Customer Reviews for

In His Steps

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Life Changing Read!

Charles Sheldon's groundbreaking late 19th Century novel is a worthwhile, still groundbreaking read. The novel is credited with the coining of the phrase 'What would Jesus do?' and challenges the reader to consider this question in his/her everyday life. After reading t...
Charles Sheldon's groundbreaking late 19th Century novel is a worthwhile, still groundbreaking read. The novel is credited with the coining of the phrase 'What would Jesus do?' and challenges the reader to consider this question in his/her everyday life. After reading the book the story and breadth of the commitment of the characters in the novel to the mission of Jesus is inspiring and truly a moving witness to the power of love for all humanity and a true appreciation of the peace found in one's faith in God. I encourage any one interested in Christian inspiration literature and theology to delve into this incredible classic.

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

this book

this book is the worst book i think that i have ever read in my entire life, and i have read my brothers diary b4 uhgg

posted by 59missyd on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Wonderful

    God will really speak to you in this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A Life Changing Read!

    Charles Sheldon's groundbreaking late 19th Century novel is a worthwhile, still groundbreaking read. The novel is credited with the coining of the phrase 'What would Jesus do?' and challenges the reader to consider this question in his/her everyday life. After reading the book the story and breadth of the commitment of the characters in the novel to the mission of Jesus is inspiring and truly a moving witness to the power of love for all humanity and a true appreciation of the peace found in one's faith in God. I encourage any one interested in Christian inspiration literature and theology to delve into this incredible classic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    this book

    this book is the worst book i think that i have ever read in my entire life, and i have read my brothers diary b4 uhgg

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Exercising Faith

    In His Steps certainly brings to the forefront of my thoughts how shallow we really live without the full experience of relying on Jesus to do just what He promised. The reigning theme 'What would Jesus Do' is so awesome and can be overwhelming in 'self'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    This is a wonderful book for a study group so I ordered this ver

    This is a wonderful book for a study group so I ordered this version of the book specifically because of the study/application material prepared by David and Karen Mains. However, the book DOES NOT CONTAIN this added material. After speaking with the publisher, I found out that the material was edited out a few years ago and there is no way to purchase one with the added material. B&N NEEDS TO REMOVE THIS FROM THE DESCRIPTION.
    I give the story 5 stars but not this "expanded" edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Timeless Classic

    I've read this book several times throughout my adult life and each time it touches me deeply and propels me to be a true Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Everyone should read! Highly recommended!

    Through the last 73 years, I have read "In His Steps"
    and am convinced that it is better each time.
    is a true "classic". Deffinatly a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    This is a great book that offers not only a great story but an e

    This is a great book that offers not only a great story but an even better message that as Christians we are to take up our cross and follow him and His example no matter the cost.

    I would recommend this book for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I really like this book I really like this book

    I think everyone should read this book It wil change your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review title: Saving Souls with the Savior. Consider the questio

    Review title: Saving Souls with the Savior.
    Consider the question "What Would Jesus Do?" for any life situation that confronts you, then pray, and then follow the answer that comes in your heart. That is what a minister challenged his congregation to do. Many took the pledge and the challenge and this manuscript reveals reveals to the readers the outcome of this pledge and challenge. This novel is great for encouraging 21st century Christians to "step up" and follow in Jesus' footsteps and observe how taking the pledge will revolutionize our world. Two thumbs up for this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    A Classic worth your shelf space to keep!

    My daughter's book club is reading this. Sheldon was a man ahead of his time. Each chapter is meant to be paused over and thought about for a week, but you can stream through it as well. Each of us has a great gift to offer our neighbor, and Sheldon won't let us get by without facing that question, "What would Jesus do."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Inspiring read

    This inspiring book was suggested to us at a Bible Study at my church. The lady said she gave it to each Senior in her sports classes. What a wonderful way to pass it on. Now I pass it on to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great book for Lent

    I have been reading this book throughout Lent. It is a great way to become closer to God inn your Christain faith. I too have taken up the challange to live my life asking WWJD What Would Jesus Do? I have felt my connection with God becoming much stronger. I also have come across the conclusion that Lent isn't about giving something up because you are told you should do so but, to do somthing to strengthen your bond with Christ. I felt I was slacking on reading the Bible so for Lent I am reading it more. In His Steps really makes you think. More and more often I find my self asking "Am I living as Christ would?" Which is what the challenge's purpose is isn't. If more Christains took up this challenge what would the world be? Yes crime would probably still be out there but not as much we Christains need to help change the world for the better. Isn't that what God is calling us to do? Isn't that what Christain faith is? We Christains have the power to change the world with God. But, do we do it? Do we call up our friends who don't know God and say "Come with me to church today"? Some of us might but ALL of us should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    VARIETY, Emotional, Fascinating, and Inspirational Reading- WWJD

    I enjoyed each moment of reading. I spent much time in circumspect, in awe, in empathy, joy, sadness, and many other emotions that drew me close to the characters and their plight for answering WWJD. At the same time. I was led to examine my own walk. I am fascinated with the era the book was written; the setting of carriages, footwalking, letterwritting, and an overall slow pace of life is such a contrast, yet, so much the same in attitudes and selfcenterdness. Also, my Nook reader was handy to look up today's outdated words used a century ago. I count this book as one of my most recommended, along with: Purpose Driven Life, It's Not About Me, and of course, my Bible. ALAN LANGFORD, Huntsville, AL August 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    great book

    We used this book for our summer reading group. Everyone seemed to get a different edition of it, some were set in a different time period. It was a real eye opener for how you live your life. I bought the book as gifts after I read it. It really makes you think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Still around

    This book was first published many years ago. Its tenure is a testimony to its message. Although a fiction, many have testified that it has dramatically changed their lives. Also recommended is a little known book called "MY FATHERS EYES" by Jim Loose. Also available from bn.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2