Customer Reviews for

In Need of a Good Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    This book jumped out at me as it is set in Nebraska for a main p

    This book jumped out at me as it is set in Nebraska for a main part of the story and I enjoy books set there as I am from Nebraska. The bonus for me is that it is a historical fiction book which is one of my favorite genres to read. 
    Imagine the war is over and you are widowed or yet never married but there are no men to be "had" - what to do? Well you join a group of women headed to Nebraska to meet the man who you have in been in a long distance courtship with as a mail-order bride - as that is what some women had to do then - at least the women in this story. 
    This is the story of three very different women and how they handled this. Each of the women were strong in their own way not to mention that they had to leave their homes to travel to a new state where they were strangers to find a husband. No matter how many books I have read about mail-order brides I look for more as the subject is interesting to me. The author did a good job in the making and describing of each of the character as they came to life on the pages and I felt as if I knew each of them personally. I found myself wanting to not put the book down so I could just keep the story going. 
    I think this book is a good one to read if you would like to know how it was for some women to have to survive after the war. I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A good read!

    This was a sweet read! If you liked Little House you will enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Angie Book provided by: Publisher Review originally

    Reviewed by: Angie
    Book provided by: Publisher
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    In Need of a Good Wife follows three characters; Clara, who has suffered the loss of a child and her husband who ran away with a laundress. Rowena, whose father went mad and husband went off to war and died, leaving her virtually penniless and alone. And Elsa, a plump laundress whose faith sustains her through everything.




    Clara is a strong woman used to dealing with the hardships of life. I can’t say I overly liked or disliked her…instead I will say I had much respect and admiration for how strong she stays throughout the book. The only time she showed “weakness” was when a migraine threatened to overtake her and Elsa helped her through it. Her husband, George, kept me guessing through much of the book.




    I thought Rowena was going to be the sweet young woman in this novel when I first read her story; instead she’s a cunning, manipulative, backstabbing witch who uses trickery and thievery to get her way. You really hope that she changes her tune, but it takes a long time for her to get her full comeuppance.




    Elsa is the character I loved most in this book. Straight forward, God-abiding Elsa just wants to find her place in the world and live a good life. She has no delusions that she or the man she goes to take care of will fall in love and get married; she just wants to enjoy life. She really grows from a meek woman throughout the book with a little help.




    This is a very well researched and thought out novel. I had a very hard time putting it down once I started reading it as I enjoyed following each woman’s journey throughout. I look forward to reading other novels by this extremely talented author as she doesn’t follow the path most taken, but follows her own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    What a wonderful book! It tells the story of the women who brav

    What a wonderful book! It tells the story of the women who braved the road west in search of something better in the post-Civil War era. The three main characters pave the road with their own strengths and weaknesses. First is Clara; strong, brave, and so very human. Then there is Rowena; spoiled, self-absorbed, manipulative. Yet, even she finds redemption on the dusty streets of Destination, Nebraska. Finally, there is Elsa, perhaps my favorite; quiet, unassuming, and possessed of a singular goodness and deep abiding faith as big as the Nebraska sky. Ultimately, all three, and the people they meet, have come to enrich me and touch me deeply.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    I purchased the book based on the reviews. Have thoroughly enjo

    I purchased the book based on the reviews. Have thoroughly enjoyed the book and would recommend. The story is about women brought to Nebraska by a marriage broker. The marriage broker, Clara, has problems of her own to contend with once she gets the women to Nebraska. My favorite character is Elsa. Great book for a book club. Can also see it as a movie on TV. Hallmark would do a great job with the story. Also recommend books by Sandra Dallas. She writes similar stories about strong minded women in the mid west.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Aaliyah

    She waits for the perfect man

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    light reading...enjoyable

    Good vacation book! An easy read...goes quickly! Great if you love stories about women who overcome all odds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Enjoyed!

    I love reading novels set in this timeframe. This one does not disappoint. It would make a good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book, fast read, couldn't put it down once I got started. There were so many ways that this book could have gone...I really enjoyed the story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1