Customer Reviews for

In Odd We Trust (Odd Thomas Graphic Novel Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Odd Thomas Prequel

For anybody considering In Odd We Trust, take note that this book is a Graphic Novel, and takes place before the first Odd book, "Odd Thomas"

posted by nitsu on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Don't get caught like I did thinking this was a "normal" novel by Dean Koontz

I have over 30 books by Dean Koontz plus the 4 in the Odd Thomas series. I did not notice that this was a comic and I was very disappointed when I got the book. It was my fault for not paying close attention but calling this one of the "Odd Thomas Series" is a trick i...
I have over 30 books by Dean Koontz plus the 4 in the Odd Thomas series. I did not notice that this was a comic and I was very disappointed when I got the book. It was my fault for not paying close attention but calling this one of the "Odd Thomas Series" is a trick in my opinion.

posted by jimwalk3698 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste your time or money......

    I was very disappointed with this book I plan on returning both copies asap. I barely flipped through the book, saw that it was a comic book and put it aside. If you like comics, this is for you, otherwise if you were hoping for an insight to Odd Thomas, you will be extremely let down.....

    This is the first Dean Koontz book that has really surprised me! I love Koontz and have most of his books. I was surprised he did this one..

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    awful-- disappointing

    This is a comic book. It was not clear on the web site that this is a comic book. I was expecting a regular text Dean Koontz. I read the first few pages and tossed it. What a waste! Too difficult to transition from text to cartoons.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    NOT GOR EVERYONE

    For the money it is not worth the 9.99 in my opinion. I totally enjoy the odd thomas series but this Graphic Novel is a BIG THUMBS DOWN! Wait for the book. It is like 2 different sets of characters with the same name. I am still wondering why he did this and another. And who is this suppose to appeal to? Maybe if you get the GNs then read the books nahhhh. No way around it it was Bad. If you do decide to buy it. "I TOLD YOU SO."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    WARNING, This is a Comic Book

    I'm a BIG Dean Koontz Fan. Imagine my surprise to receive a damn COMIC BOOK instead of a paperback novel. Comic books are for those who don't have enough imagination to visualize the characters in the book they're supposed to be reading. This "book" needs to be labeled as it should be, as a comic book NOT paperback or "Graphic novel". It's a COMIC BOOK no matter what else you try to call it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Stupid!

    Thought I was going to recive a nomal novel and it's a stupid comic book. I am really irritated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    THIS IS A COMIC BOOK!

    I am a fan of the Odd Thomas collection and couldn't wait to get this one. I was shocked when I received it and realized it's a comic book. I couldn't find that in the description or in the synopsis on the back cover. So I wanted to warn others. Just so you know what you're getting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Huge Disappointment! It's a comic book!

    Very disappointed when I opened this book to find it's just a comic book... perhaps teenagers would like it... I don't want someone's rendition of what Odd looks like... I do that in my own head, so I found the whole "graphic novel" concept unpalatable. The up side is I will certainly be more careful before I buy another Koontz book. I have read everything he has written for years.. this one just didn't feel like reading at all in my opinion. Sad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY DISAPPOINTED

    I love the previous Odd Thomas books. I was very disappointed in this one. I have never been a great fan of comic books, so that probably has alot to do with it. I would rather READ a book. I am hoping there are more Odd books coming out, but not in comic book form.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    BIG disappointment!

    I'm a big Dean Koontz and (Odd Thomas) fan -- this book was a HUGE disappointment. Since it was the fourth in the series, I expected a "continuing saga". I should have read the other reviews before I ordered it. Never in my wildest dreams did I expect a comic book! With a boring story on top of it. I save and reread all of my Dean Koontz books -- not this one. I'm donating it to the children's section of the library where I live in Fiji. Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Very disappointing!

    The fun of reading about Odd is sharing his thoughts, many humorous and others touching. This book had no heart, no suspense and most of all, no feeling of being there with Odd during his adventures. Looking forward to the next REAL book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    waste of money

    I was so excited about a new 'Odd' book I ordered it. I couldn't beleive it was a comic book!!!! My 11 year old who also likes the Odd series said this comic book is for first graders. It would be nice to make this book into an actual book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1