BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In This Way I Was Saved

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    It looks so sad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Caught me by surprise

    Unique book that caught me by surprise. Got my daughter to read it and now my husband who is in the middle of trying to figure things out. Produces some interesting conversations. The book starts out slow in the first couple of chapters, but then grabs ahold of you and does not let go to the end. Enjoy! Le

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy, disturbing, bizarre and I couldn't put it down

    Luke Nightingale is six years old and having fun at the Central Park playground in New York City when he meets Daniel. The two play a fun game of pretending to shoot dinosaurs and then Luke invites his new friend home to the Nightingale's Fifth Avenue penthouse. Daniel becomes Luke's good friend and confidant, but it quickly becomes apparent that something isn't quite right. Daniel has entered Luke's life during a very tumultuous time. His parents are getting divorced, and it's not at all an amicable parting. To make matters worse, Luke's mother, Claire, has some serious emotional problems, a condition that seems to run in her family as her mother suffered from similar troubles. After his parents divorce, Luke finds himself living with his mother. Because his mother is unable to care for him fully, Luke learns to depend more and more on Daniel. But Daniel's motives are not very altruistic, in fact, they're quite sinister. With Daniel's guidance, Luke slowly spirals out of control. It took me exactly one chapter to realize that Daniel was not quite what he appeared to be. In a unique twist, the story is told in the first person, not by Luke, but by Daniel. That twist, along with the superb writing of this first time author, kept me glued to my seat for a reading that ran late into the night. If you like stories where everything is neatly wrapped up at the end, this may not be the book for you. You'll likely have some questions as you turn the last page - but that's what makes this debut novel so good. You have to keep reading in the hopes of discovering just what is happening, and what will happen. And the epilogue. DO NOT peek and read it first! - is downright creepy. Quill says: This book is unusual, disturbing, creepy, strange and bizarre - and I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Intriguing debut novel

    When we first meet Luke, he is a 6-year-old boy playing on a New York City playground, where he's just befriended another little boy named Daniel. The story is told through Daniel's narrative, so it takes a while to realize there is something not quite right about Daniel; it takes longer to come to the same realization about Luke.
    "In This Way I Was Saved" is a debut novel about a young man struggling to come of age without his absentee father, who ran off to start another family after he realized he couldn't deal with Luke's mother's mental illness.
    Luke's mother Claire runs a family-owned publishing company. She took over after her own mother, who also struggled with mental illness, ended her own life. Luke's mother often locks herself in her bedroom for weeks on end, emerging as if nothing has happened, leaving young Luke to fend for himself. Daniel often takes care of Luke during these episodes.
    In telling this story, Daniel eventually realizes he is not a real person, yet he yearns to gain control over Luke's actions and thoughts. Early on in their friendship, Daniel talks Luke into killing their family puppy. After Claire finds the corpse and Luke tells her that Daniel is at fault, Claire recognizes something in this behavior and rushes Luke to a psychiatrist.
    After regular sessions with his doctor, Luke is able to banish Daniel for many years. However, during one of Claire's particularly bad episodes when Luke is 18-years-old, Daniel comes back into the forefront, and Luke takes him off to college with him.
    Luke struggles to contain Daniel's behavior throughout many new endeavors in college. He finds it difficult to make friends, and he knows Daniel will always be there for him. He allows Daniel to stay with him, yet tries to stave off the evil that emanates from Daniel.
    Finding it to be a losing battle, Luke gives in to some of Daniel's ongoing commentary; just enough for something truly terrible to happen. Just enough for Luke to rush back to the city to talk to his former psychiatrist to try to find out how Daniel emerged and how to get rid of Daniel forever.
    An interesting story, told from an interesting point of view, this keeps you guessing until the end on how things will turn out. Foreshadowing allows that no good will come of this story, however the reader pulls for Luke nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to like

    While this book was a little too easy to read, it had its shining moments. Shaky start, abrupt ending, and the stuff in between was, at times, absolutely mind boggling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1