Customer Reviews for

In Leah's Wake

Average Rating 3.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

STRONGLY recommend if you have teenager issues!

When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfri...
When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfriend (in our case girlfriend) and family/adults that encouraged the behavior. I could relate and feel every emotion of the parents. I would love to thank the author for this book....while reading it I did not feel so alone.

posted by asnow4sure on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Bear to Finish!

The first few chapters were pretty awesome - decent plot, good background information, neat character introductions - but after that it started going downhill. The chapters got very repetitive and prgressively less interesting. I just couldn't bear to finish it.

posted by 6905166 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Poorly written

    This was a book club pick, and this is the only reason I finished it. Characters lacked substance, story lines fizzled. Skip it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Terrible.

    One of the major reasons I purchased this book was because previous customers had compared the writing style of Terri Giuliano Long to that of Jodi Picoult. Nothing could be further from the truth. I wonder if the previous customers had even read anything by Picoult or if they formed that opinion based upon the made-for-tv movies they watched that were created from Picoult's books. The story does not flow, there is no clear plot, and the characters are undeveloped. I feel like reading this book was a waste of my time. The highlight: I only paid $0.99.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Not worth it

    Im sorry, but it wasn't even worth spending even less than a $1 for a Nook book. This book could have been a nice short story, e.g., less than 100 pages. Yes, many of us have been like a Leah or had children like her. It took a very long time to explain the story - it was too much detail and, at times, repetitive. That's why I was especially shocked and dismayed to have the ending be so brief and almost absent of any details. There was a very large build up of details, and then just barely nothing at the end. That would have been the perfect opportunity to bring it all together. I almost stopped reading the book halfway through, but I thought that the ending would be worth it. It wasn't.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Not worth reading

    Too long of a book - I got the point in the first few chapters. I began to skip over pages since it was repetitive. Oddly enough, the ending was not as descriptive and was very short. In my opinion, the ending is where it could have been very impactful. First time I've ever not recommended a book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Not worth it

    Im not a very critical person, but this book was long and pointless. Im all for a plot where normal everyday people can relate but thos story went on forever and its the same story you hear all the time about a teenager who rebels. I disnt find anything about it intriguing and it went on and on about everyday normal activities. Redundant and i wont reccommend it to anyone. I kept reading this book for the only purpose of hoping itd get better and it didnt .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Money

    Theres a reason its so cheap : (

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Boring read

    Boring Boring

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I purchased this book twice and only got the cover both times. This hasn,t ever happened before. I'm very disappointed in Barnes & Noble.

    I buy a lot of books too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Don't Waste Your Money

    I bought this book because it was so cheap and I thought it would possibly me a mindless summer read. Boy was I right! The writing was very juvenile and scattered. I was bored throughout reading it. Glad I didn't spend more than $2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Too long and boring. Nothing really happened, I skimmed over the

    Too long and boring. Nothing really happened, I skimmed over the last 100 pages. Don't bother reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Boring

    I thought this book was very boring..nothing really HAPPENED..it was just a typical story of a child going down the wrong path..i kept waiting for something big to happen that wood chane the direction of the story like leah getting pregnant or leah dying in an accident and telling about the family's coping afterword but nothing ever came...i honestly could not wait to finish it so i could start a different book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I really don't know what is more boring, this book or reading ot

    I really don't know what is more boring, this book or reading others dinner menu on Facebook! Started off slow and remained slow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    A complete waste of time

    I picked this up based on a friend's recommendation, and that is the only reason that I continued reading it to the end. I kept thinking it had to get better. It never did. The story line was interesting but the writing was dismal and the characters were predictable and lifeless. The reviewer who said there was a reason that it was $.99 was right. Don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    pass on this book

    not even half way through and its the same thing over and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Boring

    Didnt grab my attention, i actually skipped alot of the pages im the end just to hurry amd finish. Would not buy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Don't Bother!!!

    This book had no editor! Don't waste your reading time on this!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Too Long!

    After awhile,I just did not care,...skip it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2