Customer Reviews for

In Rainbows

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Vinyl still rules!

    I really thought I had thee version when I bought the cd, but what a revelation the vinyl LP has turned out to be. If you own a good to great analog rig, Radiohead's "In Rainbows" LP will bring it out! Much more spatial and vibrant on vinyl, this emotional tour de force from Radiohead may indeed stand on it's own on cd, but the vinyl version has taken me on a very special voyage, indeed. Try it. It's awesome on plastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite CD!

    This latest CD of Radiohead is my favorite. I've played this disc over and over, and I still love it as much as the day I first bought it. In fact, I left a copy in a rental car and never got it back. I bought a new copy to replace it. I highly recommend this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Overall Album

    Love the intro to the album. Radiohead brings diverse melodies with high pitch, soothing bass, and boosting treble to create a great album. Check out the transition from track 4 to track 5! Great album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting.

    Radiohead never fails to emit a borderline-eerie beauty, and 'In Rainbows' stays consistent with this. A beautiful album; Give the song 'Videotape' a listen and don't be surprised if chills run down your sprine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is one of the best albums I've heard in my life time. It's really great. I don't really know what else to say about it. It's really different from the rest of their albums, but not in a bad way. Kinda like Coldplay, each of thier albums sounds different from the last one, but still sensational. It takes a brave artist to change up thier style like that. It's good and I dont feel betrayed like a lot of bands today: Really great at first but then next album they turn mainstream and disgusting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Remarkable Album

    A wonderful return, from one of the greatest bands ever. What the state of music needs. Not some American Idol pretty packaged corprate sound. Something that is real, with emotion. A band that cont. to get better with each album. Thank you again Radiohead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Subtly their best album

    Yeah, it may not have a song that sticks out like past albums -- although I think "Bodysnatchers" has a great hook that sticks out -- but in a small, subtle way this may be their best album ever. The whole album just flows beautifully from one song to the next, with so much texture in between that you have to really listen for. For a group that constantly tries to tweak, if not fully reinvent, it's sound, I'd give this props alone for not being a redux of "The Bends" or "OK Computer." Not too many others do that all that convincingly these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Somewhere Over the Rainbow

    from the opening note, Radiohead delivers big in their first album since 2003. In Rainbows may be short, but oh so sweet. Consisting mostly of fan favorites making their studio debut, the album is their most earnest and accessible since the legendary O.K. Computer. but of course does not compromise briliance. A song by song break down isn't necessary as the album floats along and should be listened in its entirety. Radiohead has established themselves not just as a band but as an entire genre, and there's somethign for all radiohead fans here. Crunchy guitar riffs explode for those who have been waiting for radiohead to revert to their mid nineties selves, and the blips and electronic mastery also make their appearances on In Rainbows as well. The album is simply beautiful and as always haunting and complex. with each listen you'll discover a new texture, melody line and you might even be able to decifer some of the enigmatic metaphores Thom laces through the album. Very much worth the wait, and a must for any music lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Radiohead Is Love

    This album is special because not only will long-time fans love it, but those new to the band as well as those put off by the last few releases will, too. The music is accessible for new listeners while still being groundbreaking and inventive with their sounds and lyrics. Speaking of the lyrics-Thom Yorke is enunciating! I HIGHLY recommend this album to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    more good stuff

    as a qualified radiohead nut, i must say this isn't their "best" album...HOWEVER, i say that mostly because there's nothing that jumps out at me (no plastic trees or creeps or anything off any b-side). ALSO however, it is an amazing listen--not a thing on the album that you don't want to listen to it's calmer, a little happier (radiohead, really?), and smooth. enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'In Rainbows' shows Radiohead continues to soar

    Forget about the endless insider industry chatter about “In Rainbows” being offered for download at whatever fans wanted to pay, Radiohead’s music plays front and center across “In Rainbows.” From the guitar-driven “Bodysnatchers” and hypnotic “Reckoner” to the beautiful “Nude” and “Weird Fishes/Arpeggi,” Radiohead continues to thrill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best albums I've ever heard

    I will buy this physical CD, even though I paid $10 for the digital version. It's that good. It bothers me that so many people paid nothing for such a well-crafted piece of art. The songs are almost painfully beautiful. This CD is more organic than most of the other Radiohead albums and it turned me from a slight almost-fan to a devotee overnight. My favorite tracks are "All I Need" and "Reckoner." "All I Need" chokes me up every time. It's just so damn gorgeous. There is a moment in the end of the song when the piano and drums kick up and just swell in this melodic wave, and it takes my breath away every time. "Reckoner" has one of the best percussion lines I've ever heard, along with an aching falsetto that will break your heart. The lyrics are personal and intense, but not out of the range of normality...although sometimes it's hard to understand Thom. There is a sentiment for everyone here. I yearn for this CD when it's not on. How many albums can you say that about??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Snatches the Body & won't let go

    This is the album you have been waiting for. It does not disappoint. Every single track is brilliant and if you don't get shivers from listening to it there is something wrong with you. If god wrote a song about love it would be All I Need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2