Customer Reviews for

In Her Shoes

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    chick lit at it's best

    This is chick lit at it's best. I was totally drawn into the story of these sisters and their estranged grandmother. The Feller sisters Maggie and Rose seem so different at the beginning of the story but through circumstance they both end up changing and figuring themselves out which brings them closer together. By the end they realize that they're not so different. I enjoyed the three different perspectives of Rose, Maggie and the grandmother. This is a great book and I'd also have to recommend the movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book to pieces. Never wanted to put it down. The characters are wonderful and I saw myself in both girls. Couldn't wait to read it and when it was done, I was left wanting more. A definite must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love the sister relationship

    In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner was the first book i ever read by this author. I had seen the movie, and heck, why not read the book. I love love LOVE the sister relationship going on between Rose and Maggie. Althoough I don't have a sister myself, it reminds me of me and my best friend. My best friend, the "Maggie" scoring every guy she sees, and just being a fearless girl living her life. Me, the "Rose" who is not as beautiful as Maggie, not as fearless, and definitely cannot score every guy. In Her Shoes is an extremely witty tale through relationships, heartbreaks, anger explosions, and the best thing of all, family.

    Definately Jennifer Weiner's best book out there. I have recommended this book to every woman I know. Excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    In Her Shoes Review

    I really enjoyed this book, it's actually my favorite book! I saw the movie first and thought that it was really original and good, but, of course, the book was a lot better. It's interesting to see how the relationship between the two sisters grows and how the different personas develop. I think this is a book that any two sisters should read. It really shows the individuality of how to sisters can clash, but also how their relationship can flourish. My favorite part about the book is that it's very real, all of the things that happen to Maggie and Rose happen to lots of families and that's why it makes it easy to relate to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    FABULOUS!!!

    I loved this book. Jennifer transports you into Maggie and Rose's world. You are on an emotional roller coaster that only a sister can take you on from start to finish. I LOVED, LOVED this book:) Highly recomended!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Cute

    Well...i dont think any guys would be interested in this book but it was so cute for girls. I love the way maggie and rose have this special conection with one another no matter what is going on in their lives. I love the sense of realness the author creates. If you are a chick and want a motivating family book this is it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    It was so hard to put this book done. Even thow her sister take

    It was so hard to put this book done. Even thow her sister take something of hers all the time. she forgave her in the long run. Most people can not that, but some people can change. They where there for each other in the beginning and there where in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I haven't read yet

    On vacation, been to busy to read. This will be my next one to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of Jennifer Weiner¿s earlier novels In Her Shoes explores th

    One of Jennifer Weiner’s earlier novels In Her Shoes explores the roles in a sister’s relationship. For example which sister is successful and which is not? How do families play a role in this relationship?
    Synopsis:
    Maggie has always struggled to live up to her sister Rose the lawyer. We first meet Maggie at a bar where her sister Rose has to come again to rescue her. Someone in Maggie’s family comes to her rescue often, either Rose or their father. Rose tries to deliver to her dad’s house, but is turned away. Maggie comes to live with Rose. Will things ever be the same? One night Rose comes home from work and finds Maggie with her boyfriend in bed. Rose throws everyone out and starts on a new direction for her life. What will happen to Maggie? What will Roses new direction reveal about her life?
    My Thoughts:
    This is my second time reading this novel. I listened to the audio version which is abridged. I was disappointed with the abridgment because it left out many of my favorite moments in this novel. Some of my favorite moments are Maggie’s time at Princeton which is mentioned but not in as much detail. Rose attending a party in her honor which her step mother hosted. Rose gets revenge and creates a very hilarious moment. Maggie learns to grow when coming to visit Ella.
    This novel will stay in my library for a long time. I have come to greatly appreciate both Maggie and Rose. Some copies of this novel have an interview with the author which is what made me appreciate her writing. I look forward to my next Jennifer Weiner novel.
    Please visit Jennifer’s Facebook page, twitter, and her website.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2012

    must read

    I really luved this book, total page turner, but I gotta say teh dependent sister drove me insane!!!!! Still luved the book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    awesome!

    awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Excellent Book

    This book has givin me a chance to see what adulthood is like in the real world , not in movies.I'm not much of a reader but this s avery interesting book I think every child over 12 should read. Just so everyone knows I'm only13 and this is an enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Better then yhe movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love love love it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Characters

    I really enjoyed this book by Jennifer Weiner. You should read this book before reading her other novels. Especially if you have a sister and have dealt with the issues of sibiling rivalry and competitiveness. However, many people will be able to relate to the characters in this book whether they have a sister or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Light, entertaining, modern

    An enjoyable, easy read. You feel for each of the characters and want them to resolve their relationships

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed this book

    I bought this book after reading 2 other of Jennifer's books and liking them. From the beginning I liked the book and as I read more and mroe I started to love the book. I thought the story was great and I finished the book in just a couple of days. I think Jennifer does an amazing job and the books make you think and some of them hit home. Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Thumbs Up!

    Cameron Diaz's picture on the cover caught my eye, and that was the reason why I bought this book. And as I read the book I can clearly picture her in the character. For people who would like to read something light, this is a good book to read. Very entertaining and there are even pointers to take when it comes to living life. You'd be surprised :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    FUN GREAT READ

    My 1st Weiner book but wont be my last. I loved this cant wait to see the movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13