Customer Reviews for

In Her Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Characters you can't forget.

    The author's gift is in creating SciFi worlds but grounding the story in the inter-dynamics of the characters. Hicks does such a good job in the characterizations of the main characters that they didn't leave me even when I wasn't reading the books. About midway through the series, the characters and story began to haunt me (in a good way). This is a very good series that I would recommend not only to SciFi junkies, but also to those who haven't read the genre before. It's well written with a very good pace. I read all three books within a week. Strongly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Brilliant

    This book is well done excellent detail to the landscaping it takes my breath away just to imagine some of the scenes and places. And the characters are brilliantly done. When I read this series it makes me feel like I am right there next to them and I swear I can hear their voices, feel their emotions. I think this series is a must read for any science fiction collection. Also a brilliant tale of a coming of age hero where his actions have consequences. A must read for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OK. I had determined in the first half of this book I really cou

    OK. I had determined in the first half of this book I
    really could not justify even a solid three star rating.
    It seemed repetitive and lacking in content. There was
    also profanity and I wasn't at all impressed with the
    writing..there was also a lot of typographical errors.
    This is a story of a cruel warring planet who is feared
    by confederations and all who dwell within.
    This is also a story about a young boy who repeatedly
    suffers because of this planet of cruel individuals.
    His life continues in chaos after being captured. He
    goes through much physical and emotional pain. He, also,
    evaluates and reevaluates his fate in life. He has to
    decide what course he should pursue.
    There is a scene with sexual content but doesn't become
    explicit.
    I, reluctantly, had to change my rating because the last
    half of the book was very profound and intense. It really
    left the reader hungry for the next book of the sequel.
    This novel is about survival, loyalty, honesty, honor,
    love, hate, friendship, wartime, fortitude and perseverance.
    This is primarily written for YA but I wouldn't recommend
    it for YA reading because of profanity and sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Names

    Alright. Shecats...Eversparkle Windlily Roseshade Pinefire Hollylight Berryleaf Eagleflower Sweetrose Sweetblossom Riversplash Silverlight Lunadawn Tinystream Amberflame Firewind Firewing Firestreak Lilydapple Lilyflame Sparkleshine Lakefur Lakeglint Lakeglimmer Autumnflower. Toms...Talonclaw Clawtail Climbheart Wavecrash Graytalon Vinefur Snakebite Stormwhisker Devilspit Spartaheart Aresclaw Hermeswing Zeusflight Sparrowwhisker Dusksky Skytalon Webclaw Hamsternose Wolfscar Scarpelt Jakelopefur Mudface Fishface Northwind Pandaspot Clawface.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    Just finished the first 3 before this series and can hardly wait

    Just finished the first 3 before this series and can hardly wait to start the next 3 on my Nook, and it was so addictive! The flow of the writing just pulls you through the pages until you get to the end...way too soon! I've already recommended it to every one I know that enjoys this genre. Great job Mr. Hicks you have a true gift. Please, keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    In Her Name: Empire by Michael R. Hicks was a real treat! I gob

    In Her Name: Empire by Michael R. Hicks was a real treat! I gobbled it up in two sittings and read until my eyes hurt. I was captured by the story within the first three pages and felt the struggle of the Protagonist as if it was my own. When I got to the end, I discovered I was angry. Angry that I hadn't purchased the next two books! It doesn't take rocket science to know what I'm going to read next. Great work Mr Hicks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    This tale started out slow and rapidly became difficult to put d

    This tale started out slow and rapidly became difficult to put down! Fascinating story line. The idea of aliens has to be rethought after this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I have read this on the other popular e-reader, and here's my op

    I have read this on the other popular e-reader, and here's my opinion. As far as the story goes, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I didn't fall in love with the characters and the storyline didn't draw me in. That said, it is very solidly written. Michael Hicks does an amazing job and I can understand all of the buzz this series gets. If you are into the military sci-fi scene, there is a good chance you will enjoy not only this books, but the entire series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I admit it. I was sucked into the story before Chapter One ended. The Good... Although the stakes never change (life or death every time) it feels like it does. It's not a matter of if Reza will survive; it's a matter of how and who will survive alongside him. Empire is rife with tension and conflict from beginning to end, forcing the reader to keep turning pages to see what happens next. The characters feel real and demand we pay attention to them. The Not-so-good... While the overall writing is captivating, there is quite a bit of head hopping to get used to. Even so, Hicks is able to pull it off with a minimum of jarring the reader. At times the descriptions of the Kreelan homeworld were more detailed than I like and I felt they dragged the story down. However, one expects a certain amount of world building in Science Fiction and Fantasy. I don't think the descriptions in Empire were excessive. The Overall... Loved this book. I highly recommend this for anyone remotely interested in Science Fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Really loved this book!

    Purchased the Omnibus as an ebook for my Samsung Epic and it was a great read for the price. I am soo happy that there are new Sci Fi writers like Michael Hicks out there. I am happily reading all his stuff. Had no trouble reading it on my Epic. I am a VERY fast reader so it did take a lot of flicks, but on my epic I was always able to take up where I stopped. Liked his writing soo much I have asked my local library to purchase the hard copy of his new book coming out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have read the entire series and found the books well written and the story engrossing. Overall a good non hard scifi series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    Don't buy the E-Book

    The digital book is horribly formated. Each paragraph requires a page flip (loading of a new subfile), no matter if it fills the screen or not (by the time I got frustated and gave up reading I had yet to have a paragraph fill more than 2/3 of my Droid screen and on the computer HA!). When the omnibus has over 6000 paragraphs and the flow of reading gets broken after each paragraph, I just could not finish the book. And what I read seemed really interesting.

    Currently in the process of converting the book to a different format. Even if it becomes readable I don't suggest purchase as it is to much trouble.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    One Of The Best I Have Ever Read

    I was completely engrossed into the story from the start to the finish I would recommend this to any sci-fi fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2