Customer Reviews for

In Fifty Years We'll All Be Chicks: . . . And Other Complaints from an Angry Middle-Aged White Guy

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is hilarious ...

I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, c...
I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, crystal-rubbing, Whole Foods-shopping moms" he calls out in the introduction. He neglected to add "self-righteous" and "humorless" to the list of adjectives describing that grim group; perhaps he considered those traits too obvious to mention. Adam Carolla is the anti-jessie2. Thank God for him.

posted by mushb0ne on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Quite possibly the worst book I've ever read

I needed a laugh, I am not conservative, do not get offended very easily (love Chelsea Handler, **** My Father Says etc.) but this book was just about 2 things Mr. Carolla telling you how rich he is and trying to piss off everyone--ethnicities, sexes, religions. I hat...
I needed a laugh, I am not conservative, do not get offended very easily (love Chelsea Handler, **** My Father Says etc.) but this book was just about 2 things Mr. Carolla telling you how rich he is and trying to piss off everyone--ethnicities, sexes, religions. I hate this book so much I am deleting it from the archives of my nook.

If you want a great laugh from a male author I highly recommend **** my Father Says instead. Anything by Chelsea Handler is also great. This book and this guy are pathetic.

Wish I didn't have to give this a star.

posted by jessie2 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    This is hilarious ...

    I'm not talking about the book (although, that, too, is pretty funny). I'm talking about jessie2's review, which is posted here. Ace would undoubtedly have gotten a kick out of reading it, since her review reveals her to be a prototype of the class of "Oprah-watching, crystal-rubbing, Whole Foods-shopping moms" he calls out in the introduction. He neglected to add "self-righteous" and "humorless" to the list of adjectives describing that grim group; perhaps he considered those traits too obvious to mention. Adam Carolla is the anti-jessie2. Thank God for him.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Should be required reading...

    This book should be required reading in all High Schools as a prep for life and an inoculation against the insane political correctness that our children will later be spoon fed in U.S. Universities!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Hilarious!

    If you think we've gotten too pc, this is the book for you!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Should be required reading for all young men and boys...before i

    Should be required reading for all young men and boys...before it's too late. Btw, Jessie2's review sucks!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Very funny!

    I'm a feminist female and I loved this book! Adam Corolla is just a hilarious guy, voice and all. I'll definitely reread this one for some laughs in the future.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the funniest books... ever!

    Sure, there are some people who think Mr. Carolla is just "one of those two misogynistic guys" from The Man Show, but this would be just about the most uninformed opinion you could have for one of the funniest men of my generation. From his truly poor upbringing (both financially and emotional-supportingly), the Carolla story starts with meagerness in survival in The Valley, works its way through a life of hard knocks (that's hard --- read "actual," physical labor) on its way to success in radio, TV, film (5 stars for his indie flick "The Hammer"), and now the Internet. The bulk of the book makes a handy companion to Mr. Carolla's daily Podcast show, stand-up work, and many television appearances on the late-nite (and now, daytime) circuit. Irreverent as always, Adam pulls no punches (puntastically appropriate for the amateur boxer that he is), laying it out for all of us on a number of "topics of the day" and the current scene. Commonsense never sounded funnier, when you consider all of the crazy stuff we all put up with in life (TSA checkpoints, minimum wage security guards, movies we're supposed to love, and even ketchup packets!). If you like FUNNY, you must like this book. And for an audio preview of the book, listen to a few of his Adam Carolla Show podcasts! Material flows from Mr. Carolla like a water balloon with a needle-pricked hole: a nice steady stream from a comedic genius.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Adam carolla at his best!

    One of those books that makes you laugh out loud! Great stories and humorous anecdotes abound, highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Hilarious!!

    One of the funniest books I have read in a long time. If you enjoy Adam's podcast or anything remotely funny. Buy this book immediately. Genius! Completely genius!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Really produced out of North Hollywood?

    Great book Ace! I haven't read a book through since the Hobbit which is like 20 years ago so this should mean a lot to avid readers. This book deals with what every dude really thinks but cannot put into words. If you like me pay some amount of taxes, cannot stand "The View", then you will like this book. The book is more raw than the podcast digging deep into Adams sarcastic, honest side.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    HILARIOUS **** AND HIS OPINIONS ARE RIGHT ON THE MONEY!

    I agree with Adam's subject matter, so I thought I'd buy the book. I found myself laughing out loud in front of other people while reading. This has never happened before. Great hilarious book and you can even keep it as a reference book. Fantastic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Hilarious!

    Adam has his rants and brings up good points. It is also interesting to learn how he got into what he is doing. The audiobook has a lot of bonus extra rants.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Typical Corolla

    Just too damn funny. You'll blow through this book in almost no time - I did. Corolla will straighten you out on almost everything you think you know something about. You need this book just don't take it too seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Good one Ace Man!

    Funny stuff, great stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Man, I loved this book! I laughed out loud while reading this b

    Man, I loved this book! I laughed out loud while reading this book more than with any other book I've ever read--even the second time I read it. Adam's sense of humor and sense of what's right and wrong with modern life is satisfyingly smart. Beware of the frank adult language, although that's a big part of what makes it so @!&#* entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY

    First of Adams books that I have read and laughed on every page. Only thing I didnt like it about it was it wasnt longer. I could have read another 100 pages, easily!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    My new guru

    The Will Rogers of our era

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    love it

    great book...can not wait for taco bell material

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Great read

    It's written as if you were listening to Ace Man just rant about whatever he feels like. It's funny and nothing like anything else I've read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Spot on Aceman!

    Adam is hitting on all cylinders here. I matters little if you agree or disagree with his points the man is funny as hell and always entertains. If you like sharp wit, laugh you're a$$ off rants and blue collar grounded sensibilities then you will love this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    So funny

    I am a woman and I found this book to be hilarious. He hits the nail on the head with topics ranging from squirell dung to why welfare is ruining our country. I was reluctant to read it because I never really enjoyed his comedy but I'm glad I gave it a chance. Its almost scary how much of this book I could have written myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7