Customer Reviews for

In These GirlsHope is a Muscle

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    IN THESE GIRLS, HOPE IS A MUSCLE

    THIS BOOK IS ABOUT A GIRLS HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL TEAM WHO, FOR THE PAST 5 YEARS HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MAKING IT OUT OF REGIONALS. IN THE '92-'93 THE TEAMS TWO BEST PLAYERS, JEN AND JAMILA, ARE SENIORS. FOR THIS SEASON, THE TEAMS HOPES ARE HIGH, AND THEY ARE AS DETERMINED AS EVER. I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK BECAUSE I THINK IT IS GREAT WHAT THESE GIRLS DID TO GET WHAT THEY WANTED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    In These Girls, Hope Is a Muscle; A True Story of Hoop Dreams and One Very Special Team

    This book is inspiring to all girls who want to play or do play basketball. This book shows you that your dreams can come true if you work hard as a team and individual. These girls work hard as they possibly could and they were also very dedicated to this team. This book shows how they felt on and off the court. They came together to form somewhat a family on the court which helped them through the tough parts of the game. This book inspired me to work hard in playing basketball on my high school team. I highly recommend this book to other basketball player girls or guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Great book.

    This is a book about a basketball team that works as hard as they can to reach their goal. I really enjoyed this book because it showed hardwork and teamwork and being a basketball player myself, I know all about that. This book started out slow but grew to be very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves basketball or just sports in general. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    This story is about a basketball team that pushes theirselves to get what they want. They never give up and do what they have to to reach their goals. I would recommend this book to anyone that knows and loves the game of basketball. I followed the story easily and it was a hard book to put down. There were some rather boring parts, but also parts with a ton of excitment. I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    In These Girls, Hope Is a Muscle; A True Story of Hoop Dreams and One Very Special Team

    This story shows how a group of girls do not give up on their dream to beating their rival school. They push themselves hard to get what they want. The girls felt like a family with each other and the seniors took control of the team. Since they have not gone far in the distric torney in five years this year is goin to be different this yeah is their year. With hope and support from their town they push and push to get what they want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    One of the best books ever!!

    I just finished reading this book and it was spectacular!! I couldn't put it down! I was enthralled by it and I totally recommend it! Anyone should read it, but especially people who know about basketball so they can relate! It is one of the best books I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    it has heart

    My coach let me borrow this book. I picked it up not knowing what to expect and could't put it down. It was written extremely well, plus the content is inspiring. I've learned more about the way I want to play my game. I highly recommend this touching true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    In These Girls, Hope is a Muscle

    We read 'In These Girls, Hope is a Muscle' because we thought that it would be a good, interesting book that we would remember forever. After reading the book we found that it was kind of boring, and hard to get into. We did like how Madeleine Blais related to the story, explained the setting, and described the main characters. We would have been more interested in this book if we played Basketball. The author's weakness in telling this story was talking too much about things that had nothing to do with the topic of Basketball. We found those parts boring and tended to skip threw them. 'Hoop Phi is of an intangible, untouchable breed. It satisfies the soul and a life-long need. We represented our school, represented our sex, now maybe both will get some well-earned respect.' To us this quote means that Hoop Phi is the Hurricanes motto for that Basketball season. It means that they were so disappointed about loosing to Northampton the previous year, they were not going to back down. The Hurricanes were going to give every thing they had to be the best, the champions. The book had a lineup of memorable characters. They showed heart and soul in every practice and every game. The Lady Hurricanes showed skill, courage, discipline and grace. But even more, for generations of women who came before them, the represented the first signs of progress in the struggle for equal opportunity and recongnition in sports. Though Madeleine Blais did a magnificent job describing the main characters, we found ourselves wanting to know more about the secondary characters. When a person reads a book, they tend to pick a character from the story that they relate to. We did not feel we could relate to either the main characters Jamila or Jen. If we new more about the other characters lives we might have made a connection and enjoyed the book more. After reading this book we thought that it was high time the public had a story that captured the positive impact team sports have on girls. We hope that these types of stories continue to come out, and make an impact on young women regardless of the sport or activity portrayed. The members of our group participate in track, cross country, and gymnastics. We already realize how participating on a team impacts our lives and that was the part of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    AMAZING....the best basketball book ever!

    I think that this is a great book... all of the teenagers out there that play the game of basketball should read this book ... it truely is AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1