Customer Reviews for

In This Mountain (Mitford Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Me and Mom

This is a wonderful book. It is spiritual withoug pushing a certain doctrine. Following the story of Father Tim, Cynthia and Barnabas keeps me coming back for more. My mother-in-law recently moved to a nursing home. To keep her mind coherent, I started having her read t...
This is a wonderful book. It is spiritual withoug pushing a certain doctrine. Following the story of Father Tim, Cynthia and Barnabas keeps me coming back for more. My mother-in-law recently moved to a nursing home. To keep her mind coherent, I started having her read the Mitford books. I stay one book behind her so that we do not have to share the same book at the same time. She is loving each one, as I am, and she will be starting book 6 very soon. She reads on an average of one book per week. It is such a blessing to have something so wonderful to share with one another.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enough of Uncle Billy Already

I read the first five books and enjoyed them so very much. I was looking forward to A Common Life, which was a disappointing rehash and left me with the feeling that it was just dashed off to fill some time before In This Mountain. In fact, I felt so ripped off that I...
I read the first five books and enjoyed them so very much. I was looking forward to A Common Life, which was a disappointing rehash and left me with the feeling that it was just dashed off to fill some time before In This Mountain. In fact, I felt so ripped off that I debated even buying the latest one that was due out in May this year. Now I am sorry I was able to overcome that feeliing and bought the book. Uncle Billy is a great character, but enough already with the jokes. The whole thing about Edith was so over the top and silly it made me feel like since she had brought her into the story line in the first place, Jan needed to find a way to get rid of her. Unfortunately, she is ridding herself of some faithful readers also. Here we have such an incredible insightful, intelligent preacher, who has already weathered an attack with his diabetes and doesn't recognize any of these signs and almost kills someone? Come on. Dooley and Lace news would have been fun and interesting. But finding the rest of the kids seems silly. The Grill is always a fun place to visit. We even thought maybe we'd get a new line going with the whole bookseller/excon thing, but that ended abruptly. Please spare me and my purse another round! I enjoyed the first five so much that I have purchased the whole set of five several times over for friends. But only the first five.

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Me and Mom

    This is a wonderful book. It is spiritual withoug pushing a certain doctrine. Following the story of Father Tim, Cynthia and Barnabas keeps me coming back for more. My mother-in-law recently moved to a nursing home. To keep her mind coherent, I started having her read the Mitford books. I stay one book behind her so that we do not have to share the same book at the same time. She is loving each one, as I am, and she will be starting book 6 very soon. She reads on an average of one book per week. It is such a blessing to have something so wonderful to share with one another.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Great audio book!

    This is my first Jan Karon book and I absolutely loved it! I listened to the entire book on CD twice over before deciding to send it on to my almost-93-year-old Dad, who can't see well enough to read anymore. I know he will really enjoy this one! I liked it so well, and liked the audio version so well that I have ordered 5 more of Jan Karon's Mitford books on CD with the same narrator. You will really get into Fr. Tim's story. Jan Karon is a wonderful storyteller who really brings the various characters to life! I listen to and read 60 to 80 books a year and read a wide variety. Jan Karon will bring you home to a very comfortable and amusing place. Mitford is a great town and I want to learn more about it's residents in the other Mitford books. If you enjoy chuckling over a book, this one will really get your happy juices flowing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    Wonderful!!

    I can't wait to get the next book in the series. I love Father Tim and the wonderful town of Mitford. Jan Karon,you are great and keep writing your down to earth novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    The best books of all

    I have read all of the Mitford series books, they are the best books ever! They make you laugh and cry at the same time. I would love to live in a town just like Mitford. I wish Jan would write another series of books like these. You can't wait to get pick up that book and start reading again. You feel like you know these people. Jan you are the best writer ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Hook, line and sinker!

    This was my first read of the Mitford series and I was so taken that I turned around and bought the first six books just to find out how we got to that point! Whether living in a big city or a small town, I have known ( and continue to know!) the people of Mitford. It is the best easy read I have had in a long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    I fell in love with this series

    Thank you so much Jan Karon. I loved every word. I was first introduced to your work by a librarian this summer and I would take 4 of the books at one time just to make sure I had the next book. Now I am up to Ester's Gift. I have no idea where everything will go in the sweet little town with the Pastor with doubts and all the personalities warts and all. I am kind of in limbo waiting to hear from Mitford again. Thank you Jan Karon. Every day I read the books I read quotes from the Bible and found out that everyone has questions and doubts no matter who they are.Thanks again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    In This Mountain

    How refreshing to read an excellent story that is wholesome, clean and uplifting! I can only spare a few moments a day to read, so it is nice when I can find something inspiring that leaves me feeling refreshed! Thanks, Jan!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Jan Karon Puts A Smile In Your Heart

    Simply put, Jan Karon puts a smile in your heart. Her stories are warm and uplifting, and take you to a place where simple pleasures are enjoyed. Reminds me of writing by Kirk Martin in an incredible new book, Shade of the Maple. Very powerful ending that reinforces the honor of commitment and moves you to hopeful tears! Both authors seem to have an inspirational flair to their writing that is wholesome and uplifting. I always look forward to more from Jan Karon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    The kit

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Wonderful

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    this was the second time I read it- It is a great book

    I loved all of her mitford series books-read them all as books and now have read them as color nook-

    May be a little expensive for a second reading, but I enjoyed them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Read Then All!! An adventure indeed!

    I LOVE the entire Mitford Series, and wish the story would go on and on. I will be sad when I come to the end.....I hope not because of a sad ending, but because I will be wanting more. The characters have become like friends that I have known forever.

    I read one from Jan's Father Tim series also, while awaiting another of Mitford, and will read all of those also.

    These are my very favorite stories ever, and I am a senior citizen, so have read a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Thanks to a friend's recommendation

    I am absolutely hooked. This is so much like my own hometown, but I love the way the townsfolk stick together and help each other in time of need even if it causes them hardship. I know people just like Uncle Billy, don't you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    I realy enjoyed rerading about this simpler time

    This book, like all the ones before has left me wanting to know more about the people in Mitford, especially the Children of Paulines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Optimism that ought to exist everywhere...

    What can be said about Jan Karon and Mitford that hasn't already been said? The Mitford series brings an optimism to small town life that ought to exist everywhere. In this Mountain is the continuation the delightful story of Father Tim and this wonderful community. If you have enjoyed the Mitford series, you will enjoy this work as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    This book seems similar in style to those written by the British author, Miss Read.

    This book has no plot. But then, again, neither did Mayberry RFD. Similar in style to those written by Miss Read, In This Mountain is a book written to be enjoyed, not endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    No accidnet...

    I have absolutely loved the Mitford series. In fact, my best friend and I are now reading the entire series aloud together. And I have to say that this one was one of my favorites. I might not be saying this if I had not become intimately acquainted with the subject matter - depression - as I struggled with the aftermath of ending a long and painful marriage. It was very healing for me to be reminded to "give thanks in all circumstances..." Thanks Jan! It was no accident that I read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    In This Mountain

    When you have a hectic schedule and only so much time to read, it's wonderful to be able to count on Jan Karon for stories that are inspiring, uplifting and enjoyable. Thanks for the good, clean fun, Jan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    One of the Best!

    This is one of the best of the Mitford Series. It has the same feel to it as the first few. I was extremely impressed with Jan Karon's ability to bring Father Tim & Cynthia back to Mitford again. I've said it a hundred times- I feel like I know all the characters personally. Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    WONDERFUL!!

    In This Mountain is a wonderful book. I read in during a beach weekend at Atlantic City. I enjoyed it so much, I think it may have saved me some money as well. Thanks, Jan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2