Customer Reviews for

In Leah's Wake

Average Rating 3.5
( 370 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

STRONGLY recommend if you have teenager issues!

When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfri...
When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfriend (in our case girlfriend) and family/adults that encouraged the behavior. I could relate and feel every emotion of the parents. I would love to thank the author for this book....while reading it I did not feel so alone.

posted by asnow4sure on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Bear to Finish!

The first few chapters were pretty awesome - decent plot, good background information, neat character introductions - but after that it started going downhill. The chapters got very repetitive and prgressively less interesting. I just couldn't bear to finish it.

posted by 6905166 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A good, heartwarming read

    Leah Tyler is not sure whether the dreams of a soccer scholarship to Harvard are her own, or her father¿s. Caught in between wanting to be the good, straight-A, high achieving soccer player she has always been and enjoying the exciting life her boyfriend Todd has shown her, her life - and her family - start to unravel after she resigns from the soccer team in a fit of petulance. In Leah¿s Wake is the story of a sixteen-year-old rebelling against the high expectations that her parents and community has for her; the common story of an almost-adult trying to be her own person. Leah¿s mother, Zoe, cannot objectively evaluate her oldest daughter or control her or her husband¿s reactions towards Leah¿s wild behaviour, despite being a child psychologist who frequently advises other parents. In Leah¿s Wake is also about a very vulnerable twelve-year-old caught in the her sister¿s downward spiral and the cross-hairs of her parents¿ anger and disappointment. Whilst most stories focus on the rebellious child, Terri pays attention to the one who usually gets left behind in the wake of a family breakdown - Justine, the good, responsible, nerdy kid who stays quietly in the background trying to make things better. The story starts well, but slows down in the early quarter of the book, only picking up towards the middle when the tensions between the four members of the Tyler family start to play off on each other. I enjoyed the way Terri gave us glimpses into the personalities and the backgrounds of each family member. However, some of the jumps between viewpoints were a little abrupt, causing me to stumble through what would have been a very smooth read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    A poignant look at a family in trouble

    I honestly thought this book was a young adult novel, and even though there isn't anything that a young adult shouldn't read I probably wouldn't say it was geared toward young adults. This book is told from the perspective of all four members of Leah's family. My favorite perspectives were that of the two daughters, though the book definitely would not have been complete without the parents point of views. I found myself putting this book down a little more often than other books, but that may have been because this book is a bit deeper than I usually read, and I needed extra digestion time.

    I never went in the direction of Leah as a teenager, but I totally understood her deep need to rebel, to break free of the feeling that someone else is controlling YOUR life. However, as a parent I can see the need to control as a way to keep our children safe, it's hard to let our teens voice their own desires and opinions especially when they may be different than our own. I loved how being the reader of this book I was able to calmly think of all the ways that everyone could have acted and reacted to create completely different outcomes.

    In Leah's Wake is a heartbreaking look at a family that has become disconnected, and have lost the ability to communicate with each other. A family that is desperately trying to hold it all together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Too long and drawn out

    900 pgs and still leaves questions unanswered

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From Perfection to Chaos...

    Description:

    Will and Zoe Tyler have been blessed with a beautiful home, successful careers, a loving relationship, and two talented daughters on their way to leading wonderful and fulfilled lives. Leah, 16, is a model student and soccer star in line for an Ivy League education; and Justine, 12, follows in her sister's footsteps with high marks in school, aspirations of becoming a doctor, and an unshakable faith. It seems that this family is as close as it can get to perfection, until Will's work begins causing problems and Leah starts dating Todd, a drug dealer and high-school dropout. Unfortunately, Leah's infatuation with her new boyfriend introduces her to drugs, theft, sex, and underage drinking, and by the time her parents find out, (and freak out), she has already chosen to side with Todd. Now everything her parents and sister say to her pushes her further away from them and deeper into her teenage cycle of rebellion, leading to her expulsion from the soccer team and the loss of her scholarship. After several failed attempts to bring their daughter back, Will and Zoe are at their breaking points, and so is their once happy marriage, but the trouble is just beginning. Justine feels that Leah is getting all of the family's attention and that she is being ignored; so she begins to act out like Leah, and eventually starts to question the goals and beliefs she once held so dear. Can the Tyler family somehow stay together and find a way to bring their daughters back to them?

    Review:
    Being a fan of real-life family dramas, I immediately signed up to read and review this book, and I am glad that I did. In Leah's Wake is the story of a once happy family and the decisions that lead them into chaos. The characters are very life-like and multidimensional, often bringing a whole new level of reality to the text. Leah's struggle with family versus love / Justine's battle with being seen and with her faith are detailed and full of raw emotion. The dialogue was well-written, but I did get confused a couple times when the chapters shifted to another speaker unexpectedly. I don't know what it was, but this book was frustrating in some respect; I constantly wanted to grab the characters and tell them what to do, because they seemed oblivious and unable to make the right decisions, especially Will and Zoe, but I think that the author wanted to get that response from the reader. The plot was alright, but I didn't see as much progression as I would have liked, and the ending left me wondering what would become of the Tyler family. Just like in real life, you never know what's to come, and that's one of the messages I got from In Leah's Wake. The book was a frightening yet hopeful look into teen rebellion that made me think about family and the choices a person makes in life that can effect it. I recommend this book to teens and their parents, and those who like a good family drama. I will be eagerly waiting for Terri Giuliano Long's next book, Nowhere to Run.

    Rating: Bounty's Out (3.75/5)

    *** I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    I will tell you upfront that this is a heart-wrenching tale. It

    I will tell you upfront that this is a heart-wrenching tale. It is clear that this book is not one of those "good-feeling" young adult books. It is cold, brutal, and at times, hopeless. At times, I found myself thinking about my own daughter. She's not a teen yet, but she will be there before I know it. And some of the situations detailed in this book made me wonder if I would ever have to deal with these kinds of issues. I can only hope and pray that I have raised her right, and I leave her in God's hands. But I know that realistically I may have to deal with issues such as these.




    Let me caution you concerning some potential issues in this book. Personally, I don't feel this book is appropriate for young adults. The profanity is quite rampant--I really could have done without all of that. There was very little sexual activity described in the book--I am grateful for that. This book deals with rebellion, drugs, jail, and much more. So proceed at your own risk.




    This book did not resonate with me as well as I wanted it to. I suppose I am too far removed from this life, but I would have liked to have seen some lighter portions in the book. But the author did cover the issues of teenagers today, and hopefully we can learn from some of the characters' mistakes. 




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Okay

    Not bad ovetall, but drug on in places

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Recommended

    Different than I was expecting but kept my interest to see what would happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I would recommend this book to all parents with young teenaged child


    I am looking Forward to reading more books by Terri Giuliano.


    I definitely would recommend for book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good story

    I liked it at first, but it was dragged out too much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good story but too long

    I enjoyed the story itself but found myself skimming through pages that didn't need to be there. Too many unneeded flashbacks. Also as long as it was...just kind of ended. Didn't give real closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Shockingly good!

    There were a couple parts that i wasnt to wild about and its definately not appropriot for younger kids but its a good book for 99 cents! Id recomend it to some friends. It definatley teaches you not to take things for granted- epecially your family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Good story but a little wordy ....

    I read this book based on the review that the author was similar to Jodi Piccoult. While I can see the comparison, and I am glad I read the book, I found myself thinking "rambling!" several times...it was just a little too wordy. It was over 900 pages on the Nook, and could have easily been condensed to 500. Overall a good read - I loved feeling the story from the different main characters..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Touching but real

    No happy ending here. But real and touching. Family matters is the essential moral. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    A bit hard to take

    Granted I don't have teens yet this book was a little hard to take. I just kept worrying about the next ordeal because they never ended. It was one thing after another without a moment to catch your breath. It was sad, too. Like I said, a bit hard to take.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the Story, The Editing is a Horror!

    This story of teenage rebellion is very good. I was sucked in to the story and was really lost in the environment. Getting so involved in the book was fun--until page 565 when they began referring to some man as "Tyler". Who's Tyler? The family's last name is Tyler, so why is there now a character named Tyler? Took me four pages to realize the father, "WILL", was now being called Tyler. Totally and completely ruined the connection I had established with the father character. I would love to give more stars, as the story is wonderful--but editing so bad that 3/4 of the way through the book the name of a MAJOR character changes???? Heartbreaking to lose a critical connection so late in the story.........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    dragged on

    not bad, but dragged on too long...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Get to the point!

    The book has so much potential to be a truly riveting story about family and the choices we all make (or do not make). However, the story dragged on chapter after chapter after chapter. I honestly kept reading simply because I wanted to get to the climax/resolution of the story. As some other reviewers have stated, this book would have been more effective if it was condensed into fewer pages.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Pages are annoying

    The book says theres 897 pages but theres rlly only 300 some. Its kind of annoying cuz when you turn a page the number jumps from like 50 to 54. But the book seems good so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4