BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Front of God and Everybody

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Awesome

    Look im only 10 and this is one of the best books ever writen. I think everyone should read this book it will make you wet your pants laughing

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!!!

    My friend recomended this book to me and i fell in love with it!!! In school, I would start reading it and someone was telling me that we were on our way to spanish class, but I didn't even hear them! I was too busy living in the world of April Grace. This is such a well written book and I love it!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Oh my goodness this book was so hilarious. I couldn'put down. Very well written. Must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    In Front of God and Everyone

    This is an amazing book!!

    New neighbors come and in this case it means trouble. Watch out for grandmas new "boyfriend" anyway the neighbors are always yelling.
    This is a VERYappropriate book for kids but has maybe confusing parts for young children so i would recommand eight and up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    April grace

    It is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    This is the book ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I recommend this book

    Excellent book, great characters. Really enjoyed it. I will read other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book!!! Great life story and relatable. Must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Funny

    This book is cool u need to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    This was the best bok ever and I can totally connect to how she is feeling becaue my grandma might marry a man that I don't like amd I have one sister that can tend to get on my nerves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Want

    WANT THIS BOOK SO MUCH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    10% through great

    I am only 10% through this book but it is already wonderful and im really going to have trouble putting this book down! (A good thing) GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    The best mid-grade novel since Nancy Drew and Pippy Longstocking

    The best mid-grade novel since Nancy Drew and Pippy Longstocking! April Grace is awesome! I recommend this to any kid, any age. JeanieL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Awesome!

    This book was so funny my dad had to keep asking me what i was laughfing at!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    SWEET!!!!

    I really enjoyed the first book as a teen. I really enjoyed how she felt about the whole thing. I dont know if i should read the second one before i read the third one or just read the thrid.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace

    "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" is a fun story about 11 year old April Grace. The book is geared toward girls in their early teens. It is a quick read and entertaining for adults as well. April must deal with snooty new neighbors who make fun of her accent, her sister who thinks she rules the universe, and her grandma who is trying to impress a new man. April narrates most of the story with her funny but thoughtful insights. Some of it seems forced but still funny to young girls.

    April's parents work to teach a lesson in humility and grace by continuing to show love to the snooty neighbors while April spends most of her time saying what everyone else is thinking but is too scared to say. Some of the funny situations include April coming to terms with her grandma kissing her boyfriend and wearing makeup. April must also figure out if the new boyfriend is who he says he is even though no one else picks up on his mysterious attitude.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    April Grace will make you laugh!

    In the book "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" , K D McCrite follows the adventures of April Grace, an eleven year old girl growing up in the Ozarks. She's surrounded by a group of colorful characters including a sister obsessed with being glamorous, a grandma with a new boyfriend, hippie neighbors who never shower and new neighbors from the city whose attitude tries everyone's patience. April Grace's observations of this cast of crazy characters will keep you laughing but at the end of the day the story is about much more than humor. April Grace learns through the example set by her parents to share the love of God with others, no matter how badly they behave. I enjoyed reading this book and appreciated the underlying message very much. I plan to give it to my 10 year old daughter to read as well. Girls in the 9-13 year age range would probably enjoy this book the most. I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing through BookSneeze to review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    In Front of God and Everybody

    Hi! I just got a new book from Booksneeze- "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" by K. D. McCrite. This is a really cute book, but before I start telling you about it, I need to tell you that I got this book for free and that I'm under no obligation to give this a good review. Okay, now that that's done, we can get down to business. "In Front of God and Everybody: Confessions of April Grace" is a cute book- it makes me think of books that I used to read when I was younger. As a girl that basically grew up out in the booneys, I loved that there was FINALLY a book that didn't take place in some big city. This book chronicles the life and adventures of a young girl, April Grace, for whom this book is named. There is a certain innocence about the book, something that is prevalent in childrens books yet absent in most adult ones. It was very refreshing to feel that once again. This is just a simply cute book and I would recommend it to anyone under the age of 13 (any GIRL that is under the age of 13. For some reason, I don't think many boys would be very interested?) I give this book five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Funny, Great for Tweens and Teens

    April Grace is 11 years old, the year is 1986, and the summer brings a lot of changes to her neck of the woods (aka the Ozarks). As the story follows her through five weeks of the summer, we meet her new neighbors (Californians getting "back to their roots" after losing their home), her current neighbors ("old hippies" who eschew showering and deodorant), her grandmother, parents, and 14-year-old sister.

    The book reads easily, told from the point of view of April Grace (though with a bit more maturity than the average tween). April Grace's parents are raising their family in the Christian faith, and occasionally have to remind April Grace about forgiveness and such.

    [The rest of this paragraph may contain mild spoilers, so stop now if you truly like to be surprised...]The book has a little bit of mystery, as April Grace is fairly observant, and doesn't give up easily. Her sister battles an eating disorder (though this is handled subtly and not glorified). And while there is no vulgarity and such, there is plenty of name calling and sibling squabbling.

    There are quite a few references to 1980's pop culture (Cosby Show, breakdancing, and the like), which will likely be lost on the book's target audience. For mothers, aunts, and others who pick up the book, however, these serve as a little wink from the author.

    It appears that there is already a sequel to this book in the works, which allows young readers to follow along (and perhaps grow up with) April Grace. The book should appeal to young female readers, probably age 9-14 or so (though at more than twice that age, I enjoyed the book myself!). April Grace is certainly a likable character, and since her family is filled with more "characters" than most of us have ever known, it is fun to follow along with her adventures.

    [Note that I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    I LOVE April Grace!

    This was one of the funniest, cutest books I've read in a long while. I loved the character of April Grace. She is so open and honest. It's endearing. Well, not to some people who cross her path - like her new neighbor, Isabel St. James. But as I've from the country as well...we would get along just fine!!

    April Grace lives in the Ozarks. Country living at it's best. And Isabel St. James & husband, Ian are from the big state of California. The cultures don't mix to say the least. All of the characters are great. I really loved the story! I can picture this as a series on tv, or maybe movies.

    It's full of laughs and good old fashioned teachings. I recommend this for anyone. It's geared to ages 9 to 12...but I really think this would be enjoyable for even those older. I know I'm a follower. I can't wait for book #2 Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2