Customer Reviews for

In Stitches

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Cut Above!

I've read a ton of books about medicine, including many memoirs. This is a unique find. A savy blend of the insanely funny and touching, I read this book in a couple of days. It's got leeches, Tiger Fathers, pornstars, man-eating racoons, body parts, and Poison songs...
I've read a ton of books about medicine, including many memoirs. This is a unique find. A savy blend of the insanely funny and touching, I read this book in a couple of days. It's got leeches, Tiger Fathers, pornstars, man-eating racoons, body parts, and Poison songs. A lot more over-the-top than the title picture suggests. Ranks up there with House of God, and the show Scrubs (at least the early funny seasons before it jumped the shark.) I'm surprised this book wasn't reviewed by EW or another major magazine. I stumbled across some reviews about it on some popular medical blogs and decided to take a chance. My highest recommendation. In the running for best book about becoming a doctor -- ever!!!

posted by BSmithMD on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

More of a mini biography than a memoir

I have a high interest in going into medical school and becoming a doctor myself... So, I bought a hard cover of this book assuming from the summary, reviews, and what Youn, himself, said about his book during an interview, I expected it to be an actual MEMOIR on Youn g...
I have a high interest in going into medical school and becoming a doctor myself... So, I bought a hard cover of this book assuming from the summary, reviews, and what Youn, himself, said about his book during an interview, I expected it to be an actual MEMOIR on Youn going through medical school, the problems he has encountered, how his career has been so far, etc. However, half way through the book I realized this was NOT a complete memoir at all.. My impression on this book was that this was written by a typical, horny male that cannot get laid during more than half of the book. I did finish reading the book, though. Even though I was not pleased with how I waisted my money. I would give this book zero stars, but I cannot lie. I thoroughly enjoyed the parts of the book that actually talked about the suspense in getting into the medical school he wanted, his medical school's orientation, a certain exam he had to pass, his first internship in the hospital, the difficulty in finding a residential internship he wanted to work in, etc. That is the only reason why this book deserves one star. However, I recommend that if you are looking for a REAL memoir on being in the medical field, do not waste your money.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    More of a mini biography than a memoir

    I have a high interest in going into medical school and becoming a doctor myself... So, I bought a hard cover of this book assuming from the summary, reviews, and what Youn, himself, said about his book during an interview, I expected it to be an actual MEMOIR on Youn going through medical school, the problems he has encountered, how his career has been so far, etc. However, half way through the book I realized this was NOT a complete memoir at all.. My impression on this book was that this was written by a typical, horny male that cannot get laid during more than half of the book. I did finish reading the book, though. Even though I was not pleased with how I waisted my money. I would give this book zero stars, but I cannot lie. I thoroughly enjoyed the parts of the book that actually talked about the suspense in getting into the medical school he wanted, his medical school's orientation, a certain exam he had to pass, his first internship in the hospital, the difficulty in finding a residential internship he wanted to work in, etc. That is the only reason why this book deserves one star. However, I recommend that if you are looking for a REAL memoir on being in the medical field, do not waste your money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    A Cut Above!

    I've read a ton of books about medicine, including many memoirs. This is a unique find. A savy blend of the insanely funny and touching, I read this book in a couple of days. It's got leeches, Tiger Fathers, pornstars, man-eating racoons, body parts, and Poison songs. A lot more over-the-top than the title picture suggests. Ranks up there with House of God, and the show Scrubs (at least the early funny seasons before it jumped the shark.) I'm surprised this book wasn't reviewed by EW or another major magazine. I stumbled across some reviews about it on some popular medical blogs and decided to take a chance. My highest recommendation. In the running for best book about becoming a doctor -- ever!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Something for Everyone!

    The best book about medical school and becoming a doctor that I have ever read, and one of the best memoirs (and I've read a ton of them.) As the jacket says, it's a mash up of Sedaris and Scrubs. There are both funny (laugh out loud) and touching moments. A great page turner, and the kind of quick, easy read I enjoy. There are also interesting cultural aspects to the book (Dr. Youn is a Korean-American who grew up in rural MI and had a "Tiger Father.") Let's you experience med school -- all of the joy and pain -- without paying tuition or studying all those hours. A great book on many levels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    A fun read!

    Anthony Youn grew up as a first generation Korean-American in a small town. Living in a household that was steeped in Korean heritage, but living in an American town, Mr. Youn definitely had an interesting childhood. This book touches on his childhood and the journey he took to become a doctor. It is funny and Mr. Youn will be the first person to make fun of himself. He looks back on his journey fondly and it comes through.

    One of the things I didn't like is how the first half of the book Mr. Youn focused on the fact he couldn't get a girlfriend. We get hit over the head with that fact. Really hit over the head. It detracted from the other parts of his story.

    I wish Mr. Youn would have had included his siblings more when he speaks about his childhood. His older brother, Mike, gets mentioned a few times but we never get a feel about how he and his younger brother, Anthony, got along and how they braved the small town they lived in together.

    If Mr. Youn treats his writing like he did getting his medical degree, then I am sure that we will be seeing more of his stories in print. That would be great, but please leave out the part about not having a girlfriend.

    *I received this book as a winner in the Goodreads book giveaway, that in no way affects the content of my review.*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Very funny and endearing

    I have read several books about students and their path to becoming a doctor, but the one Anthony Youn wrote about his path is by far the best of the bunch. I read this is one night and didn't want the stories to end! I am now demanding a sequel about his stories, both heartwarming and humorous in his next journey of being a plastic surgeon. I had no idea he was on so many television programs, but now that I know his name and looked at a few You Tube videos, I am going to start checking out this personable physician. My favorite story in the book is about why he wanted to become a doctor and how his answer never strayed from the fact that he wanted to help people and get laid. Yes, he actually said that and I laughed out loud. He thought that being a doctor would make him more attractable to women!
    Youn's thoughts cover a broad range of thoughts, like what it is like to be a real minority, have parents that make you do more than you think you are capable of and the importance of having a sense of humor. His sense of humor is evident throughout the book and he likes to poke fun at himself. I was really impressed that his path to becoming a plastic surgeon was built upon his own triumph of having surgery to correct his jaw which did not stop growing and caused a massive underbite. The fact that he understands deformity leads him to connect with his patients on a personal level and makes him that much better a doctor. There is truly a "Scrubs" type element when he writes about his internship and school years and it is amazing that anyone in this country ever becomes a doctor at all with all of the long hours they endure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend it! Hope there's a sequel.

    Great book. Was hard to put down. Great sense of humor to it.Hope there is a sequel!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    A fun, heartwarming read that will have you laughing out loud!

    A self described nerd that can't get a date not only through high school, but even as he begins med school! He is successful in all classes but can't figure out what he wants to do "when he grows up" until one night when his passion is revealed to him.

    You'll love reading this book and you'll love Dr. Youn. He's the doctor we all wish we had. Don't miss this fun, easy read. You'll want to pass it along to all of your friends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Funny, forthcoming, and fascinating!

    This book is both lighthearted, yet poignant. The book takes you through Dr. Youn's maturity process where one of his focuses early in his life is the same as many young men - being cool and gettin' the girls. Why does he want to become a doctor - outside of his father's insistence? To get the women - right?! As he continues his journey, however, he is jolted into the realities of why God has called him to become a plastic surgeon.

    Readers learn that Dr. Youn's compassion, commitment to practice, hard work, faith, passion, humor, and perserverance were, and continue to be, key ingredients in his success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Wonderful, inspiring story

    This story will inspire all the dreamers and underdogs in life. It's like the movie "Rudy" except funnier with a stronger romantic arc. Recommended for everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Fun nostalgia and coming of age tale

    A hospital employee who rubs shoulders with physicians all day, I appreciate the men and women that deliver care to our patients. The hard work and sacrifice it takes to become a doc is inspirational, and I enjoyed the inside story contained in the book. There's a sentimental reverence for the places and people that mady Anthony even with occassional good natured jabs. The author's gratitude comes through and makes the story endearing. Finally the father and son tension is a universal that all men will recognize, and this underlying element carries the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Hilarious, touching, awesome book! The best doctor book ever. NOT what I expected!

    This is a book by Dr. Anthony Youn, a celebrity plastic surgeon. I never expected a book like this. It is so funny! I read it on a plane and the people next to me thought I was insane, as I kept cracking up! It has some touching scenes too, especially between Dr. Youn and his strict, hard-line Korean father. It's the best doctor book I've ever read. I hope he writes a follow-up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly recommended! Funny, poignant, and a great read!

    This is a memoir about becoming a doctor written by Dr. Anthony Youn, a plastic surgeon often seen on the Rachael Ray Show. It's a fast, great read. I read it in two days, and laughed out loud many times. Who knew a doctor, much less a plastic surgeon, has such a sense of humor? Highly recommended for anyone wondering what it's like to become a doctor, go through medical school, or grow up looking and feeling different.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, entertaining and even touching at times, In Stitches is proof that you can still have a sense of humor while completing medical school.

    Memoirs are not my thing, but I had aspirations when I was young and yes, those aspirations had to do with me becoming a doctor. Anyone who knows me in real life knows how obsessed I am with the medical field. I mean, when you have some strange, undiagnosed illness that everyone calls "Lupus" you tend to do a little reasearch on your own.

    That said, I was fascinated with this book. Anthony, I'll call him Tony, starts the book off with his very strict, Asian upbringing. I had close friends with parents like his and yes.they both became doctors (in case you were wondering). It's obvious that Tony's family is a very loving, caring family but his parents are very clear on what they want for their son and what they want is for him to be a doctor. Not only a doctor, but a surgeon because as his dad tells him, "surgeons make more dallah. "

    Tony's adolescence is wrought with angst. He's not a bad-looking guy, but he's a little geeky and awkward around the girls. Much of the book is him lusting over pretty girls. This was my least favorite part of the book. Unfortunately, the lusting period carries over to college where there is more awkwardness and near-misses with girls. BUT, Tony's ability to make fun of himself is admirable. Not everyone can do that and his willingness to do it, is what kept me reading.

    Once he got to his rotations at the hospital I was hooked. Nurses with attitude, patients with hang-ups, and beeper humor. Lots of beeper humor. It's been so long since I've even seen a beeper, that I completely forgot that they contained actual messages. His rotations and the process he went through to get his residency were my favorites parts of the book. It seemed as if he "came into his own" and really figured out who he was. He became the "Tony" that he always wanted to be, and I was glad for him.

    As a writer, Tony is pretty funny. I had no trouble zipping through the pages and I really feel as if I got to know him. His writing is engaging and he has an open, honest way of speaking. I really enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2