious guy, voice and all. I'll definitely reread this one for some laughs in the future.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the funniest books... ever!

    Sure, there are some people who think Mr. Carolla is just "one of those two misogynistic guys" from The Man Show, but this would be just about the most uninformed opinion you could have for one of the funniest men of my generation. From his truly poor upbringing (both financially and emotional-supportingly), the Carolla story starts with meagerness in survival in The Valley, works its way through a life of hard knocks (that's hard --- read "actual," physical labor) on its way to success in radio, TV, film (5 stars for his indie flick "The Hammer"), and now the Internet. The bulk of the book makes a handy companion to Mr. Carolla's daily Podcast show, stand-up work, and many television appearances on the late-nite (and now, daytime) circuit. Irreverent as always, Adam pulls no punches (puntastically appropriate for the amateur boxer that he is), laying it out for all of us on a number of "topics of the day" and the current scene. Commonsense never sounded funnier, when you consider all of the crazy stuff we all put up with in life (TSA checkpoints, minimum wage security guards, movies we're supposed to love, and even ketchup packets!). If you like FUNNY, you must like this book. And for an audio preview of the book, listen to a few of his Adam Carolla Show podcasts! Material flows from Mr. Carolla like a water balloon with a needle-pricked hole: a nice steady stream from a comedic genius.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Adam carolla at his best!

    One of those books that makes you laugh out loud! Great stories and humorous anecdotes abound, highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Hilarious!!

    One of the funniest books I have read in a long time. If you enjoy Adam's podcast or anything remotely funny. Buy this book immediately. Genius! Completely genius!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Really produced out of North Hollywood?

    Great book Ace! I haven't read a book through since the Hobbit which is like 20 years ago so this should mean a lot to avid readers. This book deals with what every dude really thinks but cannot put into words. If you like me pay some amount of taxes, cannot stand "The View", then you will like this book. The book is more raw than the podcast digging deep into Adams sarcastic, honest side.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    HILARIOUS **** AND HIS OPINIONS ARE RIGHT ON THE MONEY!

    I agree with Adam's subject matter, so I thought I'd buy the book. I found myself laughing out loud in front of other people while reading. This has never happened before. Great hilarious book and you can even keep it as a reference book. Fantastic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Very funny!

    I like his take on things but much of what he has put in the book he has already done on radio. All in all a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Very Disapointed

    This book is a pathetic attempt to "Man Up" but tends to be one big complaint. Its too bad because I use to like Adam, but now feel sorry for him because of his rants. Next time keep the vulgar out and "Man Up" to be a good writer, not a Hollywood sellout.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Amusing -- Good referendum on today's society

    Adam makes some good points about how our society has slowly degenerated into image over substance. I found myself agreeing with most of what he was saying. I had to read his book in spurts because it reminded me of all the short-comings we have fallen into.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Hilarious!

    Adam has his rants and brings up good points. It is also interesting to learn how he got into what he is doing. The audiobook has a lot of bonus extra rants.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Great book - funny ranting on a variety of topics!

    Just finished reading Adam Carolla's long rant on everyday things that annoy him (this book). I find that I agreed with him on many of the things that he sees as wasting our time and unnecessary red tape in society. Some of the words he strings together to make his insults and shed a funny side of something made me laugh out loud. It was a good mix of raunchy humor and touching stories with a comical twist. Definitely recommend if you are in the mood for a funny, easy read whether you are a fan of Adam's or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Is it Adam Carolla or Andy Rooney?

    The title intrigued me and I expected the book to be a commentary on the loss of the unique attributes of both genders, on how we never do things ourselves anymore and how we'd rather just pay someone to do it for us (from fixing the car to sewing, so I'm talking about both sexes). I also expected some insightful comments on what we can do to reverse this trend. Boy was I wrong! This book got so off focus it became a 200+ page rant. I kept hearing Andy Rooney's voice in my head narrating it for me and expected to read "Don't you just hate that?" Adam, I think I would rather have read the book you say (in "Acknowledgments") you were "hell-bent" on writing, which was a coffee table book entitled "Dade County Black Prom, 1977-1985." I think I would have found that more enjoyable. I'm just bummed I wasted 9.99 of my $15 gift card on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Good one Ace Man!

    Funny stuff, great stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Funny, but......

    The author is a guy you would enjoy seeing on stage, but on the street break his leg with a baseball bat just to see how he would react....like the person described in this book tried to do. Adam is the big mouth know it all that will continuously embarrass his children just to make a buck...even at the expense of those who can not afford this relatively funny piece of crap.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Man, I loved this book! I laughed out loud while reading this b

    Man, I loved this book! I laughed out loud while reading this book more than with any other book I've ever read--even the second time I read it. Adam's sense of humor and sense of what's right and wrong with modern life is satisfyingly smart. Beware of the frank adult language, although that's a big part of what makes it so @!&#* entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13