Customer Reviews for

In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Almost replaces a viewing of A Christmas Story

    All of the hilarious moments that make the movie a tradition are here along with other anecdotes. Actually the tale of Ralphie's plot to get the Red Ryder carbine action BB gun only takes one chapter; but there are a lot more misadventures spread throughout. If A Christmas Story is part of your holiday viewing year after year, this will enhance your enjoyment of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    A Must Have In Every Book Collection

    This book reminds me of the old stories my grandmother told me as a child from her like in the fourties. I think the imagery gives it character and i would recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    when men were men

    In Indiana 60-65 years ago, men were men and sheep were sheep. Buy the book-- but pay in cash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Superior to all others

    This book is a masterwork of fiction that is like a time machine that takes you to depression era Indiana. If you have ever watched 'A Christmas Story' you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2000

    Like Fine Wine, It Gets Better With Age

    Jean's wit and his phrasology are in a class by themselves. Anyone should be able to identify with his rememberances even if their childhood was at a later time than the late thirties--early forties. I enjoy reading parts of this book as I do enjoying a glass of fine wine. The song, 'Try to Remember' would aptly describe the many poignant memories included in this very witty book. Read all Shepherd's material. I guarantee you'll identify with most of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    humorous

    If you liked the movie' A Christmas Story' you will love this book. It is a wonderful trip into a man's memories of his childhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Funny and captures an era

    Jean Shepherd was a great storyteller and this book captures his style. Many episodes from this book were later adapted into the popular movie, A Christmas Story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    If you've seen the movie...don't bother with the book! It's &qu

    If you've seen the movie...don't bother with the book! It's "A Christmas Story" in book form. I've seen the movie a gazillion times and thought this was another story written by the same author...it's not. It's the SAME story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    I enjoyed the narrative and story weaving that Jean pulled toget

    I enjoyed the narrative and story weaving that Jean pulled together in this book. A slice of Americana family history in a well written tale. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    A Christmas Story

    Only one chapter of it :( watch the movie though it is awsome
    :) - Happystar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book! One of the stories in it was the movie "A C

    Wonderful book! One of the stories in it was the movie "A Christmas Story" which is also my favorite Christmas movies. Jean Shepherd has a really funny dry wit! This is a book I read over and over!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Funny read

    Just finished. Laughed the whole time. Dispointed no mention of the tongue on pole incident. Guess some things are better left for the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    GOOD FOR THE HEART

    i used to stay awake half the night to listen to Gene on, i think it was, WOR N.Y. Then I read his books. reread his books and laughed myself silly. Last time I read In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash, I laughed again as the book was in the religion section of the local library. It will be a joy to read this book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Good expansion on A Christmas Story

    Love the movie, remember it from my child hood. Since it was the Christmas season decided to finally read the book it was based on. Very nice that it wasn't completely the same thing, in fact only one chapter was. It's a nice easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Excellent slice of American life

    This collectiom of storiesis whimsical and intelligent. It is interesting to see how the pieces were pulled together to form the classic holiday movie, 'A Christmas Story.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Good Good Good

    one of the best books ever written jean shepered tells an all american story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    For the child in all of us

    Surely the late Jean Shepherd will be remembered as America's literary master of nostaglic humor. I adore the way he spins his memories into a sweet and utterly hilarious narrative with which every generation can identify. Anyone who has repeatedly enjoyed the movie 'A Christmas Story' ought to read at least once the book that inspired it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    I Often Go Home Again

    Anyone who claims that the movie 'A Christmas Story' includes the best of this book must be a speed reader. True, much in the movie is included, but there is so much more; subtle at times, overt at others, but most brings one back to one's own 'good (maybe bad)old days.' Perhaps its partly gender related, perhaps age, but I can vividly SEE the characters (not from the movie, but from my past) and I can RECALL my feelings when encountering the events. Shepherd's use of vocabulary to paint the scenes in this and his other works makes this Journalism major quite jealous. He remains the best of his class of writer. By the way, reading his books is great, but listening to him tell the tales is priceless (his voice is the voice-over in the movie). If only the tapes of his Public Radio show were available. I recommend you read all his books. You'll go home again every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Okay.....but watch the movie to save yourself some time

    The movie "A Christmas Story" is based on a single chapter of this book. Unfortunatley, for the most part, the movie took the best part of the book...in other words, if you've seen the movie- - there's nothing else in the book you REALLY need to read about. Just my opinion

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    A great book

    it is a great book. It is really funny. It is such a good book, they have made 2 movies from some of the chapters. ' A christmas story' and ' it runs in the family' It is a great book for a reading lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3