Customer Reviews for

In Harm's Way: The Sinking of the U.S.S. Indianapolis and the Extraordinary Story of Its Survivors

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    WAY ABOVE THE REST

    This book is so good! I didn't know anything about the USS Indianapolis- I didn't even know it existed! My aunt gave me the book, and I read it in 3 days. It really makes you think about what people in the military went through during World War II. It's just amazing to me how much strength and will power people have when their life is at risk. I don't usually like non-fiction books, especially about war, but this book was excellent, and I highly recommend reading it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Enthralling

    The author did a great job retelling the story of the USS Indianapolis. I found the story so engaging I truly could not put the book down. From beginning to end, this true story carries you on an emotional adventure that persists even after you've read the last page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Great Story of Survival in an Excellent Book

    In Harm¿s Way, written by Doug Stanton, is the story of the sinking of the USS Indianapolis during World War II. The story begins on July 15, 1945, with the USS Indianapolis anchored at Mare Island, California. The crew of the ship is getting ready to leave on their next mission, carrying a top secret cargo to Tinian Island in the Pacific Ocean. Unknown to the crew of the Indy, on board is the atomic bomb that would end World War II. It is delivered safely to Tinian, without any problems. Following this journey, the USS Indianapolis heads out to the Philippines, hoping to pressure Japan with Navy presence. Unescorted, the Indianapolis travels into enemy waters, and is torpedoed by an enemy submarine. Three hundred men die in the explosion, while approximately nine hundred men escape into the ocean. While in the water, the sailors must fight to survive, battling hunger, thirst, sharks, and hypothermia. In the end, a mere 317 of the original crew of 1,196 survived the disaster. The main message of this book is the story of survival amongst the men of the USS Indianapolis. It is a story of unity amongst crew members, and their struggle to fight death, living to see another day at sea. What I liked about this book was the way that it explains everything that happened to the men of the ship. It makes you feel like you were there, and went through it with them. It is amazing to see what they had to go through, and how much strength and courage it took to survive such a catastrophe. The only thing I disliked about this book was the way it jumped around in time, and was at times unclear of when it was. This was not a major issue, just a slight annoyance. If you are interested in books about World War II, then this book is a great read. It gives specific dates, events, and names of historical figures. Even if you just like to read books on survival, In Harm¿s Way is great because of its detail and ability to captivate the reader with what the men went through. Another good Non-Fiction book to read is Nam, by Mark Baker. This book also gives a great story of teamwork and survival during the Vietnam War. Overall, I give In Harm¿s Way 5/5 stars, for its excellent story, and real life account of the sinking of the Indianapolis. I would recommend this book to everyone, for a great read and an incredible story of endurance and courage.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    A well written and suspenseful book

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. I had to do a school project on the INDY, and when i read this book, i couldn't believe what these men went through!!! They sacrificed everything for their country. This book covers the story in explicit detail, therefore I would recomend it to anybody interested in history.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    In Harm's Way

    I am acquainted with one of the army nurses who was on Guam at the time of the Indianapolis' sinking. She recommended this book, and told me that Doug Stanton has told the true story of what happened. I have sent copies of this book to my entire family. My grandchildren are reading it . I was unable to put the book down once I started reading it, and cried all the way through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!

    I could not put this book down. It's a must read for everyone. It is amazing what those men had to go through.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Survival on the Relentless Ocean

    In Harms Way by Doug Stanton is the gritty story of one of the US navy's most terrible disasters at the end of the Second World War. The book begins with the story of the ship, the USS Indianapolis. A cruiser that has seen her fair share of action and has been in the thick in some of the crucial battles in the pacific campaign. By 1945 she is taken from the front lines to carry out a special to transport a special device to a US base on an island in the pacific. The Indianapolis or the "Indy" known by the crew, sails into waters it assumes are safe, but series of mistakes and communication problems lead to the unthinkable. The ship gets torpedoed and sinks with her crew stranded in the middle of the ocean and the US navy doesn't know anything about it. <BR/> The book covers key members of the crew including the Captain Charles McVay, Doctor Lewis Haynes, and many others who survived and offer their personal accounts. The ordeals these men went through is astonishing to read about and makes you really respect all those who serve in uniform. <BR/> This is generally a "guy book", if you liked "Band of Brothers" you will definitely like this book. This book is without a doubt a page turner an epic tale of the raw will to survive and the incredible story these men have to tell for the rest of their lives. Now using the "Roger Ebert rating system" I give this book four out of four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    A Great Read

    I was hocked from beginning to end. It had everything you would want in a good book: danger, adventure, horror and joy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Wonderful

    This book was one of the best I have ever read. I knew very little about the USS Indianapolis before I read the book. The book opened my eyes to the horror of what those men had to endure. I find it amazing most people have never even heard about the USS Indianoplis. This book was amazing. I think that everyone should read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    Minute by Minute Survival & Bureaucracy

    This is one of the best book I have ever read. It is extremely well written and well paced. It details people's suffering, loss, and the crew's survival when attacked by nature and betrayed by their own Navy's bureaucratic incompetence. In fact the Japanese Sub Capt (who sunk them) was more helpful than their own CO. You feel sad for the vioctims on a lot of levels. And EXCELLENT and fast read. Loved the BOOK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Great read!

    This is one of the best non-fiction books I have ever read. It's 288 pages are a fast read, and the book is never boring. It is profoundly moving, a great tribute to the men of the USS Indianapolis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    A New Understanding

    Stanton's book is outstanding and gripping. It gives such a new and deep view of WW2 and what our young servicemen were put through while the Navy snubbed it's nose. 600 men and boys lost their lives while in the waters of the Pacific while Navy Officers turned to other matters. I read this book in two days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    A tragic sinking during the closing months of WWII

    A well researched and well written book that tell the full story of the sinking of the Indianapolis at the closing months of the Pacific war. Most of the sailors would have perished at sea if rescue has come a day or two later. Captain McVay, throgh mo fault of his, has been make a scapegoat by the Navy authority to cover their mistakes. Captain McVay survive the ordeal at sea but blame himself for the lost of lives and pay the utimate price of taking his own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    INTENSE!!!!!

    Read this book! If you like to read to find yourself in the midst of a story so powerful, that you feel as if you were there, at that moment, thinking and feeling everything that you read, Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Gripping Reality

    This book is a don't turn out the lights until you are done!!! The survivor's tell a vivid, horrifying,compassionate tale of what really happened on that day on board the Indianappolis. I am recommending this book to all my friends. Doug Stanton has a new bookfan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    THE BEST

    This is the best book that I have ever read. I read it in 3 days and I never could put it down. It's the only time that's ever happened to me. It is written in great detail about the true story of the US NAVY cover-up and the imoral court-martial on the ships captain that lead him to suicide in 1968 after being stripped of his dignity and honor. I encourage anyone that likes history, books, excitement, or just anything to buy it and read it. You won't regret it. I promise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Amazing

    This book was just amazing I learn a lot and I would totally tell others to read it. I love how the author got his inforamation from the surivors and didn't just use information in textbooks or internet. He made it more real to me. I could image how they felt, what they were thinking it not just a story, it took me on a jounary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Highly recommended - A must read!

    "In Harm's way" is a phenomenal story. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    good read

    well documented and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Excellent Reading

    Mr. Stanton does a superb job of weaving historical facts into a cohesive, easy to read narrative. The book contains a great deal of footnotes, with lots of extra information. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5