Customer Reviews for

In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great story

This was a great read. Totally romantic. an excellent weekend read

posted by marianne68 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Free $10 Discount code(Shopping more than $ 35) In BN! Get in this website: Yeahbarnes.tk

Free $10 Discount code(Shopping more than $ 35) In BN! Get in this website: Yeahbarnes.tk

posted by Discountbn on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    This was a great read. Totally romantic. an excellent weekend read

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Atypical Cynster heros

    Eliza Cynster is frustrated with being under the constant eye of her male Cynster relatives since the kidnapping threat was revealed in the previous title in the series. Yet Eliza manages to end up in the hands of a kidnapper though her own rather silly actions. Eliza fears that she will not be able to escape her kidnappers as her sister did, as she has always been the quiet, unadventurous Cynster sister. To make matters worse her only chance to appeal for help only nets the attention of Jeremy Carling. Jeremy's sister married a Cynster and he is known worldwide for his scholarly pursuits. He is not Eliza's first choice of hero, but both he and Eliza surpass their own expectations of themselves as they engineer Eliza's escape. The main weakness in the story is the improbable manners in which a less than a day trip to safety stretches out to 5 (or so) nights. Still this title will appeal to Cynster fans and those looking for a sound Regency romance read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If no one sees who I am, how will my hero find me?

    When you are a Cynster sister, you are expected to find your true love, know how to ride a horse, and have the potential to be kidnapped. None of the sisters have any understanding of why someone wants to kidnap them but Miss Eliza Cynster it turns out is number two on the list.

    Despite all the male presence to protect her Eliza is taken from her home and literally drug across the country en route to her final unknown destination. Eliza is not sure how to escape but believes her hero is out there and will come for her. What Eliza never expected was the quiet, bookish Jeremy Carling to be that man.

    Jeremy knows the history of the Cynster family and when he is called upon to step up and save Eliza, he may question how he is going to do it but not if he is going to do it. With his incredible intelligence, a fluid plan, plus a great map Jeremy embarks on the adventure of a lifetime that he never expected would free him as much as it does Eliza.

    The terrain is difficult, the journey hazardous, and the kidnappers are still lurking out there but Jeremy and Eliza know they have each other. Jeremy and Eliza are not afraid of the dark or the danger outside the door as they discover the inner secrets about each other, which turn out to be as revealing as what they find out about themselves. To the outside world, they are seen as meek and harmless, but lurking inside it appears they are fearless and determined to find true love.

    This second book in the trilogy is as fascinating as the first with well-developed characters and a storyline that draws you in from page one. When you write with characters that are, more studious than adventuresome it is at times difficult to plot that course. However, Ms. Laurens shows that everyone is looking to tap into their inner, daring self.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Cynster sister is a refreshing Regency thriller

    McKinsey hires kidnap and disposal specialist aristocratic Scrope to abduct Elizabeth Cynster in London and deliver her to him in Edinburgh unharmed. Scrope succeeds in extracting the target from her sister's engagement ball (see Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue).

    Eliza escapes her captors, but knows she needs a hero who's "gotta be strong and he's gotta be brave" (Bonnie Tyler's "Holding Out for a Hero), but settles on academic Jeremy Carling as the only stud at a posting inn. He knows he is out of his league, but cannot desert the desperate damsel in distress. Thus Jeremy dresses her in male garb to pass her off as a boy while they flee her persistent pursuers. As they fall in love, the enemy traps them.

    The second Cynster sister is a refreshing Regency thriller due to the hero who is the anti-Cynster male on the surface, but his heart beats like a lion when it comes to protecting Eliza. Action-packed, fans of the series will appreciate this historical romantic suspense while anticipating the next sister Holding Out for a Hero of her own.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I'm hooked on the Cynsters! Perfectly Distracting.

    I wanted something to read to be totally distracting and I've found it. With the pending anniversary date of my son's serious wounding in Afghanistan four years ago, I needed to be distracted from the publication of the book about that horrendous battle [No Way Out: A Story of Valor in the Mountains of Afghanistan]. I searched on Nook books and found the story of Eliza. As I read the opening chapter, I realized that this was one of a collection, I could read separate or in order. The reading was easy and drew me in quickly. I stopped reading about Eliza and but her story on hold. I quickly searched and found the series. What a wonderful writer? What great stories of love being found between people! I have now read over 10 Cynster novels including 'Eliza'! While reading these novels, I look for the archaic words (appropriate for the period, but not used in modern times) that Ms. Laurens throws in and I look them up and expand my knowledge of Regency words, culture, clothing and history. Looking for distraction? Want to tell the worries to go away? Just get lost in these books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Good Series

    Love the Cynster series. This one has a great deal more "fluff" in it then I remember being in past books. Many of the characters and couples from the past are heard from again in this novel. Look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I could hardly put it down

    Another good read from Laurens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I love all of her works!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No one does it better than Stephanie Laurens!

    I have read every book Stephanie has read except for maybe two. I have to say she has done it again! The storyline and characters come to life off the page. I can't wait for the last in the series to come out in just two weeks!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Another flop

    A door knob is a door knob no matter how many pages you take to discribe. It read like fluff no meat. Wont read any more of her books

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I can not wait for the next one to come out. This book captures you from the being to the end. Did not want to stop reading once I started. I look forward to reading more of her bookes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Most recommended

    Love Love Love any Cynster Novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Somewhat slow, but good story

    I liked this story, though there are times it can be incredibly slow. The chemistry between the two main characters was intense, which kept me engaged. Overall, I enjoyed it and went on to read the following books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Adam

    He waited for Eliza

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Suprisingly good

    I came off the 50 shades books, and didnt think id be able to get into a good read again... this was a very sweet story. I find myself wanting to live back in that era where men were gentlemen, and ladies were proper. I didnt expect to much from this book, so i was plesantly suprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good writer....

    I read The Black Cobra series and it was the best series I have ever read and the end of the series was very unexpected but is almost the same plot, I don't want to say plot because the story line is great and keeps you captivated but the same I fall in love and screw their brains out and now I have to marry is too played out bht i keep coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Terrific book and story!

    I really enjoyed this series. Fun, entertaining read. It did exactly what it was supposed to do -- keep the reader interested with a compelling story with great characters. I was completely lost from my reality as I escaped into the story of the three Cynster sisters. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Changed my mind.

    I gave this book 3 starsin a previous review and now I have changed my mind. It's awful. Don't waste your time. This author has some hits, but this is a miss. Boring boring boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    Very good!!!! Couldn't wait for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8