Customer Reviews for

In My Father's Country: An Afghan Woman Defies Her Fate

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A must read-5 Stars Plus

Samia I wish to thank you for sharing your story, I could not put the book down. When reading about your first and subsequent deployments it was as if I was there in Afghanistan with you and my husband! You arrived at BAF the same month my husband left BAF to go to Gh...
Samia I wish to thank you for sharing your story, I could not put the book down. When reading about your first and subsequent deployments it was as if I was there in Afghanistan with you and my husband! You arrived at BAF the same month my husband left BAF to go to Ghazni in 2004. I learned more from reading your book than I have from my husband, military personnel tend to not share deployment information. Even if a reader does not have a connection to the military READ this book! You will learn so much more about the highly respected and very much needed interpreters who accept to be deployed to a combat area, without them our military would be lost. Kudos to all interpreters both those who are deployed from America and those who accept the assignment in country. Thank you Samia Wahab.

posted by Snow-White-Reads on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I learned a lot about Afghan culture, but the author's incredibl

I learned a lot about Afghan culture, but the author's incredibly huge ego was distasteful and obnoxious.

posted by 4703532 on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    A must read-5 Stars Plus

    Samia I wish to thank you for sharing your story, I could not put the book down. When reading about your first and subsequent deployments it was as if I was there in Afghanistan with you and my husband! You arrived at BAF the same month my husband left BAF to go to Ghazni in 2004. I learned more from reading your book than I have from my husband, military personnel tend to not share deployment information. Even if a reader does not have a connection to the military READ this book! You will learn so much more about the highly respected and very much needed interpreters who accept to be deployed to a combat area, without them our military would be lost. Kudos to all interpreters both those who are deployed from America and those who accept the assignment in country. Thank you Samia Wahab.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    This was an amazing story! I found it to be informative and educ

    This was an amazing story! I found it to be informative and educational. I was eager for it to continue, I want to know where the story goes next. I was mesmerized by they detailed descriptions of the country and the people. Loved this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A Personal View into Pashtun Afghanistan

    I learned about this book from Jon Stewart during his interview with Saima Wahab on "The Daily Show." This book was such an eye-opener for me. By living both the life of a young Pashtun girl in Afghanistan and then moving to America and experiencing the liberties we so easily take for granted, Saima was in a unique position to understand both cultures and do good for both of our contries. This book clarified significant difficulties our troops have had in making much progress with gaining the trust of the Pashtun people in Afghanistan. If only there were a hundred Saimas to facilitate authentic and respectful communication between our people and theirs. I really enjoyed reading this book and felt so comfortable with Saima's voice presenting her story. Her stories also gave me such a sense of pride in our troops, their true American friendliness and their willingness to be advised by Saima in ways to respectfully approach and aid these proud but rightfully suspicious people. I saw the best of what Americans can offer. I only wish she could have reached more of our armed forces to guide them. Saima Wahab is a remarkable woman. Her remarkable father and grandfather would be so proud of her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    From a soldier's mom

    Facinating. My son served four deployments in special ops at
    many of the fobs described in this book. I am glad i read it after he got out a few weeks ago. Now i can better understand what this war is about and the experience of those who serve. A wonderful book that will not be forgotten.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Balances intellect & emotion on afghan vs american life

    Should be mandatory reading for any us citizen in afghanistan .. it is so interesting that i read it in 3 days! I hope that her mission continues for many years.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    I learned a lot about Afghan culture, but the author's incredibl

    I learned a lot about Afghan culture, but the author's incredibly huge ego was distasteful and obnoxious.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Takes you into another culture

    The author takes you on her journey from Afghanistan to the United States and reminds us how much of our fate is determined by where we live and our family's support. Despite losing him early, Wahab's life has been clearly driven by her father's vision for her despite other family members wanting to hold her back. Enjoyed learning more about Pashtun culture and the issues in Afghanistan which present challenges for our troops. Would have preferred a little less time on Wasab's personal relationships but overall enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    5 stars!

    Wonderful! I couldn t put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great read!!!!

    Great read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Wonderfully

    enlightening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    An eye opener

    I saw Saima Wahab interviewed on tv about this book and bought it immediately. It's a real eye opener on how Americans are perceived abroad and the misunderstandings we have about other cultures....and that other cultures have about us. I admire the author's dedication to helping US troops improve relationships in Afghanistan, and her tenacity to a difficult job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1