Customer Reviews for

In Search Of... [Bonus CD-Rom Track]

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST of the BEST!

    This is one of the best cd's ever. I haven't heard anything like it before. Its a mix of so many different types of music. Rock, blues, r&b, rap, jazz!!! Its the greatest. My favorite songs on the album are Run to the Sun and Bobby james! The drums are so good in run2thesun, and I love the words to Bobby James! I can't wait until Fly or Die comes out! Thats gonna be the best, I just know it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    c`est super

    je trouve ce cd super cooooooool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In Search Of....

    This Is My Favorite Album Of All Time. The Neptunes Are My Favorite Producers Because The Beats They Make Are Like Nothing You've Ever Heard Berfore. The Lyrics And The Beats Are Amazing. I'm Looking Forward To The Neptunes Album, And The New N.E.R.D. album soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Something New and Different

    NERD is definitely an orginal group that is not afraid to say what they feel. I love this CD! Its not only a fun album, but its also political... I enjoyed the new sound, the beats, the overall cd was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    N.E.R.D. debut is Brilliant!!!

    Honestly this is the best Album i have ever heard. It combines Hip-hop, Rock, and funk and mixes it together to create a perfect mix. Nearly every song is enjoyable(The only one that is merely ok is ''Provider'').With hits like ''Lapdance'', ''Rock Star'', and ''Run to the Sun'' you can go wrong with N.E.R.D.. I just cant wait till their sophmore effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Relax

    I would have to say that i'm very glad to have added this cd to my collection. I had always enjoyed the many collaborations that the Neptunes made with other artists. At first, the only reason why i bought this album was because of "Lapdance" and "Rockstar" and i must say that you have to let this music grow on you. After much time now "Tape U" has become the only reason why i play the cd. This is truly a cd you should consider to relax and unwind to after a long day. Just make sure you have an open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    well,basicly Iove N.E.R.D. because their music is off the hook!And because Pharell Williams is soooo FINE!!

    N.E.R.D IS NOW MY FAVORITE BAND I ENJOY THEIR MUSIC,AND LOVE PHARELL WILLIAMS WITH ALL MY HEART AND SOUL.BY THE WAY ROCK STAR AND BOBBY JAMES ARE MY FAVORITE SONGS.I REALLY LOVE BOBBY JAMES BECAUSE IT REMINDS ME OF MY FRIENDS WELL THANKS 4 UR TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smart-pop music.

    Though I'm not a fan of most pop music I just couldn't ignore the fact that these guys were producing hits left and right. I caved in and peeped this CD and liked it. It reminds me of the Gorillaz's CD in that it's fun and diverse and throws away the rulebook of modern music. I know everyone and their mother is mixing genre's but, to quote URB magazine, these guys create a world where ''pop, hip-hop, funk and rock drukenly make out''. It's a fun album. Hip-hop and pop music fans would like it as well as anyone that enjoys original music. Yeah, the lyrics suck but they're still better than ''It's gettin' hot in here/so take off all your clothes. Just a good party album that isn't dumbed down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this cd's hot

    n.e.r.d.'s in search of... has some of the best beats i've ever heard. They have got a whole new style apart from everyone else.And the lyrics are awesum . that other guys got it all wrong. i can't wait till they're next cd releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is music!

    I wasn't sure what to expect. Listen to this music once and you're hooked! The live instrumentation, the vocals, then the combination make for a beat that makes you want to keep on listening. This group and music in my opinon are headed to the top. Get ready for music that will grow on you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bangin'

    I've had this CD for a year now (from Napster, of course) and this is still bangin' a year later. Cop this joint cause it's definitely off the chain. P.S. If you listen to it and you don't think you like it, don't worry. It will slowly capture you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The new new thing.

    Rolling Stone loves it (4 stars). Spin loves it. New York Times loves it. LA Times, LA Weekly, Details, Vibe, EVERYONE LOVES IT. And with good reason: this mad mix of soul, hip-hop, pop and straight-up rock goes against all the rules and succeeds wildly. Live instrumentation from Minneapolis funk-rock band Spymob is brilliant - what a pairing. One of my all-time favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i just don't think many of you critics are getting it

    do the lyrics have to say the most socially relevant, deep-hearted inspired dribble? certainly not. the rhymes on the album are amazing, if anything for their lack of seriousness. they aren't meant to be bob dylan by any means, i mean, i'm not a member of the group or anything, but that's what i get from it. i'm just happy that they can talk about more that how much money they have and all those other egocentric annoyances. this album has amazing tracks behind everything song, and obviously intentional sundry, caustic lip service. bam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good beats, extremely weak lyrics

    I got this cd because I have heard about how the neptunes were amazing producers, ranging from britney spears to jay-z, but this was a HUGE disappointment. There isn't any good lyrics or rhyming behind. The beats are amazing. They take actual live instruments and rhyme to them. But the rhyming itself is so weak, that the cd just becomes disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1