Customer Reviews for

In Leah's Wake

Average Rating 3.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

STRONGLY recommend if you have teenager issues!

When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfri...
When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfriend (in our case girlfriend) and family/adults that encouraged the behavior. I could relate and feel every emotion of the parents. I would love to thank the author for this book....while reading it I did not feel so alone.

posted by asnow4sure on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

So Disappointing

I was looking forward to this read after I read mostly decent reviews...It was boring and wayyyyyy to long. On the Nook it claims to be 897 pages but every other page went up by 2 so I suspect it was more like 600 actual pages of NOTHING!

I read and read hoping for s...
I was looking forward to this read after I read mostly decent reviews...It was boring and wayyyyyy to long. On the Nook it claims to be 897 pages but every other page went up by 2 so I suspect it was more like 600 actual pages of NOTHING!

I read and read hoping for something to happen, and no. I don't recommend wasting your time.

posted by ash8752 on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 369 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Captivating!

    Although this is the first published novel by Terri Giuliano Long, I am happy to say she had me from the moment I picked up her book,"In Leah's Wake"!!! Terri has a wonderful way of telling a story, making you feel connected to the characters in her book. You will feel as though you know Leah's parents, Zoe and Will and sister, Justine. This is a tale of a once close knit family suffering from the demons that plague many teenagers, peer pressure! You will be rooting for Zoe and Will, crying with Justine and pleading for Leah to wake up before she wastes her life, spoils her dreams or worse. A great read. I can't wait for more by TGLong.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Amazing Book!

    I read "In Leah's Wake" by Terri Giuliano Long in just 1 day! I could not put it down. From the very beginning it drew me in and I felt a connection to the characters. In Leah's wake tells the story of love, family, and growing up. I highly recommend this book and I'll bet you'll be rooting for the Tyler family just like I was!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book sucks you in at page 1. The characters - some lovable, others detestable as intended - inspire such an emotional reaction, it is impossible not to become attached. As the story unravels and Leah falls deeper into her self-destruction, you get so caught up in the life of the Tyler family you are likely to forget that they and their stories are works of fiction. This exciting page-turner is a must read for anyone who has ever had, known or been a teenager!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Great family story

    I could not put this book down. If you are a family person, through Terri's fictional characters you will experience all the things that make family relationships so special and at times - so difficult. Highly recommended.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Compelling and Beautifully Written!

    In Leah's Wake is a compelling and beautifully written character novel. It also presents a "what not to do" guide for parents of teenagers and tweens. I found it both entertaining and enlightening and sincerely hope this author has another novel or two in her!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Every parent should read this!

    Terry Guiliano Long's In Leah's Wake draws a fictional portrait of the dismantling of a family that begins when the teenage Leah suddenly veers off the path, into full force rebellion. A soccer star slated for the Ivy League, she misses practice and begins dating Todd, a football player turned troublemaker. As she delves into drugs and sex, her grades take a turn for the worse, and she drops off communication with her friends. Despite their best efforts to draw Leah back into the family, parents Zoe and Will only succeed in pushing her closer to Todd and his wayward friends.

    Leah's self-destruction brings out the differences between Zoe and Will as well: Will is determined to run interference until Leah sees Todd for the creep he is, and Zoe wants to give Leah space so that she can come to her own realizations about what she's doing. When neither approach works, each parent blames the other, and all the old resentments and weaknesses of their marriage surface.

    Meanwhile, Justine, Leah's 12 year old sister, deals with the fallout of Leah's actions. She has to fend for herself as her father stays away from home and her mother sinks into a depression. She is rock in the family, trying to bring Leah back home, trying to take care of her mother, and trying to get her father to see that his overbearing approach is only making things worse.

    Long, draws a skillful portrait of a family and each member of it. Zoe's joy in conducting self-help workshops for the women in the community. Will's drive and ambitions for his daughter, and the decline of his business. Justine's wish for her family to be what it once was. Each character brims with life, with longing, with hope.

    But what Guiliano Long does best is to nudge us to recognize ourselves in Will and Zoe. To give us that perspective to recognize the small decisions that we make that form chasms between us and our children. To remind us that we were there once, too. We were young. We wanted our independence, and sometimes that need drove us to some desperate measures, some dead end roads, and some destructive relationships.

    I can't recommend this enough for any parent, but especially for parents of young girls.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing debut novel

    Wow, this book was amazing!
    A complex story with complex characters. I'm not a parent, my teen years far behind me but this story pulled me in completely.
    There were times when it reminded me of Go Ask Alice which I read in the 70's when the story was told from Leah's perspective.
    In Leah's Wake explores teen/parent issues in the current, tumultuous world. Drugs, alcohol, it also explores the impact of issues like the economy, education, pressure of athletics. So many things.
    At one point, I felt like it was almost too intense...partly because I'm not a parent, I guess, and not used to dealing with all these issues.
    As I was reading this ebook, I had to keep reminding myself that it was Terri's first book.
    It's fiction but I can imagine similar scenarios taking place in many households across the country. I would go so far as to suggest this is a must read for parents of teens.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Wow! What An Amazing Book!

    I kept hearing about this book on Twitter. I don't buy into marketing, so I wasn't sure I believed all the hype, but a lot of people I follow were raving about it and it was only 99 cents, so I figured I'd give it a go. I have only one thing to say. WOW! This complex family story is absolutely as good as it gets! I was totally engrossed. I can't wait for her next book!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Love, love, love this book!

    Three of my friends told me to buy this book because their book club read it and loved it, so I was shocked to see some negative reviews. Now that I've read it, I wonder if those reviewers read the same book, or if they even read at all! I seriously doubt it. The story looks at the problems of not only of a teenager, but her parents and the whole community.

    At the start of the novel, Leah's life is spiraling out of control, and we see the effect this has on the whole family and everyone around her. I was so involved in the story that I read it in one sitting! It's been ages since I've found a book that enthralled me this much! I could not put this book down!

    These characters are so real. You feel like you know them. And the story is one any parent can relate to! It reminded me so much of a Jodi Picoult book, with all the important issues, like parents judging each other and the way that affects the whole family. This is the best book I've read this year. Definitely a must read!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Great Read for Dads with Daughters

    Not quite sure why this book is grouped with Picoult books either. This is not a genre book, but, really a book about deep and complex family relationships. It was certainly entertaining but as a father of 2 girls myself, i wanted to either hoist a beer and stand in solidarity with Will, the dad, or give him a dope slap for not seeing what seemed so obvious to me. I guess that kind of false wisdom comes with the bravery of being out of range - we can be critical even though we know we probably wouldn't do any better.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    What a Fabulous Book!!

    What a fabulous book!!! I was so into the characters that I actually went to bed thinking of them and woke up wondering how they were going to (hopefully ) work things out. Because I am the mother of two daughters, I so related to events and conversations. Been there. The scenario of some boy who insinuates himself into the life of a daughter/family truly resonated with me. The author really nailed it. The characters were so real and I found myself holding my breath as I was reading (please don't let Todd kill Zoe as she was lying by the side of the road!). I really enjoyed it, cover to cover. This a wonderful new writer! I can't wait for her next book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great read

    Touches a parent...no family is perfect...everyone is one step away from a crisis...especially in a family with teenagers

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Unnervingly Sad, Questionably Triumphant, Unsettingly Real

    If you or your family have been through such drama and trauma, you will connect with this book and maybe even find solace in knowing that you are not alone. If you've never had to endure such tragedy, reading "in Leah's Wake, could be an advance warning, self-help manual.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    A moving, poignant novel from an accomplished new author

    New author Terri Giuliano Long has delivered an accomplished work of fiction via her debut novel, In Leah's Wake. Both plot and characters are poignant and moving. The family's love and disconnection are obvious and compelling. I hope Ms. Long writes another book soon, and I'm willing to bet her career will be long and successful.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    4 stars and then some

    This is a book about a family in Anywhere, USA. Right from the start, you know the cast of characters. You'd like to think they're fictional, but you see them within your circle of friends, in your own family, and even in yourself. It's about kids and parents struggling to "get it right" when each think they do, but neither really knows what "it" and "right" are for the other. It's a book that can make you happy, sad, frustrated, disappointed, and satisfied; all of that, within a few pages. It doesn't ramble, or lose its way. It hits hard, fast, and often; it provokes thought and inspires hope. What a great first book. Hats off to the author!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    My book club loved it

    My club of eight just finished reading In Leah's Wake. Perhaps because my entire group is comprised of caregivers - mostly parents - we totally related to the multiple voices and points of view used in this book. All the characters felt real; they are neither perfect nor able to solve their problems by themselves. I think the aspect I appreciated most was the conflict it created within our group over which character we needed to help in order to save this family from themselves. We never did agree on which member was actually responsible for derailing the family. Each character had their moments. In many ways, the youngest child was the strongest character - and that broke my heart. There are numerous scenes where Ms. Long shows the reader how damaging it is when schools and communities turn their backs on young people at the very times when they need love and support the most. As a parent of a child who was thrown off a sports team for attending a party where alcohol was consumed - I understood the consequences of ostracizing an adolescent from their peers. Great story and thought provoking for discussions.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Pleasant Surprise

    This book was recommended by a colleague. Normally, I prefer thrillers or mysteries to realistic fiction, so was pleasantly surprised. I was completely drawn in by this complex story of a family unraveling. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to more from this talented new author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Captivating Read!

    Like one of the previous reviews said, I am shocked by some of these reviews. Most of them don't sound like the person actually even read the book. My daughter was a lot like Leah, only thankfully she wasn't as bad. The way the author describes this family and even the policeman is so dead on and realistic. I totally related. It was felt like I've been there! She also did a great job of showing all the different ways communication can break down and what happens when it does. I highly, highly recommend this book. I can't say enough good things. I can't wait until her next book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Literary Fiction At Its Best

    Good literary fiction tells a story we can all relate to and helps us to better understand the world. Great literary fiction does both. This is the latter. Can't wait to read another book from this talented new author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Amazing Debut!

    i couldn't believe this haunting family story was the author's debut novel. The characters are so well developed that they feel like people you know. I could not put this book down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 369 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19