Customer Reviews for

In the Dark

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL BOOK!!!!!!

    I don't remember what made me buy this book, maybe the Dean Koontz intro, I don't know, BUT what a waste of money and time! This has got to be one of the most horrible books I have ever read and YES I wasted my time reading the whole thing, I guess I was stupid enough to think it might get better. The main character Jane was someone I just wanted to reach through the pages and throttle! Talk about a stupid woman. The plot was just horrible, the whole book was YECH, YECH, YECH. Can you tell, I did not like this book one little bit. Just stupid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Loved loved loved!

    Now all they have to do is make it available for the NOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An intense and unique Horror filled Novel!

    Richard Laymon is by far the BEST fiction/horror novelist out there. he takes all of his novels to a whole new level, and you get through them so fast because you always want to know what happens next.
    'In the Dark' was intense and unique in its own way. You had no idea who MOG was until the end, even when you thought you knew. This story was unique in a way that it was not just a horror novel about a woman going on a "scavenger hunt" for lots of money, but also because it was completely suspenseful. A little bit different from the normal Laymon reads. I loved it. Horror fans unite and pick up all the novels by this autor that you can. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    amazing

    I love Richard Laymon. This is the first book I've read of his and I fell in love. I think though you have to be able to handle creepy beyond whatever your definition of creepy is now. I let my friend read In The Dark and she gave it back unfinished. Just be aware that this book is a bit bizarre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    In The Dark By Richard Laymon

    Richard Laymon is one of the greatest horror authors of all time. In fact you may like his books as much or better than those of Stephen King, Dean Koontz and Anne Rice. This novel starts when a college librarian, Jane Kerry, finds an envelope with a fifty dollar bill inside. The envelope also contains a sheet of paper which provides a clue to where the next envelope is. It is signed by MOG, Master Of Games. She soon finds the second envelope which contains a hundred dollar bill, twice the amount of money that the previous envelope contained. Jane recruits a mysterious man named Brace, a library patron, who is all to glad to help her follow the clues to subsequent envelopes and rewards. They find a third envelope which again doubles the monetary reward but there is some risk involved, not much but some. With $350 in her pocket, Jane she feels she is into a good thing, a very good thing. The risk to obtain each subsequent reward doubles along with each monetary amount she finds. Knives, guns, close escapes, human and non-human villains become obstacles to be used or overcome as Jane¿s treasure hunt progresses. She likes the money and the danger. Who is this mysterious Master Of Games? What does he want from her? Why send her to a house full of trapped and chained women starved so badly they are eating the flesh off their own limbs to survive? How can she free these prisoners with the captors just in the next room? What is the ultimate price she will have to pay when she finally discovers who MOG is? The book is aptly named because the reader is kept in the dark as much as Jane is. She has changed, has taken unimagined risks, has become addicted to risks. She will never be a simple college librarian again, after all killers aren¿t ever the same again. Librarians don¿t sleep naked in coffins in deserted, broken down houses or fight with vicious attack dogs. This book was first published by Headline Press in the U.K. but has recently been released by Leisure books and on your local bookstore selves right now. Maybe you will find a fifty dollar bill in it, maybe not. What I can guarantee is that you will become an avid Richard Laymon fan and start you quest to read more of his novels and short stories. If you read this book you will be glad you did. For further Information about Richard Laymon go to his official website Richard Laymon Kills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Love him or hate him

    You either love Richard Laymon or hate him. There is no in between. He has such a unique style and story telling ability. He is one of a kind. I have read many of his books and he never disappoints. Creepy, haunting, erotic, suspenseful once you start a Laymon book you can't put it down. Even though this book is over 500 pages it like all of his books are a very fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    In the End?

    Yes, this book is scary. Yes, it is keeps you turning pages so fast you fear they might catch fire! Yes, it is gruesome. However, I do feel the ending is uncharacteristic of Laymon, and it is not very satisfying. This story has a narrative drive unparalleled in horror fiction but lacks the character development to support such a plot. It is an excellent airplane or beach read if you like extreme horror fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    pretty good story, but ending SUCKED

    This book is about a librarian named Jane Kerry who one day finds a note at her desk giving her instructions to 'look homeward angel.' The note also contains a fifty dollar bill. She pulls out a copy of the Thomas Wolfe novel and finds a hundred dollar bill and a note instructing her to 'at midnight, horse around.' Like the first one it's signed, MOG (master of games). Jane along the way (or actually closer to the beginning) meets a guy named Brace who helps her along the way solving clues. As the story moves on MOG forces Jane into actions that are dangerous, extremely creepy, or just force her to do immoral things. One of these things (SPOLIER) is to go into an abandoned house in the back of a cemetery and go up into the master bedroom (won't say no more here). The story started out pretty well, dragged a little but then got very good arounf the 10th chapter or so. The middle part is about 300 pages or so, and I finished it in less than a day, it really was that fast paced! Now what you probably all wanna know is why did I give this book a two star rating. Maybe I'm being a little harsh, but the ending in this book SUCKED!!! I can't say what it is or it'll spoil everything, but let me just say that the thing you've pretty much been dying to know from the first chapter is not answered. It's answered in a very curt, un detailed, extremely unsatisfying way. The question is answered, but as said before the necessary details aren't given which in my opinion subtracts a large amount from the rating of this book. Also something on the side, I know that Dick Laymon is famous for having books full of sex, but this one just has it in many unnecessary places! Brace and Jane seem to whenever they're in a bedroom, on a couch, or just in Jane's house sometimes, seem to have an urge to screw each other! So in conclusion, get this book if you're a dedicated Laymon fan, or just looking for a scare (not necessarily a well thought out story).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    TOO FAR

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOK THINKING IT WOULD BE A GOOD BOOK BECAUSE OF DEAN KOONTZ'S INTRODUTION.I MUST SAY THAT I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED AND DISGUSTED! I DIDN'T FINISH READING IT BECAUSE IT MADE ME SICK TO MY STOMACH...IT REALLY DID. I THINK THE AUTHOR GOES TOO FAR!!!!!! I'M NOT EVER GOING TO BUY ANOTHER BOOK OF HIS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Another Laymon...

    I am a huge fan of Laymon. I think this is one of the better books. Not the best but in my top 10. I thought the idea of this so called scavenger hunt was wonderful. How far will a person go for money? Amazing! I would of quit way before her! I thought the house by the cemetary was a little wicked. Yikes! The overall story was good...I have read better by Laymon but it was worth my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    What a let down

    Interesting concept poorly handled. The story almost made sense but about halfway through it bogged down and forced me to slog through to the end-and then there was no end. the story demanded answers that were not given and barely hinted at. Would not read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    Wow!

    I read this book and I've got to tell you, it really creeped me out! It's my first Laymon book, but it certainly won't be the last. I think I enjoyed it so much because the protagonist could be driven by money so easily...it really makes you wonder if you really know the people around you and what any one of them would actually do in a given situation like that...Oh my gosh! Plus, the women in the house .....! Gave me the shivers! My husband was out last night when I finished it, and I had to check and make sure all the windows and doors were locked, then I shut myself in the upstairs bedroom with the dog, then stayed up til he got home...the only other author to pull my chain like that is Stephen King. Very disturbing! Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    A BIT DISAPPOINTING, BUT CAME OUT GOOD IN THE END

    Richard Laymon is my favorite horror author. I had read all of his books except 'To Wake the Dead', 'Island' and 'In the Dark' so i decided to give this one a try. At first the book was okay but it didnt keep my attention. When i got to about the last 100 pages of the book it got my attention so im glad i kept on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    WOW!!!

    You have never read a horror book untill you have read this one. It is seriously amazing. Took me 3 days to read it and its over 50 chapters long. I couldnt turn the page fast enough because thats how good the suspense really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Taut thriller.

    I enjoyed watching our heroine, Jane, develop as a character. She goes through a lot of things; for fun, money, and for justice. It's fun to discover the Master of Games, and his bizarre sense of humor--and the danger he places in these games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    A Gripping Read!

    A scary/suspenceful thrill of a ride! This book will have you burning through the pages without you even knowing it. Kept me on edge until the last page. Fans of King and Koontz will love this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Wonderful!!!

    Laymon is GREAT!! This is the first book I read of his, and I am hooked. I could not put it down. I would recommend it to anyone who loves susupense or Richard Laymon books, this is byfar myfavorite!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    I LOVED THIS BOOK.

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. Laymon is my new favorite author. I'm a book nerd and I admit it. However, with awesome books like those by Laymon, who isn't a book nerd? I was soo sad when I finally finished the book because I really go into it. Laymon is a genius and I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    The best

    I loved this book! I haven't been so into a book in such a long time. Richard Laymon is a genious. How he put the plot and all the characters together amazing. Jane- a nice quiet librarian from Donnerville, had a nice house and a good job. At least until some one starts to stalk Jane and leave things for her. It's on this journey through a game that Jane meets the love of her life Brace. Yet in this game of Jane and her stalker Mog, Brace is in the way. Jane finds new things and a new life in the game of life and money or love and death. This book is an easy read, the pages just went by. I can't wait to read another book by Richard Laymon. Be ready tko be reading at the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Great book!

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The action starts in the first chapter and doesn't let up. Nearly every chapter leaves you in total suspense, wanting to read another chapter...and then another. I was hooked and finished the book in a couple of hours! Great book. I highly recommend it. There are a couple of parts that are a bit ridiculous, but the book's pace is so fast that it easy to overlook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2