BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Odd We Trust (Odd Thomas Graphic Novel Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Odd Thomas Prequel

For anybody considering In Odd We Trust, take note that this book is a Graphic Novel, and takes place before the first Odd book, "Odd Thomas"

posted by nitsu on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Don't get caught like I did thinking this was a "normal" novel by Dean Koontz

I have over 30 books by Dean Koontz plus the 4 in the Odd Thomas series. I did not notice that this was a comic and I was very disappointed when I got the book. It was my fault for not paying close attention but calling this one of the "Odd Thomas Series" is a trick i...
I have over 30 books by Dean Koontz plus the 4 in the Odd Thomas series. I did not notice that this was a comic and I was very disappointed when I got the book. It was my fault for not paying close attention but calling this one of the "Odd Thomas Series" is a trick in my opinion.

posted by jimwalk3698 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Thomas Prequel

    For anybody considering In Odd We Trust, take note that this book is a Graphic Novel, and takes place before the first Odd book, "Odd Thomas"

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't get caught like I did thinking this was a "normal" novel by Dean Koontz

    I have over 30 books by Dean Koontz plus the 4 in the Odd Thomas series. I did not notice that this was a comic and I was very disappointed when I got the book. It was my fault for not paying close attention but calling this one of the "Odd Thomas Series" is a trick in my opinion.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Thomas is one of the most creative and brilliant characters! Fabulous!

    I started reading Dean Koontz books because I had run out of books to read, and I haven't stopped. I actually bought the first books I read for my sister, and she never got them!
    His wasn't the first book I read, but Odd Thomas is the one character I have anxiously awaited hearing from again. What I love about the book is that it finally gives you a picture of Pico Mundo, of Odd, Stormy and a window into their relationship. Koontz gives Odd and Stormy wonderful chemistry; and the love they have for each other is beautiful and heart-warming. I not only recommend this book, but the entire Odd Thomas series. Fantastic!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste your time or money......

    I was very disappointed with this book I plan on returning both copies asap. I barely flipped through the book, saw that it was a comic book and put it aside. If you like comics, this is for you, otherwise if you were hoping for an insight to Odd Thomas, you will be extremely let down.....

    This is the first Dean Koontz book that has really surprised me! I love Koontz and have most of his books. I was surprised he did this one..

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    I was a bit disappointed with this book.

    I am a big Dean Koontz fan, especially of his "Odd" books. Odd Thomas is so endearing, and so are his friends and "friends". First, I bought the book without looking inside so I was surprised at the comic book format, but not unpleasantly so.

    I think there was not enough Dean Koontz in the book. While Queenie Chan is very talented, her type of writing and type of illustrating are just not what I prefer. I'm certainly not saying I did not appreciate her art, just that this style does not make for an enjoyable Odd Thomas book. Too juvenile.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    koontz never disappoints...

    the odd books are not my faves of koontz's writings but they are original & i don't regret reading them & if he keeps writing them, i'll read them all because i have ALL of koontz's books & he ties w/stephen king as my fave authors of horror. koontz understands the meaning of heartache & his books are full of emotion as well as always scaring the pants off me! LOL my fave book by koontz is the bad place probably but i've never been disappointed in reading any of his books tho some are not what i wanted them to be exactly...i always get SOMETHING interesting or thought-provoking or new-kind-of-scary from his books so i find them all worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    The Comics

    I really like the "Odd" series of books, but this one I'm not sure about. It was an ok book, but the comic book format was a little out there for this type of serial book character(s).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Odd Alive

    This was a truly innovative way for Koontz to expand to other types of readers without sacrificing his writing abilities. I loved the art and the story, as it fits perfectly into the mythos of Odd Thomas - one of literatures more recent "time-will-tell" true hero characters. I hope Koontz does more of this. The Frankenstein graphic novels are really cool too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great to get kids involved in reading.

    This book was a good way to get my son involved in reading more difficult books. It introduced to him a character that is involved in a series of books, which has made him want to read the other Odd books. Kudos for to Dean Koontz for this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    awful-- disappointing

    This is a comic book. It was not clear on the web site that this is a comic book. I was expecting a regular text Dean Koontz. I read the first few pages and tossed it. What a waste! Too difficult to transition from text to cartoons.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Great, especially for those who know Odd

    This is a great book, especially for those that are fans of Dean Koontz and fans of the Odd Thomas series in particular. Some might be initially turned off by the different format, this being a graphic novel, but if you enjoy the Odd Thomas series, this will give you an opportunity to see what the characters look like in the mind of Dean Koontz.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd is always good

    I've read the entire Odd Thomas series and it's very good. Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors. He has a great blend of novels covering sci-fi, horror, and just plain suspense. I get every one of his books as soon as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In Odd We Trust - Dean Koontz' 1st Graphic Novel

    I've never read a graphic novel before, but I'm a huge Dean Koontz fan. I really liked the format of the graphic novel because you have pictures to put a face to the characters. The read is really fast and the action was great. I will definitely read more if Koontz chooses to publish more. I've read all the Odd Thomas novels and this was a great addition to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    This is a great read

    Dean Koonz has been cranking out books forever but he has never had a character as endearing as Thomas Odd. This series will not only give you moments of the heebe jeebies but will pull at your heartstrings. Dean Koonz is a nice man and his writing is like a window into part of his soul through the character of Odd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Switching to making it a graphic novel in the middle of a series

    Switching to making it a graphic novel in the middle of a series.... how rude!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    NOT GOR EVERYONE

    For the money it is not worth the 9.99 in my opinion. I totally enjoy the odd thomas series but this Graphic Novel is a BIG THUMBS DOWN! Wait for the book. It is like 2 different sets of characters with the same name. I am still wondering why he did this and another. And who is this suppose to appeal to? Maybe if you get the GNs then read the books nahhhh. No way around it it was Bad. If you do decide to buy it. "I TOLD YOU SO."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    BUYER BE WARE. Graphic novel means cartoon format, not a novel with some pictures.

    I was extremely disapointed when I saw this book. I was glad they were willing to give me my money back. I had never heard of a graphic novel before so when I got it and it looked like a comic book, I was very unhappy with the way it is advertized. Using words to describe something in such a way I see as nearly false advertizing. Not that this company is guilty of anything as I have seen the words 'graphic novel' used in many places. I blame the publishers for this in trying to sell a product under false pretences. No where do they describe what a graphic novel is. I expected to have some pages with pictures on them but not a cartoon format. Just another sales gimic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A review by Free Book Reviews

    This is just another example of how well Dean can get you entirely infused within the life and time of his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    WARNING, This is a Comic Book

    I'm a BIG Dean Koontz Fan. Imagine my surprise to receive a damn COMIC BOOK instead of a paperback novel. Comic books are for those who don't have enough imagination to visualize the characters in the book they're supposed to be reading. This "book" needs to be labeled as it should be, as a comic book NOT paperback or "Graphic novel". It's a COMIC BOOK no matter what else you try to call it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Stupid!

    Thought I was going to recive a nomal novel and it's a stupid comic book. I am really irritated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4