Customer Reviews for

In My Time: A Personal and Political Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

american patriot

"in my time" is a very hard to put down memoir .Iam intrested in politics and world affairs and history and I found vice president dick cheneys book very fasinating he has worked with some of the top presidents ford nixion gw and gh bush and he has served in the congre...
"in my time" is a very hard to put down memoir .Iam intrested in politics and world affairs and history and I found vice president dick cheneys book very fasinating he has worked with some of the top presidents ford nixion gw and gh bush and he has served in the congress and he has fought the war on terror and in this amazing memoir I got an indepth insiders view of what it was like to be there whean 9/11 was happening and what tough choices had to be made what made this so intresting to me is so many historical events that happened over our years in our country and vice president dick cheney shares alot of inside information also avalible in audio and download great gift idea for a friend or family member GREAT PATRIOT

posted by storms1 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

Agree with pencilpusher

This man is a conscienceless criminal and I will not support him by buying this book.

posted by ahzzz on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    american patriot

    "in my time" is a very hard to put down memoir .Iam intrested in politics and world affairs and history and I found vice president dick cheneys book very fasinating he has worked with some of the top presidents ford nixion gw and gh bush and he has served in the congress and he has fought the war on terror and in this amazing memoir I got an indepth insiders view of what it was like to be there whean 9/11 was happening and what tough choices had to be made what made this so intresting to me is so many historical events that happened over our years in our country and vice president dick cheney shares alot of inside information also avalible in audio and download great gift idea for a friend or family member GREAT PATRIOT

    58 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Darth Vader

    "Darth Vader Speaks" should be the title of Dick Cheney's personal and political memoir. The image of Dick Cheney often portrayed is of a sinister and calculating political operative who pulled George W. Bush's strings and would do anything to promote the neo-conservative agenda.

    Unfortunately for those conspirators In My Time is not that but rather a candid and personal assessment of Dick Cheney's years in public life. This work is not warm and fuzzy but an intimate memoir.
    Surprisingly this hard core conservatives gained inspiration from a Democrat. In late 1963, Cheney listened to a young John F. Kennedy speech in Laramie where he spoke "about the Greek definition of happiness- the full use of one's powers along the lines of excellence- and said that work for the public could provide that kind of satisfaction". Cheney admits that President Kennedy "had inspired us all, and at a time when I was trying to put my life back together, I was particularly grateful for the sense of elevated possibilities he described".

    Initially Dick Cheney set out to be a college professor but he was swept into the political world never finishing his dissertation. He worked hard and developed important relationships. One was the prickly Don Rumsfeld who took a liking to him and was instrumental throughout his career. Cheney went from being one of the youngest staffers in the Ford White House to the oldest in the George W. Bush White House. Along the way he was also a congressman, Secretary of Defense, and CEO of Halliburton.

    Out of all the recent books on the Georgia W. Bush years, this one is most revealing. The author has had a unique front row seat as the nation shifted from the cold war into a new post 9/11 era. The institution of the presidency has changed and keeping our nation safe from terrorist is an insurmountable task.

    Cheney was not simply a "yes" man Vice President, he was "hands on" in the issues of the Bush administration but reiterates that the bottom line it is the President who makes the final decision.

    Cheney had disagreements with Bush range from not pardoning Scooter Libby, nominating Harriett Miers to the Supreme Court and is critical of Colin Powell and Condoleezza Rice.

    Even after all the controversy Cheney supports the need for interrogation techniques and the need for Guantanamo. He cites that Osama bin Laden was captured and killed from information gathered from it.

    For the first time this book tells about and open resignation letter from the Vice Presidency, just in case he became incapacitated by a stroke or heart attack. Cheney offered to step aside as Bush was preparing to run for his second term.

    Fortunately his weak heart kept ticking during such a crucial time of our nation's history. In the end of the book he is a bit reflective but optimistically reiterates the promise of freedom and opportunity that only the United States of American has to offer.

    In this book, Cheney quotes David Broder's observation that "Ford was exactly the kind of person Americans say they want in a president, but didn't know it when they had him." The same can be said about Cheney in his public service career. Cheney should serve as an example of the countless individuals who often take a back seat in order to get the job done.

    23 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Pre-Release Reviews

    Perhaps an earlier anonymous poster may not know that publishers may pre-release a limited amount of books to readers. Hence the pre-release date reviews. I will be purchasing this book. Perhaps Anonymous needs to stick with books more his speed, like "Obama: Only in America" and "Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope." There are lots of pictures in these books for you.

    23 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Ignorance is bliss??

    I wonder how many people will review this book wothout reading it. They can say they read an exerpt but that would be like asking a jury to to render a verdict by listening to only a portion of opening arguments and skipping the trial. This is a book not an editorial. It is sad that so many will condemn a book they will never take the time or spend the money to read. Then again, that is how many live their life. Who says ignorance is not bliss? I have been looking forward to this book for some time. I would think that not liking someone is motivation for reading their memoirs to learn why they did what they did. Fortunately, admiring someone is just as strong motivation. Having read several biographies about Cheney, I want to know what this man was thinking at many points during his life. The best part is once I finish reading this book, then I can write a review of the book.

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Fearless patriot

    I bought the book after hearing him interviewed. The opinion I had of him was rather mixed until I heard him answer questions without hesitation and in great detail--lucidly, intelligently, honestly (or so it seemed to me as it jived with the facts and the questions weren't sugar coated but out of the blue). I could not put the book down, or at least when I did, I couldn't stop thinking and asking myself "then what happened?" Cheney knows human nature very well--and it informs every line of the book--and he exposes motivation for actions both his own and of others. This is a witness to history that should be required reading for students whether in high school or college--without the intervening interpretation of ideologically "helpful teachers." Oh, and a word to the strange folks who populate these review pages with the sole intent of discouraging others from reading the book--try a new book, one by George Orwell. I'd say Animal Farm would be just right for you.

    18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Fiction???

    Gerenations of historians will be left with more unanswered questions....

    15 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Just the facts, maam.

    Agree or disagree with Mr. Cheney, he presents the facts of what happened as he experienced them. This was a superb read. No holds barred, no punches pulled. His explanation of TARP, and why it was necessary was as clear a summary as I've read anywhere. When history is written years from now on Bush '43's legacy, it will be that Dick Cheney carried him on his back.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Why...

    I want to know why people who found the money to buy this book want to beat up on everything that Cheney stands for. If you don't like him then why did you waste your money?

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Great book by a great patriot

    Dick Cheney lays it out straight in this book. A great read to find out what was going on behind the scenes during 9/11 and the Iraq war. The VP has had a long and distinguished career in public office!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Great Book! Must Read!

    Bought for my Nook as soon as it was hot off the presses! Very intelligent man Dick Cheney is. Very interesting book. I am glad he wrote a book to "tell it like it was". Book by George Bush was excellent, also Rummy's book. Very good reads and very informative. Liberals cannot understand or stand, the truth.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Really! GOOD READ!

    Leave it to the liberals to use the review feature to whine. If you didn't purchase the book don't waste your time reviewing it. The text is not about free handouts so you wouldn't be interested anyway. For those of us that have read the book it is worth the read. The author did a nice well rounded job with the book. I enjoyed it very much.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    excellent look at past 40 years

    This is ahtorough and thoughtful book. I've read Kennedy and George W too - dont care about party, just interested in what they experienced.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    great insight

    couldn't put the book down. amazing how this country came together and stayed together when 9/11 happened. something the current state of this country is sorely lacking.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Patriot

    I am disappointed that this book is only available for preorder! VP is a tell it like it is person and I can not wait to read this book!

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Wait for the nonfiction version.

    With any luck, someone will write an accurate account of his trial. That'll be the book to get.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Detailed and inspiring

    After listening to the media slant the facts and spin the truth for 8 years it is nice to get a fresh perspective from someone who was there and knows first hand

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Don't Waste Your Money

    I couldn't help reading this book, based on perhaps altering my pre-conceived notion of Dick Cheney as the man who did most to negate American pride and moral fiber with a pragmatism that made any act, however heinous, OK since American followed no international committments to humanity. Unfortunately, reading this only strengthened my deep disrespect for this man who so influenced our president on items like prisoner torture, the negation of human rights both here and abroad, the unholy alliance of pubic policy with private greed (Halleburton), and unbridled racism. After leaving the white house, George Bush, who I believe is a man of character who didnt always "get it", was noticable more moderate in his approach to a host of issues. Cheney's skewed accounts and petty attacks on great Americans like C. Powell and C. Rice show his hard-headed inability to accept any other possible point of view. Too bad Cheney wasn't born in a different time and age; he would have made a superb dictator. After reading this, I'm convinced the U.S. and the world would have been better off if Dick Cheney had never been heard of in Washington.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    EXCELLENT.....OUTSTANDING

    I was in the military during some of what the book covered. Very informative. Always thought he was a good man. Was interesting to see the inside track of the decisions made. We need more like him......

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Please dispense with political rants.

    And remember, we still retain the constitutional right of freedom of the press.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    full of lies!

    A War Criminal rewriting history to his liking.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11