BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner (Inspector Lynley Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    great great READ, I have enjoyed all the ones that I have read of this series and will certainly read them all on my NOOK!!!!!!!!

    This series is very good and I have enjoyed them all so far. Hoping to read more and more of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Many kudos to Elizabeth George!

    One of George's best! Kept one guessing until the end. Especially enjoyed the friction and ultimate resolution between Lynley and Havers. At times just wanted to knock their heads together! The characters are very well developed--the additional insight into each helps the reader understand why the character responds/reacts as s/he does. Looking forward to the next in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally Engaging Tale

    Book 10, in the Inspector Lynley's mystery series

    Elizabeth George hasn't lost her touch and her work continues to be amazing. She is one of the true masters at spinning webs of intrigue. A swift pace and an engaging protagonist had a stimulating effect on my imagination; it was quite exhilarating trying to guess the next move. This is a mind-absorbing fiction, as powerful and provocative as all the previous ones.

    This intricate plot and complex tale has D.I. Thomas Lynley on the scene of a grisly crime, in which a young man and woman have been brutally murdered and their bodies found in the wilds of Calder Moor. The case is also a sensitive one, it happens that one of the victims is, Nicola Maiden, the daughter of a former undercover officer and one of Lynley`s past mentors.

    D.C. Winston Nkata is his lead assistant on the case. His usual partner, Barbara Harvers, has been demoted to Detective Constable for an incident the previous summer and ever since, both have suffered from a strained relationship. Although in the dog house for over stepping her boundaries, Barbara is determined, she is a woman of strong character and not the type to sit on the sideline. With this in mind, she clandestinely starts her own investigation, hoping to prove to Lynley that her renegade attitude can bring positive results and be an asset to his team....When Lynley found out what she was up to, my first reaction was can he take the grrr out of the tiger and get her to follow orders....

    As they dig deeper into the life of the two victims, a disturbing pattern emerges, suspects are plentiful, nothing is as it seems and everyone appears to be concealing something. The tension grows as each layer of deceit is peeled away, the result created an intense mystery populated with great characters.

    I found myself totally engaged till the end, it is a large book but I enjoyed every moment spent with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Great continuation of Lynley series!

    We continue to learn more about these beloved characters. They are not prefect. Ms. George combines new characters that are interesting and we learn more about main players. I like to read stories on a series to know the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I have been reading all of the Inspector Lynley novels in order

    I have been reading all of the Inspector Lynley novels in order and I only have one complaint: Upon becoming very familiar with Elizabeth George's writing style, I have trouble being satisfied with other authors. This woman really knows how to pen a story and her characters become so real that you seriously have to remind yourself that these people were formulated in someone's head. Kudos to you Ms. George, but you have set my standards of expectations really, really high. So very many authors just can't reach it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A riveting story with excellent plot and character development.

    The author powerfully creates characters that live and breathe. She weaves together the lives of seemingly disparate people, drawing them together to create a suspenseful and dramatic story. As the story continues to develop the author brings the reader into the inner world of each character to understand the needs, drives, and ultimate choices that have determined their actions. I return again and again to Elizabeth George for the sheer pleasure of reading her stories and in appreciation of her exceptional writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    EXCELLENT PLOT

    THIS HAS GOT TO BE MY FAVORITE ELIZABETH GEORGE BOOK YET. THE PLOT WAS INCREDIBLE! IT KEPT ME THINKING FROM PAGE ONE. ALSO, YOU CAN'T HELP BUT BE IN LOVE WITH TOMMY. BARBARA HAVERS IS TERRIFIC IN THIS ONE. THE INTER-PLAY BETWEEN THESE TWO CHARACTERS IS FABULOUS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Keeps you guessing

    Ms. George gets better with evey book. This book had me in complete suspense. I had guessed the wrong person. Who did it? All the clues go one way and your mind goes another. That's what I love about her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1