Customer Reviews for

In Her Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Characters you can't forget.

    The author's gift is in creating SciFi worlds but grounding the story in the inter-dynamics of the characters. Hicks does such a good job in the characterizations of the main characters that they didn't leave me even when I wasn't reading the books. About midway through the series, the characters and story began to haunt me (in a good way). This is a very good series that I would recommend not only to SciFi junkies, but also to those who haven't read the genre before. It's well written with a very good pace. I read all three books within a week. Strongly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Brilliant

    This book is well done excellent detail to the landscaping it takes my breath away just to imagine some of the scenes and places. And the characters are brilliantly done. When I read this series it makes me feel like I am right there next to them and I swear I can hear their voices, feel their emotions. I think this series is a must read for any science fiction collection. Also a brilliant tale of a coming of age hero where his actions have consequences. A must read for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Names

    Alright. Shecats...Eversparkle Windlily Roseshade Pinefire Hollylight Berryleaf Eagleflower Sweetrose Sweetblossom Riversplash Silverlight Lunadawn Tinystream Amberflame Firewind Firewing Firestreak Lilydapple Lilyflame Sparkleshine Lakefur Lakeglint Lakeglimmer Autumnflower. Toms...Talonclaw Clawtail Climbheart Wavecrash Graytalon Vinefur Snakebite Stormwhisker Devilspit Spartaheart Aresclaw Hermeswing Zeusflight Sparrowwhisker Dusksky Skytalon Webclaw Hamsternose Wolfscar Scarpelt Jakelopefur Mudface Fishface Northwind Pandaspot Clawface.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    Just finished the first 3 before this series and can hardly wait

    Just finished the first 3 before this series and can hardly wait to start the next 3 on my Nook, and it was so addictive! The flow of the writing just pulls you through the pages until you get to the end...way too soon! I've already recommended it to every one I know that enjoys this genre. Great job Mr. Hicks you have a true gift. Please, keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Must read

    I have read all the books "In Her Name" up to here, and have started Dead Soul. Each one gets better. I hope there are more to come and will be lookig to read more from Michael. Great author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    This tale started out slow and rapidly became difficult to put d

    This tale started out slow and rapidly became difficult to put down! Fascinating story line. The idea of aliens has to be rethought after this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I just read empire. Now i am hooked on this series and have to wait to read the other two. Someday i want to be able to create such vivid worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I have read this on the other popular e-reader, and here's my op

    I have read this on the other popular e-reader, and here's my opinion. As far as the story goes, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I didn't fall in love with the characters and the storyline didn't draw me in. That said, it is very solidly written. Michael Hicks does an amazing job and I can understand all of the buzz this series gets. If you are into the military sci-fi scene, there is a good chance you will enjoy not only this books, but the entire series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    In Her Name: Confederation

    Could barely put it down to perform essential functions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Outstanding!

    Gripping plotline with belivable characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    The authors trilogy deserves more than five stars

    I also bought all the other books but was a bit pput off by all the long fighting scenes. In all his books the characters are well ddeveloped and the scenery draws one right in. I am so looking forward to a book about the peace between the two planets and more about Reza s son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I can't wait to read the final book in the trilogy! I am hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    A real page turner that will keep you thoroughly engrossed. An author who deserves to be at the top of your wish list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A great ending to the series

    I enjoyed the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A good read

    Geart story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Action, More Story, Less Crisp

    In Her Name: Confederation has more of a science fiction feel than the first in the series. It is similar to the first book in that we follow Reza Gard over a period of years. I'm not sure if I'm more into the story, or if it's because Hicks gained confidence as he went on, but the writing seemed more in the scene in the second book. Probably a combination of both confidence and my enjoyment.

    Gard appears in the story shortly after it begins and immediately takes control of the show. After spending years with the Kreelans, his personality, his spirit, and even his physiology is changed. We are shown new tricks that Gard learned as a Desh-Ka Priest. Hicks does a great job of releasing these tidbits throughout, all the way until the end.

    Although it is the second in a series, I love that In Her Name: Confederation has a great build up and climax. In another series I'm reading, it feels like each book is only meant as a precursor to the next. I don't get that with Hicks at all. Each of the first two books can stand on its own.

    There were two things keeping In Her Name: Confederation from a five, but I'm a bit of a stickler so I'm not surprised.

    The second book didn't seem as clean to me as In Her Name: Empire, or Season of the Harvest, a thriller also written by Hicks. It wasn't bad, the grammar was fine, but there were areas throughout that could have been crisper.

    The second reason is that I'm not 100% sold on how much I love the characters. Like them yes, love, not yet. This tells you how much I love the plot and every other element in the series since I'm still at four out of five stars. There is no doubt however, that as the story progresses I will only enjoy it even more. Part of my enjoying a specific author is becoming used to their writing style.

    In Her Name: Confederation is a great second book in the series and anybody looking for a science fiction or fantasy series would do well to get this one on their bookshelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Beautiful!

    This entire series was beautiful.The final book brought a tear to my eyes. I only hope someday the author returns Reza, and the rest for these characters truly touched my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    A fitting ending

    While reading the book I had a Return of the Jedi vibe the whole time, and it wasn't just the massive space battle at the end. It was the feeling that you get when the last part of a trilogy is still good but not as awesome as what came before it. That is final battle in a nutshell.

    The villains were a little to bad and the good guys a tad to good. Some of the plot seemed to just be pulled out of thin air, but it does all work so I can't complane to much.

    A good fitting conclusion to the massive epic that Hicks has constructed is deftly worth your time. I had been looking some something big epic and not over written and that is what the whole of the In Her Name series is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    A worthy middle chapter.

    Confederation makes a perfect companion piece to Empire the first book in the In Her Name series, because of its focus on the human side of the war that has been raging for over a hundred years.

    I Commend the auther for having the courage to spend a large part of the first half of the story with his main character being off in the side, letting the new human players shine, and giving us an understand of the Confederation before we are thrust back into Reza's story.

    There are a few times where it seems that the plot is going off the rails and you just want to see Reza Gard be a kick ass marine, but thankfully they read fast and all pay off by the end of the book.

    My Major complainant is that I felt the cliff hanger at the end was a tad week. It wasn't as jarring since I was reading the Omnibus edition and could just go right to Final Battle. But if I was waiting it would have felt a bit limp.

    Other then that great read and good middle section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Really loved this book!

    Purchased the Omnibus as an ebook for my Samsung Epic and it was a great read for the price. I am soo happy that there are new Sci Fi writers like Michael Hicks out there. I am happily reading all his stuff. Had no trouble reading it on my Epic. I am a VERY fast reader so it did take a lot of flicks, but on my epic I was always able to take up where I stopped. Liked his writing soo much I have asked my local library to purchase the hard copy of his new book coming out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4