BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Front of God and Everybody

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    April Grace will make you laugh!

    In the book "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" , K D McCrite follows the adventures of April Grace, an eleven year old girl growing up in the Ozarks. She's surrounded by a group of colorful characters including a sister obsessed with being glamorous, a grandma with a new boyfriend, hippie neighbors who never shower and new neighbors from the city whose attitude tries everyone's patience. April Grace's observations of this cast of crazy characters will keep you laughing but at the end of the day the story is about much more than humor. April Grace learns through the example set by her parents to share the love of God with others, no matter how badly they behave. I enjoyed reading this book and appreciated the underlying message very much. I plan to give it to my 10 year old daughter to read as well. Girls in the 9-13 year age range would probably enjoy this book the most. I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing through BookSneeze to review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    In Front of God and Everybody

    Hi! I just got a new book from Booksneeze- "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" by K. D. McCrite. This is a really cute book, but before I start telling you about it, I need to tell you that I got this book for free and that I'm under no obligation to give this a good review. Okay, now that that's done, we can get down to business. "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" is a cute book- it makes me think of books that I used to read when I was younger. As a girl that basically grew up out in the booneys, I loved that there was FINALLY a book that didn't take place in some big city. This book chronicles the life and adventures of a young girl, April Grace, for whom this book is named. There is a certain innocence about the book, something that is prevalent in childrens books yet absent in most adult ones. It was very refreshing to feel that once again. This is just a simply cute book and I would recommend it to anyone under the age of 13 (any GIRL that is under the age of 13. For some reason, I don't think many boys would be very interested?) I give this book five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Fun

    April Grace is a young girl growing up in the Ozarks. Life is normal and comfortable on the family farm until some new neighbors shake things up. April Grace doesn't care much for the neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. St. James, or the new guy in town, Jeffrey Rance. Though her family keeps telling her she should be nice and look for the best in people, she can't get over the feelings she has about them. Will she be able to overcome these feelings or will her intuition pay off?

    Even though this book is geared toward young adults, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. KD McCrite has written a story that reels the reader in; settings are vividly described and characters are beautifully developed. April Grace is witty and fun; it's quite fun reading a story written in her voice. If my daughter were older, I'd definitely be passing this book on to her. I might even pick up some of the other books in the series for myself to read in the future!

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Hilarious

    I received a copy of IN FRONT OF GOD AND EVERYBODY by K. D. McCrite, from Thomas Nelson. It is the first book in the CONFESSIONS OF APRIL GRACE series. The cover did not really catch my attention. It shows a smiling girl, which certainly is not off-putting, but not eye-catching, either. However, once I got into the story, I was hooked.

    The story takes place in the summer of 1986 - this in itself interested me, since it happens before I was born, and I wondered what things were like then as opposed to now, and what I remember from my childhood.

    April Grace lives on a farm in the Ozarks. The things she says are hilarious. I laughed aloud through every page. She has a quirky, contagious sense of humor, the perfect type of person to befriend. She gives the reader her take on everything, from the weather to her grandmother's mean cat, Queenie.

    First, there is her family. Her mother, Lily, and her father, Mike, are deeply in love. They want to help everyone, including the new neighbors. Then, there is April Grace's sister, Myra Sue, who would rather watch soap operas than weed the garden. April Grace is very close to her grandmother, who lives next door, so she's upset when her sister thinks the elderly woman is a hillbilly. Their grandmother also has a new beau. April Grace is positive he is out to due no good, and the things she sees proves that in her mind.

    April Grace loves the hippie neighbors, but not the fresh-from-California neighbors. Ian and Isabel do not know a thing about the country, especially Isabel, who is extremely rude even though April Grace's family only wants to help.

    As an elementary teacher, I know the children I sub for would adore this story. It is not only hilarious, but extremely true, with many relatable aspects. Every time April Grace describes her beloved family farm, I remember my grandmother's farm and the happy summer days I spent there with my cousins. I look forward to reading future APRIL GRACE novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In Front of God and Everybody

    April Grace is eleven going on 35. She's very smart and even more opinionated, with sarcasm enough for a whole town of people. Her targets? Her older sister, who's trying to be chic; her grandma's boyfriend, who talks crazy loud and seems shifty; new neighbors who are complete snobs.

    I loved reading about April Grace's view of the world, probably because I don't have to live with her. (She's an amazingly precocious and likeable girl, but she's clearly not learned that there are times it's best to not talk.)

    This is apparently the start of a series, and I cannot wait to see what sort of trouble April Grace gets herself into next. (Although I'll say one thing for her: she also manages to save the day more often than not.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Funny, Great for Tweens and Teens

    April Grace is 11 years old, the year is 1986, and the summer brings a lot of changes to her neck of the woods (aka the Ozarks). As the story follows her through five weeks of the summer, we meet her new neighbors (Californians getting "back to their roots" after losing their home), her current neighbors ("old hippies" who eschew showering and deodorant), her grandmother, parents, and 14-year-old sister.

    The book reads easily, told from the point of view of April Grace (though with a bit more maturity than the average tween). April Grace's parents are raising their family in the Christian faith, and occasionally have to remind April Grace about forgiveness and such.

    [The rest of this paragraph may contain mild spoilers, so stop now if you truly like to be surprised...]The book has a little bit of mystery, as April Grace is fairly observant, and doesn't give up easily. Her sister battles an eating disorder (though this is handled subtly and not glorified). And while there is no vulgarity and such, there is plenty of name calling and sibling squabbling.

    There are quite a few references to 1980's pop culture (Cosby Show, breakdancing, and the like), which will likely be lost on the book's target audience. For mothers, aunts, and others who pick up the book, however, these serve as a little wink from the author.

    It appears that there is already a sequel to this book in the works, which allows young readers to follow along (and perhaps grow up with) April Grace. The book should appeal to young female readers, probably age 9-14 or so (though at more than twice that age, I enjoyed the book myself!). April Grace is certainly a likable character, and since her family is filled with more "characters" than most of us have ever known, it is fun to follow along with her adventures.

    [Note that I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    I LOVE April Grace!

    This was one of the funniest, cutest books I've read in a long while. I loved the character of April Grace. She is so open and honest. It's endearing. Well, not to some people who cross her path - like her new neighbor, Isabel St. James. But as I've from the country as well...we would get along just fine!!

    April Grace lives in the Ozarks. Country living at it's best. And Isabel St. James & husband, Ian are from the big state of California. The cultures don't mix to say the least. All of the characters are great. I really loved the story! I can picture this as a series on tv, or maybe movies.

    It's full of laughs and good old fashioned teachings. I recommend this for anyone. It's geared to ages 9 to 12...but I really think this would be enjoyable for even those older. I know I'm a follower. I can't wait for book #2 Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2