Customer Reviews for

In My Time: A Personal and Political Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

american patriot

"in my time" is a very hard to put down memoir .Iam intrested in politics and world affairs and history and I found vice president dick cheneys book very fasinating he has worked with some of the top presidents ford nixion gw and gh bush and he has served in the congre...
"in my time" is a very hard to put down memoir .Iam intrested in politics and world affairs and history and I found vice president dick cheneys book very fasinating he has worked with some of the top presidents ford nixion gw and gh bush and he has served in the congress and he has fought the war on terror and in this amazing memoir I got an indepth insiders view of what it was like to be there whean 9/11 was happening and what tough choices had to be made what made this so intresting to me is so many historical events that happened over our years in our country and vice president dick cheney shares alot of inside information also avalible in audio and download great gift idea for a friend or family member GREAT PATRIOT

posted by storms1 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 196 people found this review helpful.

Why isn't this man in prison?

Simple question. It deserves an answer

posted by pencilpusher on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you are interested in the workings of government this is a must read. I throughly enjoyed this book. Richard Cheney is one of the few remarkable men who have served in multiple levels of government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    A clear and direct behind the scenes account of some of the most momentous events of our time.

    For those who just want to believe the Darth Vader myth, this historical recounting of the background events framing the political world of the last 40 years will probably not change their mind. But for someone interested in the perspective of a witness to history and (in my view) a true patriot, it gives great insight into the thoughts and actions of Vice President Cheney. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is one of America's best history lessons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good read

    I read a lot of political biographies and really enjoyed this one. It was interesting to learn more about the man who I think was treated unfairly by the media while he was in office....and by so many liberal morons "reviewing" a book they never even read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    An Eye opener!

    A must read, especially if your a baby boomer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Much Needed Balance to Unfounded Portrayal

    Just finished the book - I really enjoyed reading it. His book provides a wealth of background information and stories from his political and personal life spanning from the Nixon/Ford years up through his time as Vice President. He has a no-nonsense, tell it like it is attitude on issues that were vital to protecting our country. He stood on principle and didn't sell out our country to the misguided notion of peace through weakness. Some of these negative reviewers are rather silly in their comments - you can tell that many of them didn't read the book. They play along with the mainstream media's vilification and nauseating repetition of the same unfounded claims without providing much proof for their claims. Cheney was someone who's dedication and service to this country was an exemplar compared to other politicians who held his position. Maybe you can fault him for his steadfast desire to protect this country at a time when we faced unprecedented risks. How soon many of us forget the climate in this country after 9/11. The book brings out interesting background information on the dealings with other countries in the Middle East and with the Soviet Union. Whether you like the guy or not, he presents a well reasoned presentation of the Bush policies and the background for our country's actions after 9/11 and through two wars. By providing this context, you come away from reading the book feeling that Cheney's work will be looked upon by historians as representing a critical perspective to the events over the last decade. Highly recommend reading the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Good Read

    An interesting look inside the man, Dick Cheney

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    VERY interesting and informative!

    However, I am very disappointed that it isn't available in large print.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Plain, Entertaining, Sublime Horror

    It is written plainly (not action-pack oriented) and straight forward. Much of it details colleagues, superiors, associates, how he met them, the working situations, and how he rose to becoming vice president of the USA. It is entertaining as he writes much about his life including that he was a dumb jock-partying-football player that found his brain and married a smart champion batton twirler, and they both went on to study for PhDs and he went into politics. It is quality horror in the understated manner, such as D. Cheney writes about an aircraft during his secretary of defense days, "Every year, for example, I tried to kill the V-22 Osprey, a Marine Corps aircraft, but the Congress funded it...I figured if Congress was busy fighting to restore the Osprey, members wouldn't have time to go after something I really cared about" (pp 165-166). I did not read his mention of what "he really cared about" in defense, zombie-military research? Maybe many pages later I will find out as I am just through about one-third of this excellent book. This is easy-reading, but not fast reading like a mass-market paperback.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5