Customer Reviews for

In One Person

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written!

I have only started this but already, I am having a hard time putting it down (for work, to eat!). It is beautifully written....the prose is descriptive & captivating, the story is excellent, and the characters are quirky & lovable.

posted by Steve2 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I usually love his books but I am about half way through and bec

I usually love his books but I am about half way through and becoming bored and will probably pick up another book to read and come back to this one (someday). As usual, the writing is great but the story is interesting for a while and then drags on for too many pages ...
I usually love his books but I am about half way through and becoming bored and will probably pick up another book to read and come back to this one (someday). As usual, the writing is great but the story is interesting for a while and then drags on for too many pages before it becomes interesting again. Instead of 400+ pages this could have been written in much less. This is a disappointment as in the past I could never put one of his books down.

posted by 3097160 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Sex bitch

    Aww yeah! Get the sex on!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Hannahferrell47@yahoo.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Another Great One by Irving

    I love John Irving and this one was another great one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Important perspectives

    A wrenchingly difficult piece of literature, for the reflection of angst and sorrow felt by people who are members of any special population, and a must read for those who want to gain in understanding and compassion of a group just beyond our own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Heard It Before

    I am a devoted Irving fan having had many years of terrific reading . But it came to an end with this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    In One Book...

    A little too focused on one thing: gender. The characters who are not gender-focused (i.e. not trans, bi, gay, etc...) are underdeveloped, as is the non-gender plot (if there is any?). So it didn't hold my interest very well, altho I did read it thru to the end. I have no issues with LGBT topics, but I guess I need more than just that for a story. Especially one as long as this one is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Longer than it needed to be, but definitely a good read.

    I'm not much of a fiction reader, but have liked John Irving in the past. Overall I liked this quite a lot, though it could have been shorter and been as good, or even better really. While I wasn't alive back then, I have to think the community as it was written was a bit more tolerant than anything existing in reality in the early 60's, so some suspension of disbelief was required but not to the point of being distracting.

    It was really nice to read a novel written from the perspective of a bisexual man, which included characters representing all of the GLBTQ world, backed by a major publisher like Simon & Schuster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Good

    I liked this book a lot. I was not sure about it based on the reviews compared to other Irving books but I was glad I read it and think it is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Classic John Irving

    Well developed, complex characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    In this novelBillie, the protagonist, is bisexual. He is ne






    In this novelBillie, the protagonist, is bisexual. He is neither shy nor conflicted, but he’s had it with the way some members of his family treat him. The story begins when Billie, a.k.a William Marshall Abbott, recalls the story of his life as he has grown old, nearing his 70th birthday. 


    Billie began his life as William Francis Dean, but after his stepfather adopted him, his last name changed to Abbott. This is fine with Billie, as one of the three most important people that he is sexually attracted to is his stepfather. The other one is a librarian, Miss Frost, who was a famous wrestler once, when he was a man, in the private academy Billie attends, but Billie learns this truth later in the story. The third important person is his best friend, a girl about his own age. But not only a handful of people have different sexual stances in Bille’s life. There is also his cross-dressing grandfather, his biological father, his boyfriends, and several other people he meets later in life.


    The story fluctuates from the time when Billie is an old man to his young days, and throughout its many twists and turns, Billie is involved with one or another of the most important people. 


    Yet, the story does not only reflect Billie’s sexual history. It also addresses dysfunction in families, single parenthood, loss that comes with maturing, AIDS tragedy especially during the eighties, being a writer, sexual identity, and being misunderstood. 


    The novel is strong and forceful with its insight and the way it handles reality. The author knows what he is talking about, and his grasp of the emotions of a teen who is made miserable by the ignorant people around him is superb.


    In One Person is a serious novel, one of the most serious I have ever read, not only for its subject matter but also for the wonderful prose that is straightforward yet full of sentiment, ranging from sadness to humor, as only John Irving would be able to pen. It is also highly literary, with an epic plot that is rich, bold, stimulating, gripping, and fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    I've read all of Irving's novels. This is by far my least favorite. It wasn't bad, just not as good as the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Outstanding

    I enjoyed this very much. Irving is the great American author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In One Person is the story of William Abbott's life. An author

    In One Person is the story of William Abbott's life. An author now nearing seventy, Bill or Billy as most knows him, looks back over his life and thinks about the influences that have made him the man he is today. Bill is a bisexual man, and his life growing up in Vermont was spent coming to terms with his differences.

    There is a wide cast of characters. Billy's father is absent and he has no memory of him. His male influences are his cross-dressing grandfather and his stepfather, ten years younger than his mother. He has a domineering grandmother and aunt, and a rebellious lesbian cousin. Bill attends an all-male academy, from which his closest friends come. Elaine is a faculty daughter as Billy is a faculty son. They have a close, sustaining relationship. There is Tom, who has a crush on Billy, and who later becomes his first male lover. There is Kittredge, a swaggering athlete, impossibly beautiful, who Billy adores and fears in equal measure.

    Then there is the town librarian, Miss Frost. She recognizes Bill's intellectual curiosity and becomes his friend, guiding his reading and shoring up his self-esteem. Bill loves her and not just platonically. When as a senior, their friendship progresses to the physical, it turns out that Miss Frost was formally Al Frost, a former wrestling star at the academy. After leaving school, Al became the transgender Miss Frost.

    The book follows Billy's life. It explores the AIDS epidemic, which takes many of Billy's friends and lovers, It explores his relationship with both male and female lovers. Finally, it documents Bill's creation of his own family of choice. He realises that what he needs cannot be found 'in one person' and takes what he can from those around him to carve out a satisfactory life.

    I am a huge Irving fan. Many of the motifs seen in other books are here; the New England setting, the wrestling background, and the offbeat characters striving for validation in a world where they are different from the mainstream. Billy is a strong character, refusing to feel like less of a person because of his differences. Characterization is one of Irving's strengths along with his championing of those who are different. This book is recommended for Irving fans and for those interested in self-actualization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This book is ah-mazing. 

    This book is ah-mazing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Well written and hard to put down!

    Thoroughly enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Love Irving

    I've read more than half of John Irving's novels; this is one of his best. If it is the first book of his that you have read you might find his sense of humor a little strange, but he has a deep understanding of the mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Disapointed

    I'm a big John Irving fan. This is not his best work. He did his usual great job giving intimate views of the characters, you feel you actually know them. Too bad this was wasted on such an awful storyline. I agree with the other feviews, the storyline really drags and is boring. It was a chore more than a pleasure getting through this book. I would abvise avoiding this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Middle of the road

    I enjoy Irving's writing style, and this was an interesting and sympathetic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Irving at his best

    I have not enjoyed an Irving book as much as this in a long time. The characters drew me in like Garp and heartbreaking AIDS stories from the 80's reminded me of the painful abortion stories from Cider House Rules. Billy was both loving and flawed. A great read for those of us who love Irving at his very best. A great subject matter too. Close to my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6