Customer Reviews for

In Sunlight and in Shadow

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Reading Mark Helprin's work is like sitting on a mountain bluff

Reading Mark Helprin's work is like sitting on a mountain bluff listening to the wind, birds and the distant rumbling of deer at the far end of the cove. Everything within and outside our senses is lifted to the rare air of a writer working in a far distant dimension fr...
Reading Mark Helprin's work is like sitting on a mountain bluff listening to the wind, birds and the distant rumbling of deer at the far end of the cove. Everything within and outside our senses is lifted to the rare air of a writer working in a far distant dimension from all others. "In Sunlight and in Shadow" is a love story, with glimpses of so many facets of life, off-beat characters, war-ravaged Europe and the delicate balance of racial/ethnic relationships, that to finish reading the work often requires readers to place it aside for a few days to absorb it all. As lovely and expressive as Helprin's work is, there comes a time when a story must be told without distraction and complexities that detract from the conclusion. And in that regard, "In Shadow and in Light" is damaged by the skills Helprin uses, in most instances, so well.

posted by 2899099 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I've been reading this book for a month now and just now got to

I've been reading this book for a month now and just now got to the half way point. Some parts are good, some parts are very slow and boring. It is a bit wordy and probably could have been better if was half the length it is.

posted by CH0 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Reading Mark Helprin's work is like sitting on a mountain bluff

    Reading Mark Helprin's work is like sitting on a mountain bluff listening to the wind, birds and the distant rumbling of deer at the far end of the cove. Everything within and outside our senses is lifted to the rare air of a writer working in a far distant dimension from all others. "In Sunlight and in Shadow" is a love story, with glimpses of so many facets of life, off-beat characters, war-ravaged Europe and the delicate balance of racial/ethnic relationships, that to finish reading the work often requires readers to place it aside for a few days to absorb it all. As lovely and expressive as Helprin's work is, there comes a time when a story must be told without distraction and complexities that detract from the conclusion. And in that regard, "In Shadow and in Light" is damaged by the skills Helprin uses, in most instances, so well.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    This is a wonderful journey of one man who meets his true love f

    This is a wonderful journey of one man who meets his true love for the first time on the Staten Island Ferry just after returning from Europe at the end of World War II. Though love draws the reader in, the story reflects on his daily fight to protect family honor and legacy against a changing society in New York after the war. The prose and tone of the book are transformative and I found myself reflecting the story to my own life and the loves who have passed through and the one love who stayed. Each chapter is so beautifully written and the images that Mr. Helprin paints with his words are so clear that I imagined myself on Park Avenue in 1947, I could feel the air at night up the Hudson River, I could smell the earth in fields during the war. This was my favorite read of the year.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Elegantly Written

    This is an immediate favorite because of the story, but largely because it is so elegantly written. It is also almost three books in one as it is easily divided into segments.
    It is a love story, war story that you can hardly bear to read and the third part the readers can find out for themselves. Mark Helprin is always a delight and a new book from him very welcome. Now what do we do until the next one? Good writing like his is not easy to find.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    I've been reading this book for a month now and just now got to

    I've been reading this book for a month now and just now got to the half way point. Some parts are good, some parts are very slow and boring. It is a bit wordy and probably could have been better if was half the length it is.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Good, but too wordy

    I liked this book, but I think it could have been slimmed down a bit.

    Also -- it seemed incongruous that the strong female lead character put up with an abusive relationship until she met the hero.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    In Sunlight and in Shadow

    Beautifully written and a reasonable plot, but not a page turner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Sunshine and Shadow is a complex tapestry juxtaposing the insul


    Sunshine and Shadow is a complex tapestry juxtaposing the insulat reality of raw emotion against the relentless march of reality. Emotions always under siege, always with the dark suggestion of the swift and final interference oif death. Love and death are often partnered in literature, and Helprin has done a masterful job of creating the backdrop that presents many possibilities as he skillfully weaves the suset as he sees it. I am drawn in, enchanted, enthralled, and untimately convinced. This is a white-knuckler and a ripping good read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Kids roleplaying

    Bn, can something be done to these kids using the book review section as a roleplay game room? People come here for reviews and have to scroll thru posts that have nothing to do with the book at all. Just kids playing cat games, chatting, sexting...cant they be banned or fined?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No Winter Tale, but a story of love, honor, and sacrifice. The many discriptive passages in the book are annoying, and disrupt the flow of the piece.

    Quite.by accident, the man and woman meet and fall in love.
    He puts off marrying her because he is poorer than she, from a well endowed family. She is a broadway singer who just breaks up with a crime family man, he a leather goods
    company owner being financially bled by the Mafia. Good story line, with well developed characters
    This work is almost destroyed by the frequency and amount of description, even though well written. Its like watching a movie with too many long commercials. Reading
    becomes tedious! What a shame!





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Stop sexting and roleplaying uts childish!!!(continued)

    To anyone who is using the reviews section as a roleplaying room. STOP!! It is childish and stupid. I am tired of reading these dirty sexual posts. If you want to roleplay do it on your computer not a nook. Get on a roleplaying site or something. This is not the place for that. You should not be so childish as to post stuff like that. If you keep doing this i will make sure that something gets done. And i am possitive that yu are not going to like the outcome.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    If you cant read a novel in two days something is wrong

    extremely long for these days or a war in peace that few finish ever. that is why mysyeries were read by so many they had a start a middle and an end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    A beautiful read.

    This is first a wonderful, most beautiful love story. (You may find yourself reliving your own wonderful love story - if you were lucky enough to have one.) Moreover, the telling of it is typical Helprin prose, so much like poetry, you'll be tempted to read many paragraphs twice, and perhaps aloud to a loved one. Typically, as well, Helprin's characters are so fully developed you'll feel as if you know them personally. Finally, you may not agree with the way in which he depicts events, indeed, life, but it is life, both deliriously happy and, at times, incredibly sad. Most memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    A SEVEN COURSE GOURMET DINNER!

    Wonderfully written! I got lost in the audio version and purchased the nook version to read passages again and again! I will read Mark Halperin's A Winter Tale and once again hopefully enjoy his glorious imagery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    What prose!

    Beautiful evocative use of language. Helprin is at the pinnacle of his powers, a storyteller beyond compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Sex

    i nide more SEX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Rick

    Idk can i kill her or him

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Amber

    She races out, but not before giving Sheogorath a hug. "Thanks." She siad and ran back to her ramdomness rp.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Warrior Den

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2