Customer Reviews for

In Praise of Stay-at-Home Moms

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST FOR STAY AT HOME MOMS

"IN PRAISE OF STAY AT HOME MOMS" THIS IS A WONDERFUL BESTSELLER THAT DR. LAURA HAS WRITTION AND IT IS A VERY SPECIAL BOOK FOR SOME VERY SPECIAL PEOPLE. THIS WILL DOCUMENT THAT STAY AT HOME MOTHERS ARE DOING THE RIGHT THING AND KEEPING THEIR CHILDREN AT HOME AND FINDING ...
"IN PRAISE OF STAY AT HOME MOMS" THIS IS A WONDERFUL BESTSELLER THAT DR. LAURA HAS WRITTION AND IT IS A VERY SPECIAL BOOK FOR SOME VERY SPECIAL PEOPLE. THIS WILL DOCUMENT THAT STAY AT HOME MOTHERS ARE DOING THE RIGHT THING AND KEEPING THEIR CHILDREN AT HOME AND FINDING A BETTER WAY TO STUDY A FINE CHRISTIAN EDUCATION WHEAN IN FACT THERE IS A SCHOOL NOT AVALIBLE THAT CROSS`S THERE PARENTS FAITH AND VALUES. DR LAURA HAS AMAZING RESEARCH THAT CLEARLY SHOWS THAT IN THIS SUPER PAGE TURNER THAT THESE SPECIAL MOTHERS BRING IN GREAT EDUCATION FOR THEIR FAMILY AND IT TRULY MAKES THEM A GREAT LIFE. THIS BOOK CLEARLY GIVES A BETTER UNDERSTANDING . GIVE A GREAT GIFT FOR A FRIEND OR A FAMILY MEMBER SHARE AN EMAIL ABOUT THIS BOOK.

posted by stormsTC on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Isn't it time for women to stop judging each other?

I am so tired of people who think that they know what's best for everyone else. I have absolutely no problem with stay-at-home parents (notice I didn't assume they were all mothers); on the contrary, I have the utmost respect and admiration for them -- there is truly n...
I am so tired of people who think that they know what's best for everyone else. I have absolutely no problem with stay-at-home parents (notice I didn't assume they were all mothers); on the contrary, I have the utmost respect and admiration for them -- there is truly no harder job out there. But it's not right for everyone. Dr. Laura has made a career (and millions of dollars) out of simplistically deciding what's "right" for people and judging them harshly when they don't fit into her neat little concept of "correctness." Everything she says seems to be a blanket statement with no concern for individual differences, i.e., mothers know "staying home to raise their children is the right choice for the whole family." A qualified psychologist wouldn't utter such black-and-white statements.
Having a stay-at-home parent is a great choice for many families, but not for every family. Some families couldn't survive financially without two incomes. Some families only have one parent, for one reason or another. And some parents (such as myself) have personalities such that working outside the home actually makes them a better parent. Everyone has to make the choice that is right for his or her family. Until stay-at-home moms stop judging moms who work outside the home, and vice versa (it does go both ways), women will not have achieved true freedom. I hope someday people will be able to respect the choices of others, but as long as people are listening to the likes of Dr. Laura, that day is far away.

As far as the effects of stay-at-home vs working-outside-the-home parents on the children, it's all about quality vs quantity of time spent with the children. I'm a pediatrician who sees a couple dozen kids a day in my practice, and neither group of kids (those with stay-at-home parents and those with working parents) is less well-adjusted than the other. I see fantastic families in both groups, and unfortunately some families with lots of problems in both groups. The scientific evidence supports this as well.

By the way, if all stay-at-home parents were like the previous reviewer ("stormsTC"), we're all in trouble. I cringe to think that she (I assume she's a woman)is home-schooling her children, when she can't even write a coherent sentence herself. Yikes!

posted by docbaker on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST FOR STAY AT HOME MOMS

    "IN PRAISE OF STAY AT HOME MOMS" THIS IS A WONDERFUL BESTSELLER THAT DR. LAURA HAS WRITTION AND IT IS A VERY SPECIAL BOOK FOR SOME VERY SPECIAL PEOPLE. THIS WILL DOCUMENT THAT STAY AT HOME MOTHERS ARE DOING THE RIGHT THING AND KEEPING THEIR CHILDREN AT HOME AND FINDING A BETTER WAY TO STUDY A FINE CHRISTIAN EDUCATION WHEAN IN FACT THERE IS A SCHOOL NOT AVALIBLE THAT CROSS`S THERE PARENTS FAITH AND VALUES. DR LAURA HAS AMAZING RESEARCH THAT CLEARLY SHOWS THAT IN THIS SUPER PAGE TURNER THAT THESE SPECIAL MOTHERS BRING IN GREAT EDUCATION FOR THEIR FAMILY AND IT TRULY MAKES THEM A GREAT LIFE. THIS BOOK CLEARLY GIVES A BETTER UNDERSTANDING . GIVE A GREAT GIFT FOR A FRIEND OR A FAMILY MEMBER SHARE AN EMAIL ABOUT THIS BOOK.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    excellent for stay at home moms

    helps you to realize you made the right decision even though the would thinks you didn't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    A Compelling Read for SAHMs and Potential SAHMs

    As a stay-at-home mother and author who writes extensively about motherhood and family life, this book became a must-read as soon as I heard about it.

    Laura Schlessinger is definitely outspoken and, for the most part, you will agree with her or not. As a SAHM for the last 15 years, I agree with about 90% of what she has to say in this book (I do not agree with her version of the husband coming home to simply relax after work. When my husband comes home, we work side by side until we can both take a break).

    Dr. Laura's book is filled with compelling arguments for being a SAHM. She doesn't use nameless faceless statistics or mass surveys to support her arguments. Rather, she uses the engaging and relevant personal stories and experiences of many stay-at-home moms to make her case.

    SAHMs and future/potential SAHMs will appreciate the points she makes on many fronts. Among them, she affirms that being a SAHM is a wonderful use of our intellect (a nice contrast to those who suggest we are wasting our minds by staying home; what an odd thing to say about spending real time with your children), that true quality time can only really come from quantity time (in other words, quality time doesn't necessarily occur on demand during specified time periods), and that there is, in effect, nothing like a mother's love out there in the world.

    I think it's important to note that Dr. Laura doesn't say that moms should never work while raising their families. Rather, she says that such decisions of if, when, and how to work should be very carefully thought through as children benfit far more from having their mom around them than they do from the best paid (or unpaid) childcare around.

    As for me, some days are better than others, but overall, I love being a SAHM to five. As an 18-month ovarian cancer survivor, I can't think of any other place I'd rather be than with my kids and husband. Thanks to Dr. Laura's book, I am more encouraged than ever to make the most of being a stay-at-home mom to my children. This book would make a great boost for any SAHM or future SAHM. -- Debra Woods, author of It's Okay to Take a Nap:and Other Reassuring Truths for Mothers Everywhere."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Highly recommended!!!!!!

    I must say I think this is like anything you can take it too far, but I have to say it was really good. I am a SAHM and I love it are there challenging days, yes, but doesn't everyone have challenging days. I have been a SAHM, 9-5'er (for 2 yrs, and then blessed to be a SAHM again. I can tell you nothing compares to that. We also homeschool our son and nothing is more pleasing to do that or to just be the one who gets to give the hugs and share things with them throughout the day when they learn something new. I don't condem a mom who works outside of the home, but from having to be one who knows what it is like to leave your family for the day and go work for someone else. I love staying home. My husband didn't like it when I worked outside of the home. Our home runs alot smoother when I am home and I am no where even close to be stressed like I was. I wasn't going to buy this book I thought oh I don't need to read it, but am I glad that I did. It has opened my eyes up to somethings that I didn't even think about. Would I recommend it YES.....for anyone. Just read it with an open nonjudging approach. I think either way you could be blessed by reading it, but especially as a SAHM you will like it. I also get the same feelings that these others have gotten I think people think because you stay home you have no knowledge of what goes on, that you may be a unable to carry on an intelligent conversation with someone. Oh well...that is there opinion. I know my husband and I have chosen what God wants us to do in our family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    Just what I needed to hear!

    I am not a Dr. Laura listener, but wanted to read this book because I am a stay-at-home mom. This is an easy, uplifting book to read. It is encouraging and a book that should have been written a long time ago! Thanks, Dr. Laura.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Encouraging

    I just got this book a few days ago. I cannot put it down. I am a SAHM of a 2yr old boy. Sometimes a SAHM just needs a little encouragement throughout the day. This book gave me the encouragement I was looking for. If you're struggling with trying to figure out if you should work or stay at home this book is very in your face about how no one can love your child/children as good as you can. But if you think about it, it's true. You carry the child, as a mother, for 9 months. You know that child like the back of your hand. I very much recommend it to all my girlfriends out there!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    It is time that dedicated mothers are honored

    Dr. Schlessinger has done a great service in her work to get mothers to be more involved in the lives of their children. This book honors those who do. With families falling apart and juvenile crime and pregnancies on the rise, more mothers should follow the examples given and guide their children to be more productive and exemplary citizens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Every Husband should read this book (Wives also - for encouragement and sanity)

    If a husband expects his wife to be a woman, then he should be a man and this book clearly notes the differences and their roles as dads and moms. Parents must do what is best for their kids, not themselves (however, the best things for themselves is doing what is best for the kids).

    This book is also the cure for the majority of society's ill (low self esteem, feelings of neglect, divorce, etc.). All of these problems stem from childhood, so we need to make sure our kid's childhood is the best it can be. And it starts with parent who are committed to Mom being home to raise the kids.

    This is not a politically correct book, which makes it all the more important to read. Political correctness is the problem, this book is the cure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It is about time!!!

    I have never been disappointed by anything Dr. Laura writes. She is incredibly insightful, honest, and brutal when necessary. I respect her opinion and can honestly say that since I read her book "How could you do that..", 12 years ago, my life has completely changed for the better! Taking the gray out of every decision and just doing what you know is right, makes all the difference in the world. Thank you Dr.Laura for this new book, it is not that I needed your affimation, but seeing it in print, made my day!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Brought me peace and happiness

    As a future SAHM I found this book extraordinarily uplifting. I used to be career obsessed, but awaiting the arrival of my baby girl has changed me for the better. Dr. Laura gave me the courage I need to embrace my newfound happiness and tell people with great pride that I will undertake the most important job in the world- mommy! Thank you Dr. Laura, and I hope other moms find this book as inspirational as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Talk about great advice for a stay at home mom! Or even for someone thinking about it! Highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Will have to buy this

    Im a stay at home mom and this book made me smile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Good Overall

    Like her talk show, most times I agree and am amazed with her advise and revelations, and sometimes I don't share her opinion. But overall, by far, I love listening and reading Dr Laura advise and opinions and the way she looks at life. So refreshing in the PC world of those who are too accommodating of selfish, wrong parents.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Already passed it on!

    Her insights into the challenges career women face with their self-worth after making leap into child rearing in spot on. She spelled out the pros of being a SAHM that I thought I knew but needed to hear from someone else.
    My neighbor is now reading my copy. She is also a SAHM.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3